Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Silver Wing Hitch and Trailer
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby joerider101 Today at 10:04 pm

» Trailer Hitch For SilverWing Scooter
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby joerider101 Today at 10:00 pm

» Humpty Dumpty
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Today at 9:37 pm

» New member from Belgium, Europe
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Today at 8:09 pm

» introduction
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Today at 8:05 pm

» Neues Silver Wing Mitglied
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby Dutch SilverWing Today at 8:57 am

» 2006 SW won't start, just clicks
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby steve_h80 Today at 8:07 am

» New owner in the UK
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby genius149 Today at 8:00 am

» New Swing owner
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Today at 7:20 am

» DIY black plastic “restoration”
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Yesterday at 3:58 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review

Go down 
+75
ken-z
surlybiker58
stonerolled
Atrick
paul.delo451
acworthpatrick
swingmike
SonnyO
tinman
Guy
EasyRider SilverWinger
RArch
jodders1
MarkB
toolboxjesse
DickO
LarryB
DaveR
SamHouston73
larryinseattle
JeffR_
kbcmdba
dnk2112
johnd
Dimond
john123
cjuzda
model28a
goldwinger
Skyman
The Scootist
JohnJ
hobbykim
Scooterian
kleikvold
Meldrew
GaryT
Winger61
tarmacburner2
midlifecrisis (Paul)
dickie
rogerscoot
martywinger
roadrunner
wis-rider
ajay
russcarver
Laker
jimjotel
Waspie
Windrider
clarinet
Opalsboy
billmc
DennisB
Okiebezer
ehaughn
crahar
MikeO
jdeereanton
billc.
edbancro
ronjr009
buddy19520
trooth2u
trouble1100
thomphoto
wingnprayer
Tamjay
bigbird
john grinsel
dspevack
honda_silver
tonylumps
JeffR
79 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
wis-rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
wis-rider


Number of posts : 154
Age : 76
Location : St. Nazianz, WI
Points : 4367
Registration date : 2010-12-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 02, 2011 12:02 pm

This is a really interesting article. Thanks for doing the review. I have the Clearview on my Swing and it does a good job, however I still do get that pushing effect on my back.I can really notice it when I am riding when it is colder out.
Back to top Go down
roadrunner
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
roadrunner


Number of posts : 231
Age : 67
Location : Middleburg FL
Points : 4478
Registration date : 2010-12-12

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 17, 2011 9:05 am

I'm probably being a little premature seeing how it's still chilly here, but has anyone who has ridden behind the Givi Airflow tried it with just the lower screen? I'm curious about riding on really hot days when wind in the face is sometimes desirable. That said, would the upper screen fit in an E52?
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7048
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 17, 2011 9:50 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
roadrunner
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
roadrunner


Number of posts : 231
Age : 67
Location : Middleburg FL
Points : 4478
Registration date : 2010-12-12

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 17, 2011 11:13 am

Thanks, BB.

One more question -- I've never actually seen an AF214 except the one picture on the Givi UK site; do the latches stay with the base screen, do the come off with the upper, or do they come off independently?

From the comments in this thread, it seems as though this is a really versatile screen. That's what I'm looking for...
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7048
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 17, 2011 11:19 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4292
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 04, 2011 4:22 pm

What great posts. Thanks everyone. I'd like to take a stab at the question John raises about looking through vs over. First, it's a great question that lots of people have but few really ask. Here's my 2 cents worth. Two years ago I flew to North Carolins and picked up a bike and started back to Oklahoma across the mountains. The bike had a tall windscreen (I had to look through vs over) on it and the optics were fine, good wind protection, etc. Problem came when I was crossing the mountain at night and it began to rain. A downpour. There was no place to pull off and no traffic other than semi trucks. Lots of trucks, no shoulder to speak of. I was absolutely blinded by the lights through the windshield. I had to look around the screen to see at all and finally made it to a turnout/exit ramp where I holed up for the night. So,,,,if you're never gonna be riding at [b]night the "look through" works fine. If you're ever caught like I was then I bet it'll be the last time. I ordered a new, shorter screen as soon as I got home. Hope this is helpful.
Back to top Go down
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4292
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Jeff, I'd really be interested in how this thing works in the rain. I know none of us likes to ride in it but since some of us get caught every once in awhile it would be really great info. I'm shopping for a new shield right now for my 02. My 09 has a tall clearview and seemed to work pretty good and I was about to buy another one until I read this post today. Come to think of it, given how much it rains where you are I might be waiting another year or so before you see any rain out west. Smile
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 04, 2011 6:27 pm

Martywinger....that's why,over here in the UK, with the plentiful rain we get from the atlantic, the legal requirement is that if you look through a screen you must have wipers fitted; if you look over a screen you don't need them. I've ordered a Givi Airflow, my dealer's waiting for it to arrive from Italy.
Back to top Go down
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 236
Age : 76
Location : Virginia
Points : 5144
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSun Feb 06, 2011 8:31 pm

Martywinger,,,
Like you I prefer to look over the windshield. I installed the standard Givi and then cut it down so I could just see over it. I can lean down just a bit and get out of the rain if I have to but I find I only get hit with rain at lower speeds with normal speeds blowing the rain pretty much up over me. I have done this on all bikes I have had with windshields. I do wish i would have purchased the adjustable shield but bought mine when they were first coming out and didn't know much about them yet. This thread pretty much covers the overall spectrum from installation to performance of this shield.
Patty and I lived just north of Haskell for a while in 1970, pretty close to your OKie from Muskogee residence. Take care...Dick
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 8:17 am

Let battle commence, the AF214 and Monolock mount arrived today, must try and find the link to the youtube video

Paul Smile

Just wondering, whilst I have the screen off, is it worth putting some better bulbs in the dip/main headlamps, if so what recommendations would you make.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 10:46 am

midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
Let battle commence, the AF214 and Monolock mount arrived today, must try and find the link to the youtube video

Paul Smile

Just wondering, whilst I have the screen off, is it worth putting some better bulbs in the dip/main headlamps, if so what recommendations would you make.

A couple of 2 million candlepower spots to take out the HID mounted cagers!!!!!
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 11:15 am

Waspie wrote:
midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
Let battle commence, the AF214 and Monolock mount arrived today, must try and find the link to the youtube video

Paul Smile

Just wondering, whilst I have the screen off, is it worth putting some better bulbs in the dip/main headlamps, if so what recommendations would you make.

A couple of 2 million candlepower spots to take out the HID mounted cagers!!!!!

Always been great fan of Cibies, could always mount a couple on the front struts Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3646
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8631
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 11:19 am

.....with a generator in the topbox! Razz
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 11:24 am

MikeO wrote:
.....with a generator in the topbox! Razz

Too true Mike, hopefully the topbox will be the first thing to mount as it seems more straightforward than the screen Smile
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 11:52 am

Paul...glad you've got yours..hopefully I'll hear soon that mine has arrived...how about a meet somewhere like Holmfirth or Glossop, when the weather's calmed down a bit
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 07, 2011 1:41 pm

rogerscoot wrote:
Paul...glad you've got yours..hopefully I'll hear soon that mine has arrived...how about a meet somewhere like Holmfirth or Glossop, when the weather's calmed down a bit

Yeah sounds good Roger.

My lad might fit the monolock tomorrow, but still don't know if I am changing the bulbs or not Question
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 10:42 am

I thought Holmfirth was for threesomes!!!!!!

Compo, Foggy et al. Laughing

You'll have to find a third rider chaps.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 10:47 am

Waspie wrote:
I thought Holmfirth was for threesomes!!!!!!

Compo, Foggy et al. Laughing

You'll have to find a third rider chaps.

Any takers Question
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 11:01 am

With the road works in Dorset it would take me a month just to get to the northern border!!!!!!!!!!

Welcome to Dorset needs to be replaced by 'Welcome to Cone Land'

&*%$**&@ Olympic preparations!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 11:10 am

Waspie wrote:
With the road works in Dorset it would take me a month just to get to the northern border!!!!!!!!!!

Welcome to Dorset needs to be replaced by 'Welcome to Cone Land'

&*%$**&@ Olympic preparations!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad

Best stay where you are mate or else you may never get back in Smile

Eeeee I remember sitting on the beach in Lulworth Cove listening to the World Cup final in 1966 on a transistor radio, bet it hasn't changed one bit Laughing
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 11:28 am

midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
Waspie wrote:
With the road works in Dorset it would take me a month just to get to the northern border!!!!!!!!!!

Welcome to Dorset needs to be replaced by 'Welcome to Cone Land'

&*%$**&@ Olympic preparations!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad

Best stay where you are mate or else you may never get back in Smile

Eeeee I remember sitting on the beach in Lulworth Cove listening to the World Cup final in 1966 on a transistor radio, bet it hasn't changed one bit Laughing

Apart from the sound of Sabot rounds bouncing off the surrounding hills!!! Nah! Laughing
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 11:34 am

Waspie wrote:
midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
Waspie wrote:
With the road works in Dorset it would take me a month just to get to the northern border!!!!!!!!!!

Welcome to Dorset needs to be replaced by 'Welcome to Cone Land'

&*%$**&@ Olympic preparations!!!!!!!! Evil or Very Mad

Best stay where you are mate or else you may never get back in Smile

Eeeee I remember sitting on the beach in Lulworth Cove listening to the World Cup final in 1966 on a transistor radio, bet it hasn't changed one bit Laughing

Apart from the sound of Sabot rounds bouncing off the surrounding hills!!! Nah! Laughing

Oh yes I remember my lad saying he was guilty of making lots of noise down there Laughing
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 1:15 pm

Just an update, monolock is now fitted, took my lad 20 mins once he found the right size drill bit.

Will post pics when the screen is done Smile
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3646
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8631
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 1:23 pm

Excellent!
I bought a new drill-bit specially. Wink
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 08, 2011 1:27 pm

MikeO wrote:
Excellent!
I bought a new drill-bit specially. Wink

He did phone me to say that he didn't need a drill bit, he was going to use my chainsaw instead What a Face
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 1:30 pm

Well the AF214 screen was put on today by my eldest.

Quote "Why do the Italians make it look so complicated" he had it done in 20 mins.

Now to test it out.

Saturday is looking fine Smile
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:14 pm

Mine arrived this afternoon.....job for tomorrow
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:20 pm

rogerscoot wrote:
Mine arrived this afternoon.....job for tomorrow

Good stuff, my lad replaced some of the screws as they were rusting.

You fancy a meet Saturday if all goes well?
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3646
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8631
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:23 pm

Glad it all went well.
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:27 pm

MikeO wrote:
Glad it all went well.

Mike, I havn't lifted a finger, my eldest decided he was going to do it, so how can I argue Smile
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3646
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8631
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:48 pm

Indeed!
Why have a puppy and bark yourself? Laughing
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:53 pm

midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
MikeO wrote:
Glad it all went well.

Mike, I havn't lifted a finger, my eldest decided he was going to do it, so how can I argue Smile

After a life time of spoiling them they have to reach a pay back point sometime.

In my family I'm still Mr mechanic. Evil or Very Mad (they have other uses though) guitarist
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 3:59 pm

Waspie wrote:
midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
MikeO wrote:
Glad it all went well.

Mike, I havn't lifted a finger, my eldest decided he was going to do it, so how can I argue Smile

After a life time of spoiling them they have to reach a pay back point sometime.

In my family I'm still Mr mechanic. Evil or Very Mad (they have other uses though) guitarist

He doesn't do bad, he has just come out of a rather sh*t marriage and is just finding himself again, along with being made redundant last week as well, he needs to keep himself occupied.

i can tell he is getting back to his old self, he calls the Silverwing "The Moped"
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3646
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8631
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 4:16 pm

It never rains.....!
Good luck to him.
No doubt you're doing your bit to support.
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 4:19 pm

midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
rogerscoot wrote:
Mine arrived this afternoon.....job for tomorrow

You fancy a meet Saturday if all goes well?
Already booked up for Saturday, is Friday any good?
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 09, 2011 4:34 pm

rogerscoot wrote:
midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
rogerscoot wrote:
Mine arrived this afternoon.....job for tomorrow

You fancy a meet Saturday if all goes well?
Already booked up for Saturday, is Friday any good?

Not sure would need to check and get back to you.
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 10, 2011 4:34 am

rogerscoot wrote:
midlifecrisis (Paul) wrote:
rogerscoot wrote:
Mine arrived this afternoon.....job for tomorrow

You fancy a meet Saturday if all goes well?
Already booked up for Saturday, is Friday any good?

Yeah OK for Friday if you still want to .

cheers

PM or email me with details tc

Paul
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 11, 2011 4:39 pm

Tested out my new Givi Airflow today going to meet Paul in Holmfirth ( not three of us, only two). Travelled on both Motorway and A roads across the hills...great ride up to Holme Moss. Very happy with it...replaced a standard Givi that had 2 inches cut off....Certainly less buffeting around head and shoulders. It did get dirty though from damp roads, so will have to give it a good clean in the morning.
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 12, 2011 4:46 am

rogerscoot wrote:
Tested out my new Givi Airflow today going to meet Paul in Holmfirth ( not three of us, only two). Travelled on both Motorway and A roads across the hills...great ride up to Holme Moss. Very happy with it...replaced a standard Givi that had 2 inches cut off....Certainly less buffeting around head and shoulders. It did get dirty though from damp roads, so will have to give it a good clean in the morning.

Yes Roger nice to meet you.

I too was testing out my new Airflow screen, found it remarkably quiet compared with the old standard screen.

Very impressed indeed cheers
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 12, 2011 5:37 am

Did either of you notice a cold spot at the rear of the helmet? Not an issue as I remedied it by wearing a buff and tucking it into the back of my lid!

Glad you had positive trials with the new screen. Definitely quieter. Smile
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 12, 2011 6:53 am

Waspie wrote:
Did either of you notice a cold spot at the rear of the helmet? Not an issue as I remedied it by wearing a buff and tucking it into the back of my lid!

Glad you had positive trials with the new screen. Definitely quieter. Smile

I'll be honest Doug, I didn't, having said that I was more interested in avoiding the plethora of potholes I had to encounter What a Face
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 12, 2011 7:10 am

I rode in that very cold spell we had a while back Paul and it was the only thing I could adversely knock the Airflow for. Very minor, however, after the buff thing was worked out, (and the weather changed), it became barely noticeable.

A few guys have commented on the buffeting/pressure on their backs! Something I am aware of but never noticed myself.

Glad it's not just we southerners that are having trouble with pot holes. Be glad when my work commute is in daylight! At least I will see what is coming and hopefully avoid!!!! Suspect
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4277
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 12, 2011 5:52 pm

I didn't notice, beacause I was wrapped up warm....my helmet, a SHOEI, has a neck curtain (whisper strip) which reduces a lot of noise getting to the ears and keeps the neck warm...under that a winter balaclava which gets well down into the jacket, so nice and toastie!!!
Back to top Go down
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4292
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 2:01 pm

I may have missed it in the threads but has anyone tried this in the rain? Maybe I'm worried about nothing but what keeps the rain from coming in from over the bottom shield?
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7276
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 2:31 pm

martywinger wrote:
I may have missed it in the threads but has anyone tried this in the rain? Maybe I'm worried about nothing but what keeps the rain from coming in from over the bottom shield?

The rain, like the air is deflected over your head. Subject to the screen placed at the optimum position.

Over the past few weeks most of my riding with the AF214 has been in the rain. (Good ole British weather).
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4292
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 2:32 pm

Thanks Doug. Looks like it'll be the one to buy before my next trip.
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 2:35 pm

martywinger wrote:
I may have missed it in the threads but has anyone tried this in the rain? Maybe I'm worried about nothing but what keeps the rain from coming in from over the bottom shield?

Do you get any rain where you live in Oklahoma? I thought it was sun 365 Smile

I set off in light rain and to be honest I didn't notice where it went, ceratinly didn't drop on me Laughing
Back to top Go down
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4292
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 2:45 pm

Smile Yes, we get rain here. Over the past 2 weeks we've recieved a record snowfall too. I take rather long trips that get me all over the US. Can't remember a trip that I didn't get rained on somewhere. This May or June a cpople pals and I will ride from Oklahoma to Kalispell Montana and back. I'm sure we'll see rain.
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
tarmacburner2


Number of posts : 1099
Age : 68
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 5662
Registration date : 2010-03-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 14, 2011 7:00 pm

Mine arrived by courier this lunchtime. Very easy to remove existing windscreen (a standard Givi) and replace with the Airflow. Job made simpler by the fact that the Givi brackets were already installed. Just need an excuse to try it. Smile
I may wait until the leg deflectors are fitted. It was a bit cold on Saturday at motorway speeds so hopefully they will be a good investment.

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4424
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 15, 2011 4:41 am

tarmacburner2 wrote:
Mine arrived by courier this lunchtime. Very easy to remove existing windscreen (a standard Givi) and replace with the Airflow. Job made simpler by the fact that the Givi brackets were already installed. Just need an excuse to try it. Smile
I may wait until the leg deflectors are fitted. It was a bit cold on Saturday at motorway speeds so hopefully they will be a good investment.

Cheers,

You won't be disappointed Laughing
Back to top Go down
 
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review
Back to top 
Page 4 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 Similar topics
-
» New Givi Adjustable Screen coming soon
» New Givi Adjustable Wind Shield
» Givi AF214 Airflow Windshield.
» Update to AF214 GIVI AirFlow Windshield
» Givi Airflow installation?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: