Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» coolant leak? and shutter/lugging of engine
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Cannavis Today at 6:00 pm

» Bought a 600 silver wing Scooter with the Trike kit on it
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Tenpin77 Today at 5:52 pm

» Airhawk and GoCruise
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Today at 5:50 pm

» For Sale: Dr Pulley HiT Clutch kit
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Today at 5:48 pm

» Swingarm torque question
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Today at 5:22 pm

» Seat strut help please
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Today at 2:09 pm

» New 2022 rides Mr Grinsel?
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Today at 1:55 pm

» Damn & Blast Again!
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Today at 12:49 pm

» Honda forza 350 taller screen.
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Today at 12:40 pm

» Where to start??
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Today at 12:27 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review

Go down 
+75
ken-z
surlybiker58
stonerolled
Atrick
paul.delo451
acworthpatrick
swingmike
SonnyO
tinman
Guy
EasyRider SilverWinger
RArch
jodders1
MarkB
toolboxjesse
DickO
LarryB
DaveR
SamHouston73
larryinseattle
JeffR_
kbcmdba
dnk2112
johnd
Dimond
john123
cjuzda
model28a
goldwinger
Skyman
The Scootist
JohnJ
hobbykim
Scooterian
kleikvold
Meldrew
GaryT
Winger61
tarmacburner2
midlifecrisis (Paul)
dickie
rogerscoot
martywinger
roadrunner
wis-rider
ajay
russcarver
Laker
jimjotel
Waspie
Windrider
clarinet
Opalsboy
billmc
DennisB
Okiebezer
ehaughn
crahar
MikeO
jdeereanton
billc.
edbancro
ronjr009
buddy19520
trooth2u
trouble1100
thomphoto
wingnprayer
Tamjay
bigbird
john grinsel
dspevack
honda_silver
tonylumps
JeffR
79 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3649
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8638
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 15, 2011 4:07 am

I was given strict instructions not to thrash my bike for 24hrs after the guards were fitted in order to let the glue go off.
I rode back from the dealer very gently.
(He actually advised not riding it but needs must)
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
tarmacburner2


Number of posts : 1099
Age : 68
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 5664
Registration date : 2010-03-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 15, 2011 4:29 am

Good tip there MikeO. Not a problem about not riding it for 24 hours at the moment. Just been out in the car and there were a couple of bits of snow falling at one point. The temperatures have taken a drop again.

I can always use the Burgman if the desire to be on two wheels becomes too great!

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
martywinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 20
Age : 77
Location : Muskogee, OK
Points : 4294
Registration date : 2010-10-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 15, 2011 7:39 am

Leg deflectors? Somebody tell me more about those.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3649
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8638
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 15, 2011 11:29 am

Have a butchers at my Album - the first eight pictures and the one labelled 'Scooter Bag-Hook 13' show my leg-deflectors fairly clearly.
'External Socket 1" gives quite a good close-up.
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4426
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 11:16 am

Some pictures of my recently fitted AF214 plus the monolock Givi top box

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 IMG_4407

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 IMG_4411

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 IMG_4409
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR


Number of posts : 2585
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7776
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 12:19 pm

Paul,

Looks nice. It still is my favorite screen of all the ones I have had. Much smoother to me.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7278
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 12:50 pm

Blimey Paul are you trying to keep Givi going on your own? Laughing

Looks nice, bike,screen the works. (Just a shame you tax disc is upside down or is it a plot to make life more awkward for plod!!!!! Laughing Laughing Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4426
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 1:20 pm

Waspie wrote:
Blimey Paul are you trying to keep Givi going on your own? Laughing

Looks nice, bike,screen the works. (Just a shame you tax disc is upside down or is it a plot to make life more awkward for plod!!!!! Laughing Laughing Twisted Evil

I already had the top box from the Divvy so had to get the moiunt for it.

Will leave the RFL as it is, being ex-plod i would find it hard to find a reason to make a serious offence out of it Smile
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 4279
Registration date : 2011-01-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 1:25 pm

Hi Paul, see you have your camera mounted on handlebar mount. have you ridden with it there for long. taken any videos?
regards
roger
Back to top Go down
Winger61
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
Winger61


Number of posts : 449
Age : 73
Location : Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
Points : 4761
Registration date : 2010-10-15

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 1:27 pm

Waspie wrote:

(Just a shame you tax disc is upside down or is it a plot to make life more awkward for plod!!!!! Laughing Laughing Twisted Evil

My tax disc rotates on it's own in the holder when I'm riding, 'cos it's not a tight fit.
(Unless something spooky's going on in the garage!! affraid )
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4426
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 1:31 pm

rogerscoot wrote:
Hi Paul, see you have your camera mounted on handlebar mount. have you ridden with it there for long. taken any videos?
regards
roger

Hi Roger

No not yet, I keep moving it as on full lock the mount it keeps catching the screen, when i find the best position I will post a video.

I am send you an email regarding other matters...

Paul
Back to top Go down
midlifecrisis (Paul)
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
midlifecrisis (Paul)


Number of posts : 153
Age : 67
Location : Otley, UK
Points : 4426
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Winger61 wrote:
Waspie wrote:

(Just a shame you tax disc is upside down or is it a plot to make life more awkward for plod!!!!! Laughing Laughing Twisted Evil

My tax disc rotates on it's own in the holder when I'm riding, 'cos it's not a tight fit.
(Unless something spooky's going on in the garage!! affraid )

I will have to put some CCTV in the garage to see id anything untoward is going on alien beamed up
Back to top Go down
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 15, 2011 8:41 pm

Hi all........I'm new to this forum. I live in IL. a farmer & purchased my 07 swing 4/7/11. I'm in the process of getting my license so haven't been on it much. I did order my AF214 airflow today. I'm not much of a typer but I do like to read everyones post.
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR


Number of posts : 2585
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7776
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 15, 2011 9:00 pm

Welcome Gary,

Hope you like the forum and since you ordered your Givi you should go to the "Pictorials" section and look at the windshield Pictorial. You can install it yourself. Where do you live in Illinois? I used to live up north on the border of Wis. and then in Champaign. I hope you will be active here and you can create your own folder in the "Album" section so you can put pics there. Welcome.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 16, 2011 3:46 am

Jeffr, I live in Marshall along I-70 east of Terre Haute IN. I checked out the pictorials looks like maybe I could handle this, with my wife watching over my shoulder. lol

Should have it by next Wed. With all the rain we are having should have time to mount it . Hope I like it !
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
tarmacburner2


Number of posts : 1099
Age : 68
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 5664
Registration date : 2010-03-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 16, 2011 4:21 am

You will have an excuse to go for a number of rides with the screen set at different heights.
Even longer rides if you tell the wife the adjustment must be done in the garage!

I haven't found the optimum position for mine yet.

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 3982
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 8338
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 16, 2011 4:35 am

Gary wrote:
I checked out the pictorials looks like maybe I could handle this, with my wife watching over my shoulder. lol

Should have it by next Wed. With all the rain we are having should have time to mount it . Hope I like it !

Hi Gary,
Maybe you should get your wife to do it with you watching over her shoulder, then if it goes wrong it's her fault! Smile
Back to top Go down
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 16, 2011 4:43 am

Meldrew wrote:
Gary wrote:
I checked out the pictorials looks like maybe I could handle this, with my wife watching over my shoulder. lol

Should have it by next Wed. With all the rain we are having should have time to mount it . Hope I like it !

Hi Gary,
Maybe you should get your wife to do it with you watching over her shoulder, then if it goes wrong it's her fault! Smile

Meldrew............Never thought of that ! Good idea ! I'll bring that up today if I catch her in a good mood. What a Face
Back to top Go down
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: shield fasteners   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 20, 2011 7:12 pm

I unwrapped my Givi airflow and slide the top shield down in the fasteners. It went down about 2" then got tight. So do I just unloosen the locknut alittle to give it more space to fit ? Or am I just not holding my mouth right . Thought I better ask before I put the wrench on it.
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR


Number of posts : 2585
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7776
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 20, 2011 7:20 pm

Gary,

Were the fastners pulled all the way out? It should just slide up and down if the fastners are pulled all the way out which would put them at a 90 degree angle to the windshield. I will look at mine to see if they can be loosened and get back to you tomorrow, or possibly tonight.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 20, 2011 7:36 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto


Number of posts : 188
Age : 85
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 5008
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 21, 2011 3:55 am

Also make sure you don't try to adjust the shield while riding, it will fly off. Don't ask me how I know.

Wendell
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 21, 2011 4:34 am

I checked again the fasteners are all the way up I would call it. Still only slides down about 2". I'll try loosening the fasteners after while.
Back to top Go down
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 21, 2011 6:17 pm

I loosened the lock nuts up to where they are almost flush. Now the top shield slides up & down easily & still locks tight.
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR


Number of posts : 2585
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7776
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 21, 2011 6:36 pm

Gary,

Glad you are able to lower and raise it better now. How do you like it so far? I think it is a great screen but I live in California where it doesn't really get cold. I'm not sure how the protection is when it is around freezing since it never gets that cold here. But if the temps are in the mid 40's or higher it does great for me.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 21, 2011 6:46 pm

As soon as I get it mounted I"ll know more about it. I do like the looks of it though.

Not going to be very good riding weather ( rain ) here for the next 5 days. Bummer !! Darn poor corn planting weather too.
Back to top Go down
GaryT
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 36
Age : 73
Location : IL
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2011-04-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 23, 2011 8:55 am

Thanks to Jeff & Big bird I got the airflow & metal braces mounted this morning.

I went for a little spin to see what it would do. Worked great kept the wind off my face & my eyes didn't water. But I did get wet ( rain ) before returning home. Thanks again for the help !!!!!!!!!!
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 23, 2011 9:15 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR


Number of posts : 2585
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7776
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 23, 2011 2:18 pm

Gary,

Congrats on the new shield. And you can thank Terry (bigbird) for the metal brace info. I didn't mount it on mine and it hasn't blown off yet. I'm not sure why bigbird used his braces since he only rides it to the end of his driveway to get the mail. lol
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 23, 2011 2:56 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
kleikvold
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 5
Age : 57
Location : Colorado
Points : 4380
Registration date : 2010-07-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeFri May 06, 2011 10:24 am

I purchased the Givi Airflow this spring and put in on my 2002 Swing. I really enjoy the windshield. It is quiet to sit behind while driving. Plus, when it is cold, the air doesn't seem to penetrate my hands nearly as much with this windshield. I agree with JeffR's review on the windshield. I won't go back.

Thanks the time for doing your review Jeff. It was the tipping point for me to purchase one.

Thanks,

Kurt.
Back to top Go down
Scooterian
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Scooterian


Number of posts : 74
Age : 61
Location : Maine
Points : 4980
Registration date : 2009-02-03

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat May 14, 2011 9:45 am

Ok, after reading all 16 pages of reviews, I just ordered the Airflow. I currently have the x-large Clearview which I look through. It's an OK shield but I don't like looking through it in the rain. I'm a little concerned about drilling holes in the tupperware but I guess I'll figure it out.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat May 14, 2011 9:49 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3649
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8638
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat May 14, 2011 10:44 am

Yes - put the brackets on or just offer them up to spot the holes and as bigbird says the drill will find the bosses.
Don't press hard!
Back to top Go down
hobbykim
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 12
Age : 62
Location : Wa,USA
Points : 4080
Registration date : 2011-05-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeMon May 16, 2011 11:21 pm

Hi to everyone.I'm new in this forum but I had been own silverwing over two year,My wing 2008.after I read about this Givi wind shield,I just order today.I had tall Givi wiend shield but I did not use it because to tall for me.Thank for good new about this wind shield.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3649
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8638
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue May 17, 2011 2:28 am

Hello and welcome to the very best Silverwing forum! cheers
Back to top Go down
Scooterian
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Scooterian


Number of posts : 74
Age : 61
Location : Maine
Points : 4980
Registration date : 2009-02-03

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu May 26, 2011 10:14 am

I replaced my X-large Clearview (no vent) with the Airflow. As I expected there is little more wind noise with the new shield. The air pocket is collapsing into the side of my helmet (a little). What I didn't expect was a better riding SWing. The bike itself is behaving better without that sail-like screen catching every gust. If anyone is interested in buying my Clearview, I'll sell it cheap. The Clearview is a definite improvement over the stock shield (which is the worst feature on the bike) --Scott
Back to top Go down
honda_silver
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
honda_silver


Number of posts : 2453
Location : Georgetown, Tx
Points : 7502
Registration date : 2008-12-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu May 26, 2011 10:45 am

Scooterian wrote:
I replaced my X-large Clearview (no vent) with the Airflow.

Scooterian wrote:
If anyone is interested in buying my Clearview, I'll sell it cheap.

If you ride much in the very cold weather, the Clearview is much wider than then Givi Airflow. I wonder if the Airflow would be much colder and less protective ... so it may also depend on your gear and/or heated gear.
Back to top Go down
Scooterian
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Scooterian


Number of posts : 74
Age : 61
Location : Maine
Points : 4980
Registration date : 2009-02-03

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu May 26, 2011 1:58 pm

That's true. There is definitely less protection but I only ride in the warm months.
Back to top Go down
JohnJ
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 11
Location : Somerset UK
Points : 4358
Registration date : 2010-08-17

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 07, 2011 1:06 pm

Well - Airflow arrived today - fitted this evening after much pre-reading of this thread. Quick spin and I believe it is the first time I have heard the engine when the bike is going faster that about 10mph.

Very different indeed. I managed to naff up one hole so it is held with 5 screws and the metal brackets were awkward - but I think I might have knackered a bit of thread with the drill - apart from that looking forward to a decnt run. Thanks to all on here.
John
Back to top Go down
The Scootist
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Scootist


Number of posts : 693
Age : 64
Location : Loveland, Colorado
Points : 5583
Registration date : 2009-01-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 21, 2011 8:17 am

Jeff:
Thanks for the great review. The airflow windscreen sounds like it is very well designed. I may need to look into adding one to my bike at some point.
DCC
Back to top Go down
Skyman
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 38
Age : 73
Location : Georgia
Points : 4500
Registration date : 2010-05-06

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 24, 2011 8:00 am

Make it one more convert! I just installed my Givi Airflow and all I can say is WOW! what a difference from the stock windshield. I just took a short ride but as soon as I'm done here it's off again. Thank you all for helping with the decision to purchase and the install instructions. Like Jeff I choose not to install the metal braces, no drilling holes. :-)
Back to top Go down
goldwinger
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
goldwinger


Number of posts : 75
Age : 68
Location : Canvey Island, Essex, UK
Points : 4132
Registration date : 2011-06-14

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 16, 2011 12:37 pm

Just my opinion, but companies like Givi don't provide "extras" for fun. I'm sure after testing, they found that the metal braces were neccessary, otherwise they wouldn't bother supplying them. I fitted mine. (very easy to drill and fit)

Ian
Back to top Go down
model28a
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
model28a


Number of posts : 2085
Age : 69
Location : St.Pete.FL.
Points : 6688
Registration date : 2010-02-03

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 16, 2011 1:31 pm

"Just my opinion, but companies like Givi don't provide "extras" for fun. I'm sure after testing, they found that the metal braces were neccessary, otherwise they wouldn't bother supplying them. I fitted mine. (very easy to drill and fit)"
+1
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 16, 2011 2:06 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7278
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 16, 2011 2:39 pm

bigbird wrote:
Skyman wrote:
Like Jeff I choose not to install the metal braces, no drilling holes. :-)

If you're afraid of drilling 2 small holes through the hidden tupperware, don't be. Otherwise down the road you'll be looking at stress cracks in the hidden tupperware from the GIVI's flexing. That big moveable screen was never designed to mount to the stock Honda screen mounts.

Agree regards the drilling holes.

I mean, it's not as if you are actually drilling holes, more removing the cap of material covering the tapped nuts!!! You can remove the covering without a mechanical drill, simply use a drill bit in your hand and twist.

Me personally, I think that the metal brackets are there for a purpose, for the amount of effort involved it really is worth the few seconds of time fitting them.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Skyman
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 38
Age : 73
Location : Georgia
Points : 4500
Registration date : 2010-05-06

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 21, 2011 4:55 pm

Ok after reading the reply's I will revisit the decision not to use the metal braces. I keep them of course and have them in the box the windshield came in along with the stock windshield. I have found one position for the windshield that works great for me. I have not needed to change the height at all. Here in Georgia it has been HOT and this is from a guy coming from Florida so my riding the scoot has suffered as it is miserable out. I know most of the US is in the same boat. I guess it is a good time to get the parts out of storage and put the braces on. I did tighten the 10mm nuts when I put the windshield on just to the point that it takes two hands to slide the shield up and down.
Back to top Go down
cjuzda
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 133
Location : Ontario, Canada
Points : 4242
Registration date : 2011-05-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Bit the bullet and ordered it   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 16, 2011 7:45 pm

After reading this over, I finally decided to order this - tired of getting beat up by buffeting at high speeds. Thanks to all the great instructions here, I'm pretty confident about the install. Without this great forum, I doubt I would have been convinced to order and install it. Should be here in a week or so. Once I get it installed, I'll write up my comments as well. It will be interesting to see how the bike handles in a high cross wind with this shield.

Chris
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2400
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7050
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 16, 2011 8:11 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
cjuzda
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 133
Location : Ontario, Canada
Points : 4242
Registration date : 2011-05-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 5 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm

No, I checked their web site from the URL you provided in the thread and they don't have it or any other GIVI stuff listed. Got it from 2nd Gear on ebay.ca. I think they're in Calgary so it worked out ok. They had 3 in stock and shipped via UPS the same day I ordered it. Price was about $205 + $18 shipping plus 5% for good old GST.

Chris


bigbird wrote:
Chris, did you order from Tony at Blue Streak Racing in Embro, ON?
Back to top Go down
 
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review
Back to top 
Page 5 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 Similar topics
-
» New Givi Adjustable Screen coming soon
» New Givi Adjustable Wind Shield
» Givi AF214 Airflow Windshield.
» Update to AF214 GIVI AirFlow Windshield
» Givi Airflow installation?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: