Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Rear shocks setting
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Today at 2:31 am

» Side stand “shoe”
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby MattinAZ Yesterday at 8:18 pm

» Swinging in the Rain
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 4:18 pm

» What did you do to your SW today.
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 3:41 pm

» Front wheel wobble
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 3:35 pm

» HayvenMoses
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby oldwingguy Yesterday at 7:47 am

» Tell us a joke
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Yesterday at 12:18 am

» Squeaking Rubbing sound
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Sat Jul 31, 2021 5:38 pm

» any gilera gp800 riders
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Sat Jul 31, 2021 4:21 pm

» The Blue Suit
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeby terrier Sat Jul 31, 2021 9:40 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review

Go down 
+75
ken-z
surlybiker58
stonerolled
Atrick
paul.delo451
acworthpatrick
swingmike
SonnyO
tinman
Guy
EasyRider SilverWinger
RArch
jodders1
MarkB
toolboxjesse
DickO
LarryB
DaveR
SamHouston73
larryinseattle
JeffR_
kbcmdba
dnk2112
johnd
Dimond
john123
cjuzda
model28a
goldwinger
Skyman
The Scootist
JohnJ
hobbykim
Scooterian
kleikvold
Meldrew
GaryT
Winger61
tarmacburner2
midlifecrisis (Paul)
dickie
rogerscoot
martywinger
roadrunner
wis-rider
ajay
russcarver
Laker
jimjotel
Waspie
Windrider
clarinet
Opalsboy
billmc
DennisB
Okiebezer
ehaughn
crahar
MikeO
jdeereanton
billc.
edbancro
ronjr009
buddy19520
trooth2u
trouble1100
thomphoto
wingnprayer
Tamjay
bigbird
john grinsel
dspevack
honda_silver
tonylumps
JeffR
79 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
edbancro
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 160
Location : Western Pennsylvania
Points : 4477
Registration date : 2009-10-30

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 26, 2010 3:22 pm

On mine, I think I also remember some sort of circular markings in the tupperware which seemed to indicate where the holes need to be drilled. I don't know if that's why they were there or if it's something else from the manufacturing process. Has anyone else noticed this?
Back to top Go down
tonylumps
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
tonylumps

Number of posts : 148
Age : 78
Location : Newtown Square Pa
Points : 4305
Registration date : 2010-04-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 26, 2010 3:45 pm

To respond to Bigbird about being in a hurry.And also DO NOT PUT ANY IN YOUR MOUTH unless it is small enough to pass or you have extras. Don't even ask. Tony
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 26, 2010 5:33 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
crahar
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
crahar

Number of posts : 283
Age : 73
Location : Beaumont, Texas
Points : 4649
Registration date : 2009-08-31

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 26, 2010 5:45 pm

The National Enquirer said inquiring minds want to know. They would like a full write up plus pictures, said it should make the front page next to Elvis sighting in Afghanistan.
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Lol
Craig
Back to top Go down
tonylumps
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
tonylumps

Number of posts : 148
Age : 78
Location : Newtown Square Pa
Points : 4305
Registration date : 2010-04-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Well lets just say I am glad I had a spare Tony
Back to top Go down
honda_silver
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
honda_silver

Number of posts : 2454
Location : Georgetown, Tx
Points : 7167
Registration date : 2008-12-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 27, 2010 1:20 am

billc. wrote:
Where is a good place to buy this windshield? thanks billc. and what is a good price?

$215.09 with free shipping http://www.helmetheadcycle.com/product/12546/givi-af214-honda-silver-wing-400-600-2801-0929-airflow-windshield
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 28, 2010 3:44 pm

Hi All,
I just returned from a 1200 mile ride, including Deal's Gap, and the Tail of the Dragon, with 4 Harleys, 1 Goldwing, 1 Reflex, and my Silverwing. This was the first long trip with my new Givi Air Flo windshield. I'm glad to report that this windshield is the best one that I have had, and that includes the regular Givi, and 3 sizes of Clearview. On the interstate, I kept it at about the halfway mark which allowed me to just see over it. There was no buffeting, but it let a nice breeze come around, just enough to be comfortable in the 90+ temps. In the twisties I put it at the lowest setting which allowed a really good view of the road ahead. I tried the lowest setting on the interstate, and I did get some buffeting on my helmet, but you would expect that. I was able to adjust it up or down with 1 hand while riding (slowly). The only issues I had was a lot of flutter at high speeds, but that was not a problem since I was looking over it, and there is some distortion if you try to look thru it. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Wendell
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
honda_silver
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
honda_silver

Number of posts : 2454
Location : Georgetown, Tx
Points : 7167
Registration date : 2008-12-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 28, 2010 3:59 pm

thomphoto wrote:
The only issues I had was a lot of flutter at high speeds, but that was not a problem since I was looking over it

Was the fluttering front-back movement at the top of the windshield??

Do you have the optional bracket installed ... I wonder if that was intended for high speed movement.
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 28, 2010 4:05 pm

Yes, the flutter was front back movement on the lower section. And I did not install the brackets, but I will be doing that soon to see if that makes a difference. By the way, my gas mileage for the 1200 miles was 54 MPG and that included about 300 miles of interstate at 70 indicated.
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
honda_silver
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
honda_silver

Number of posts : 2454
Location : Georgetown, Tx
Points : 7167
Registration date : 2008-12-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 28, 2010 4:58 pm

thomphoto wrote:
Yes, the flutter was front back movement on the lower section. And I did not install the brackets, but I will be doing that soon to see if that makes a difference.

Let us know.

thomphoto wrote:
By the way, my gas mileage for the 1200 miles was 54 MPG and that included about 300 miles of interstate at 70 indicated.

Would that be lower, normal or higher from prior MPG comparisons??
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 28, 2010 10:43 pm

Actually, this was the first time I ever checked it.
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
ehaughn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
ehaughn

Number of posts : 131
Age : 52
Location : Norcross, GA
Points : 4284
Registration date : 2010-06-13

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 12:34 am

Hey All,

I am curious if you saw an increase or decrease in gas mileage with the Givi AF214.
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 11:18 am

I must be a real dumb ass. This morning I removed my new Air Flo windshield thinking I would install the little brackets to see if that helped with the fluttering at higher speeds. After 2 hrs, I gave up on it. For the life of me I can't figure out how these little bastards are supposed to go on, and how they would accomplish anything if they were on. The pictures that Givi supplies are so crappy I can't make out anything. I can usually figure things like this out, but these have me completely baffeled. Doe's anyone have clear photos of these things installed?
Thanks,
Wendell
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 12:38 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 2:15 pm

Thanks bigbird, that's beginning to make sense. I couldn't see how the bolt would work by just drilling a hole, and the instructions say you drill 2 holes. Also, does' the bracket go on first under the windshield, or on top of it?

Wendell
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR

Number of posts : 2578
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7431
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 2:38 pm

ehaughn wrote:
Hey All,

I am curious if you saw an increase or decrease in gas mileage with the Givi AF214.

ehaughn,

I have noticed that if I do the speed limits that i'm getting about 2-3 mpg better. If I decide to ride it a more aggressive the SWing just drinks gas, so I don't think it does any better than the stock. But it does feel that you don't feel the wind hitting the shield but it being deflected in a much smoother manner so maybe that is one reason. I also lower the shield too when riding on the 45 mph roads that I ride on too, so that could be a reason.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 5:29 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 6:11 pm

Thanks Terry, I think I've got it now. Will give it another shot in the morning.
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
tonylumps
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
tonylumps

Number of posts : 148
Age : 78
Location : Newtown Square Pa
Points : 4305
Registration date : 2010-04-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 6:41 pm

BigBird is right Drill 1 hole each side i took off the tupperware and took some pictures I do not know how to post them I emailed them to DennisB He posted pictures for me in my past life Tony

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Tony112

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Tony211


Last edited by DennisB on Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:09 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Added pictures)
Back to top Go down
tonylumps
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
tonylumps

Number of posts : 148
Age : 78
Location : Newtown Square Pa
Points : 4305
Registration date : 2010-04-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 8:06 pm

Thanks Dennis
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 29, 2010 10:36 pm

Fantastic, thanks Dennis and Tony. I knew someone on this forum would show me how to do this. I'll get the job done in the morning and report if it makes any difference in the fluttering.

Wendell
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: windshield   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jul 30, 2010 3:55 am

Has anybody actually went out and did some real miles under varied conditions to see how shield really performs would like know before I spend-----real miles to me are-----like trip I just got back from, Fri to Thurs 2400 miles, temps 60 to 100 plus, TN to UP Mich and back. Need to know about fog/rain/shaking of shield/Night---in other words does it really work. Need for earplugs? Several days of 400-500 miles under bad conditions can tell a lot about an accessory and whether it makes you feel good or bad-------My Clearview/vented with Laminar Lip was miserable---I took lip off about midway---I think it added to buffeting

John Grinsel Bugs,too.
Back to top Go down
thomphoto
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
thomphoto

Number of posts : 188
Age : 84
Location : Owensboro, Kentucky
Points : 4670
Registration date : 2009-06-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jul 30, 2010 9:07 am

Installed the Givi brackets on the Air Flo this morning. Took about 30 minutes with the excellent directions by Tony and Dennis. Would have taken less, but I dropped one of the bolts and had to fish it out with a magnet. I took a short test ride, and there was a very noticeable improvement in the flutter. I guess the Givi engineers knew what they were doing. I did photos of the entire procedure and will post them when I get time and figure out how to do that.
Back to top Go down
http://wendellthompsonfineart.com
tonylumps
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
tonylumps

Number of posts : 148
Age : 78
Location : Newtown Square Pa
Points : 4305
Registration date : 2010-04-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jul 30, 2010 11:30 am

I know as soon as I tighten the bolts on the bracket the whole front became one piece So it seemed.
Back to top Go down
trooth2u
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
trooth2u

Number of posts : 16
Age : 74
Location : Warrenton, VA
Points : 4058
Registration date : 2010-07-11

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jul 30, 2010 1:06 pm

thomphoto wrote:
By the way, my gas mileage for the 1200 miles was 54 MPG and that included about 300 miles of interstate at 70 indicated.
I just filled up after an indicated 189 40-50 mph miles and got 56.54 mpg. In calculating this, I added 5% to the 189 miles to account for the increase in rear tire size and consequent odometer under-reporting in using the larger darkside tire. I keep the Airflow shield at the lowest setting.
Best, Jules Abramson, Warrenton, VA
Back to top Go down
Okiebezer
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Okiebezer

Number of posts : 10
Age : 59
Location : Oklahoma City
Points : 4047
Registration date : 2010-07-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 21, 2010 10:05 pm

Good review. A quick question...what is the ball bracket on the handles in the picture above that shows the dash from side view? Just curious.
Back to top Go down
DennisB
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2778
Age : 71
Location : NE Oklahoma
Points : 7888
Registration date : 2008-12-28

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 21, 2010 10:44 pm

That's a RAM 1" GPS ball used with a Custom Silverwing mount.
Back to top Go down
Okiebezer
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Okiebezer

Number of posts : 10
Age : 59
Location : Oklahoma City
Points : 4047
Registration date : 2010-07-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 21, 2010 11:32 pm

O
Back to top Go down
billmc
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 41
Age : 62
Location : Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Points : 4056
Registration date : 2010-08-15

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 12:39 am

I'm sure this thread will continue for a while, but give me your opinions please. I don't have enough (any) riding experience to know about things like back pressure or buffeting or even if I have a heavy helmet. What I do know is I've got the stock windshield on a 2004, its yellowed from the sun, and I think somebody sandblasted it. Basically it needs to be replaced. All of you seem pretty enthused about this Airflow. I only want to buy one. Should I buy this or should I get the stock again?

Once again, thanks for the input.
Bill
Back to top Go down
Tamjay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Tamjay

Number of posts : 76
Age : 79
Location : Stamford, Lincolnshire
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2010-06-10

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 2:39 am

In my humble opinion the stock screen is dreadful !! Why Honda made it so narrow I shall never know. It gives little protection from the wind around the body.

The best thing I ever did was to buy this Airflow, it has reduced the buffeting enormously. I know it's expensive but well worth the money.

Buy one if it's within your budget.

Laurie
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 4:38 am

Has it reduced the noise, Laurie?
Back to top Go down
Tamjay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Tamjay

Number of posts : 76
Age : 79
Location : Stamford, Lincolnshire
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2010-06-10

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 5:19 am

Yes, Mike - quite substantially.

Laurie
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 6:01 am

Thanks. Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Icon_smile
Back to top Go down
Opalsboy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Opalsboy

Number of posts : 1292
Age : 76
Location : Rison, Arkansas
Points : 6069
Registration date : 2009-01-10

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 8:26 am

My original 03 had the Givi so, I thought every Swing came with one. I read all the discussions on Givi, Stock, Clearview and Lips and wondered what all the fuss was about.
Now with my 05 and its stock... let me add to the fuss. Man... what a difference. I can't stand it. Takes away a lot of the fun of riding. The noise is terrible. The wind is stout. (That is not that bad here now with the 100 F weather.)
I have just purchased the Givi adjustable to install during my upgrade project.
Idea I have never seen it on a forum, but if something happened to my stock and it was summer again... I would investigate running with no screen at all. Shocked Couldn't be any worse than stock. Would look a little weird, but that is just me.
Back to top Go down
DennisB
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2778
Age : 71
Location : NE Oklahoma
Points : 7888
Registration date : 2008-12-28

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 8:38 am

Hi Gary,

We can always cut that stock windshield down to a sport type shield. You will get allot of wind, bugs, and sweet summer rain in your face, but it will be smooth wind coming off the front of the scooter. What a Face
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 8:43 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Opalsboy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Opalsboy

Number of posts : 1292
Age : 76
Location : Rison, Arkansas
Points : 6069
Registration date : 2009-01-10

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 25, 2010 8:47 am

Dennis said: "We can always cut that stock windshield down to a sport type shield. You will get allot of wind, bugs, and sweet summer rain in your face, but it will be smooth wind coming off the front of the scooter. "

Dang, what am I waiting for.. wind, bugs, rain... it don't get any better than that...

I have considered cutting the stock though,,, only I wanted to cut from top to bottom.... Rolling Eyes Razz
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 6:06 am

well after reading this i have just emaild givi to see if the airflow fits my 2010 SW .
Although im not tall the buffering from the standard screen is not at all nice and makes any run a bit unconfortable, i need to do something.
Rob.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 8:30 am

reply from givi.
Good Morning Robert,

Thanks for your recent enquiry,

I can confirm that the AF214 airflow screen is compatible with the 600cc (years 01-09)

Thanks and regards

GIVI-UK

i asked if it would fit my 2010 SW it apears it wont from the above.
Rob
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 9:41 am

Yes but I think the 2010 model is identical in most respects to the previous ones.
I have a 2009 one - it's no different from the 2008 model.

And.......I have just ordered mine from my dealer in Ostend.
I've been looking on UK sites but thought I might as well see if I could get one here and save myself the shipping costs.
My dealer can get one for me.
Including the €10 postage the dealer pays, it will cost €157.00/£129.77/$199.70 at today's exchange rates.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 10:15 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: My quick test   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 12:15 pm

I did look to this forum for views/reviews on the new adjustable windshield but didn't get the exact imput I wanted.....so I bought one---Helmet Head @$215 shipped/

Got it last Thurs installed Fri, went to Microcar Museum/Madison GA--- 425 miles round trip lots of back roads, returned to Chatanooga via Interstate.

A couple of hundred miles running around and yesterday Mon 8/30---Gatlinburg TN to look at what passes for skiing here. Another 425 miles with limited Freeway, maybe total of 40 miles.

So have done some quick miles---tried to ride in rain, but only got a few drops and tried for shield fogging in the mountains as you go thru temperature changes---couldn't make it happen. So following are my experiences in the dry and also at night.

First I have owned some real buffeting queens, all new, in recent years---Honda Helix,Fusion, Reflex and now the SilverWing, plus Suzuki 400 Burgman and Kawasaki Concours---All miserable on highway if you like still about your head/ears/face.

Funny I don't usually drive cars---but my wife got new one recently---we didn't have to change windshield to make it driveable---Scooter/MC designers must not ride, maybe they should be required to take their vacations on the junk they design and better stuff could be dreamed up at the same price point.

So Shield:

#1 Nicely made, fits, drilled holes from picture on this forum.

#2 Provides at least comfortable air up to 60-65 mph---I ride with 3/4 open face helmet, safety glasses of one type or another. Tried 2 different helmets, 3 different helmet bills.

#3 at lower speeds can get by , with no earplugs---Freeway 65-80mph earplugs needed. Lots of other noises at those speeds.

#4 I have shield adjusted about one inch above lowest position---allowsgood see over at nite with no funny reflections. I tried it at top position----good way to die...distorted, could give headache---but most important I think I may have figured out why looking thru windshield on moving bike is so dangerous---Vertigo---you are looking thru something that is constantly shifting from side to side---I think what we need to see is horizon to keep upright and second here youareblind insnowfall/sleet/bugs into sunset, etc. I know from dark tunnel experience in Norway and other places in Europe where in unlighted tunnel where you cannot see end due to curve you can come up with the bike leaning funny----scarey.

So of the many replacement shields I have bought---Cee Bailey/Clearview/Puig/also Givi that required lots of saw/file work this is the best so far at OVERCOMING THE BASIC DESIGN FAULT OF MODERN SCOOTERS/BIKES-----YOUR FACE/NOSE IS TOO FAR FROM TIP OF SHIELD! Guess the style people determine what will sell...by looks and feel in showroom not going down the road. Industry needs to wake up, as nothing is selling right now...and maybe we need some new ideas.

John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 12:54 pm

Thanks, John.
Seems I've done the right thing.

Most interesting observation about Vertigo - it's said (and I find it so) that one way of avoiding sea-sickness is to watch the horizon, not the ship.
I guess it's the same principle.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 31, 2010 1:21 pm

bigbird wrote:
GYROB wrote:

i asked if it would fit my 2010 SW it apears it wont from the above.
Rob

You're jumping to a conclusion that is not true. If you have a 2010 Swing 600, not a GT, it will fit.
Thanks
i have Swing 600 not GT and just had an email from a suplier of the airflow and hes just about sure it will fit .
He said check with the dealer to see if the bodywork was changed from 2009 -2010.
looking that i can fit it after all Smile
Rob.
Back to top Go down
JeffR
Site Admin
JeffR

Number of posts : 2578
Age : 62
Location : Bay Area, Ca
Points : 7431
Registration date : 2008-12-19

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 01, 2010 12:51 am


John,

I'm kind of confused if you like it or you just consider it to be better than the standard Givi. Also, why do you keep the top part so low? I keep mine all the way up, and it does great, but I'm no where close to looking through it. I'm 6' tall and I do have a longer torso than average but putting it as low as you use it would make it a bit louder. But it does great for me.

So anyway, I read your post and not quite sure if you reallly like it. I also wear earplugs all the time since I do have hearing loss.
Back to top Go down
https://www.silverwing600.com
Tamjay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Tamjay

Number of posts : 76
Age : 79
Location : Stamford, Lincolnshire
Points : 4159
Registration date : 2010-06-10

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 01, 2010 4:09 am

I have a 2010 SWing and the Airflow fits, no problem.

Laurie
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 01, 2010 6:12 am

for JeffR----it is ok, given that the scooter is designed wrong for max. rider comfort and air management. But a Heinrich Fairing, a CECO did better job of calm air on the face and I think Glaeser or Hannigan would do same. This windshield will stay with bike for its life with me.

I am 5'9" low works ok---up more brings no improvement. My goal=comfort behind a screen--doable as Heinrich beginning in 1958 hit the spot for me.

Last as long as you don't go fast, that is over 65-70 mph the Givi is fairly comfortable---real fast big city speeds and its gets a little bad.

Just move up on seat so nose is 8-12" from shield tip---air quiet and calm---of course I know impossible to ride always on tip of seat----thus the basic design flaw.

John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 01, 2010 6:52 am

yes iv just ordered one Laurie hopefully be here for the weekend.
Rob.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 03, 2010 1:30 pm

A question
i have one on order Smile do the bits that stick out at the bottom take the wind away from your hands .
Rob.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 03, 2010 3:58 pm

I find the little things that stick out do divert air from hands----I have not found big, real rain to see what it does then. Rain---I hope it does good job---that is shoot water over my head and does not dribble at the joint----but I think air passes thru there at a fair rate of speed and should be shot over my head. Snow, will be glad that I see over.

Upper arms, near shoulders do get some wind-----wearing "real" bike clothes that do not flap takes care of that.

For me, It ( the shield)does what I want....reasonable quiet air around the head and fairly quiet.

This AM I tried with third helmet----Nolan (made by the company that doesn't know we have ears.) This one has high quality face shield. No ear plugs much louder that 3/4 jet helmet. The Nolan will remain on shelf.


John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
 
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review
Back to top 
Page 2 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 Similar topics
-
» ATV/SxS Illustrated Commander review
» Good 2009 Teryx review
» For sale dirty dawg adjustable clutch
» Removing scratches from Windshield
» RZMask Review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: