Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Rear shocks setting
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Today at 2:31 am

» Side stand “shoe”
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby MattinAZ Yesterday at 8:18 pm

» Swinging in the Rain
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 4:18 pm

» What did you do to your SW today.
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 3:41 pm

» Front wheel wobble
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby smellybeard Yesterday at 3:35 pm

» HayvenMoses
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby oldwingguy Yesterday at 7:47 am

» Tell us a joke
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Yesterday at 12:18 am

» Squeaking Rubbing sound
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Sat Jul 31, 2021 5:38 pm

» any gilera gp800 riders
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Sat Jul 31, 2021 4:21 pm

» The Blue Suit
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeby terrier Sat Jul 31, 2021 9:40 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review

Go down 
+75
ken-z
surlybiker58
stonerolled
Atrick
paul.delo451
acworthpatrick
swingmike
SonnyO
tinman
Guy
EasyRider SilverWinger
RArch
jodders1
MarkB
toolboxjesse
DickO
LarryB
DaveR
SamHouston73
larryinseattle
JeffR_
kbcmdba
dnk2112
johnd
Dimond
john123
cjuzda
model28a
goldwinger
Skyman
The Scootist
JohnJ
hobbykim
Scooterian
kleikvold
Meldrew
GaryT
Winger61
tarmacburner2
midlifecrisis (Paul)
dickie
rogerscoot
martywinger
roadrunner
wis-rider
ajay
russcarver
Laker
jimjotel
Waspie
Windrider
clarinet
Opalsboy
billmc
DennisB
Okiebezer
ehaughn
crahar
MikeO
jdeereanton
billc.
edbancro
ronjr009
buddy19520
trooth2u
trouble1100
thomphoto
wingnprayer
Tamjay
bigbird
john grinsel
dspevack
honda_silver
tonylumps
JeffR
79 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 03, 2010 4:37 pm

thanks John
i dont tend to ride in the rain unless i get caught out in it lol
i have just got a new bike jacket fully wind and water proof so should be ok as it all velcros down so no flaping .
I fitted my leg deflectors today but have to waite 24 hours for the tape part to dry out so no test ride yet .
I do like the look of them though and sure they will deflect the wind from my feet/legs .
Rob.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 05, 2010 6:55 am

Yesterday--9/4----it cooled down, maybe 50-55 F in the mountains early in the morning.

Two things on shield:

Really not much hand/finger protection as it gets cold. See Your HD dealer for good winter mitts. Or Hand guards to block the wind. National Cycle used to have some that work on Helix or was it Reflex? work on SilverWing?

Although there was some fog as I went in and out of valleys, couldn't get the shield to fog.

Third: Height---I once again tried moving the height around. About 1" from lowest works for me. Keeping speed down, quite comfortable....as you approach 70mph face shield needed or goggles. Actually keeping speed down ok. Low works great as you are going up and down around these curves for first time. Really seeing can be lifesaver.

Last at 50-60 mph on back roads, the SilverWing with this Givi Shield is about as comfortable as it is going to get as far as wind management on this type of scooter.

I rode TN Hwy 116 yesterday---about half is very good surface, little traffic, but
some bubbas in their pickups thinking they are the next road racing champ.


John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 05, 2010 7:11 am

I adapted some handguards* for my bike but I don't think they'll clear the big screen.
When mine comes I'll report back.

*Links to pictures in this thread, post #5:

https://www.silverwing600.com/silver-wing-accessories-modifications-f5/hand-guards-deflectors-t1595.htm?highlight=hand+guards
Back to top Go down
honda_silver
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
honda_silver

Number of posts : 2454
Location : Georgetown, Tx
Points : 7167
Registration date : 2008-12-23

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 05, 2010 8:15 pm

john grinsel wrote:
Really not much hand/finger protection as it gets cold.

Since I ride year round this was one of major concerns ... I would be curious if anyone else could also confirm??

If Givi offered the ability to attach/detach seasonal handguard to the windshield (similar to the Clearview), then the Givi Air Flow would be worth switching from my Clearview XL.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 8:53 am

Mine's arrived at the dealer's and I shall collect it tomorrow.

Just a quickie confirmation: I'm assuming that to drill the two holes one does NOT have to remove any tupperware other than the front panel.

Is that correct?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 9:05 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 9:26 am

Thanks bigbird - I'm in 'Oh God, will I be able to manage it?' mode!
I usually do.
Back to top Go down
clarinet
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 4
Age : 82
Location : Great River, NY
Points : 4012
Registration date : 2010-08-16

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 9:52 am

Just an a FYI, when I installed mine over the weekend I did remove the top cover over the instrument cluster. It allowed me to see where I was drilling so that I did not drill into the boss and screw that up. Doesn't have to be done, however, just was a bit easier for me. (These things happen when you get old!)
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 9:56 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 08, 2010 10:08 am

Thank you! Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Icon_cheers
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 6:41 am

Panic mode!

Two holes each side to drill?
Back to top Go down
edbancro
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 160
Location : Western Pennsylvania
Points : 4477
Registration date : 2009-10-30

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 7:13 am

clarinet wrote:
Just an a FYI, when I installed mine over the weekend I did remove the top cover over the instrument cluster. It allowed me to see where I was drilling so that I did not drill into the boss and screw that up. Doesn't have to be done, however, just was a bit easier for me. (These things happen when you get old!)
I agree - it's nice to be able to see what you're drilling into (and I don't think it has anything to do with age Smile ).

MikeO wrote:
Panic mode!

Two holes each side to drill?
One each side, two total (unless you're really having fun and want to drill more Laughing )
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 8:13 am

Thanks!

I was confused by having to remove one of the big shiney bolts from either side and replace them with the two supplied.
Job's jobbed without any real hassle, not least because of the wealth of information and support here - the supplied instructions are very clear.......when they've been explained here!
I dropped only one washer - one of the plastic ones - so made one from a piece of plastic I had in my workshop.

My hand guards do push slightly on the screen at full-lock; I shall go for a ride later and assess the situation.

Thanks again to everyone. Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Icon_cheers
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 8:15 am

Im STUCK already.
i have take the 2 screws out of the front air intake and the 2 at the back the plastic is lose but how do you get it off .
it feels like its clipped in near the indicater lights .
anyone ?
Rob.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 8:23 am

GOT it just found BigBirds way of doing it Smile
Rob
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 10:08 am

All back togather it took about an hour.
i did break one of those hooks at the front afterall but easy to repair ,that bit was the hard bit the hooks were so darnd tight .

we have rain now so a test will have to waite ..

i do like the look of it as it give the bike more prominanc .
Rob
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 10:16 am

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Icon_cheers
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 09, 2010 2:24 pm

Just back from a little ride and the screen is a great improvment over the standared honda one .
the wind noise with my helmet is 70% quieter, befor i could not stand the noise i got with my viser down it was a constant roar NOW i can easyly ride with my viser down .

Thanks for the views on it here as it helped me decide to try one .
very happy Smile
Rob.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: adj Givi shield FOG   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 10, 2010 7:42 pm

As I have stated before--- the new shield works ok up to 65 or maybe 70mph.
Works better than others I have tried/ wasted money on.


Today----Monroeville, AL to Chattanooga---early AM back roads----was able to ride thru several ground FOG conditions.-----Of course both sides of shield end up foggy....but no big drops roll off in my face/eyes so passes test. Those looking thru are putting themselves in good position to getting killed-----look over worked great.

Next have trip to DC and one to MO and letter upper MI, bound to run into rain....snow in UP?

John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
Windrider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Windrider

Number of posts : 189
Age : 82
Location : EastTexas
Points : 4238
Registration date : 2010-07-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 8:43 am

oops


Last edited by Windrider on Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
ehaughn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
ehaughn

Number of posts : 131
Age : 52
Location : Norcross, GA
Points : 4284
Registration date : 2010-06-13

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 9:26 am

Givi recommends you use the metal brackets, which provide additional stability.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 9:58 am

My review of the Givi screen is this:

Noise and buffeting are reduced beyond measure, even in the gale-force wind I experienced on the motorways.

There is some wind-noise at speed but the pounding on the ear-drums has vanished and it's a motorcycle so is never going to be completely draft- and noise-free.
My ipod was at just over half the volume than with the original screen and that was at speeds over 70MPH.

I think it's altered the handling a bit; I'm guessing that the venturi-effect is pressing the front of the bike harder on the road, causing the rider (me) to have to be a bit more positive in recovering from HGV bow-waves - the screen is less 'slippery' from side to side so appears to be caught by cross-winds. It may be my imagination and is certainly not a problem, my having adjusted to it. It hasn't spoilt the ride.

I set the height in the garage and didn't try moving it up or down. I might lower it a fraction to see what's what but on the few occasions one has to look at the road directly in front and therefore look through the screen, there is no distortion at all.

Sorry this is so short - there's really not much to say.
It is not perfect but very nearly and I'm very pleased I made the decision.

It's also very easy to attach - I was panicking about drilling the two extra holes but it's a piece of cake.

Not important but it hasn't spoilt the look of the bike - Silverwing and Burger rider-friends with whom I was in Brittany commented on that very point.

If you can scrape together the cash, buy one - that's my recommendation.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 10:06 am

MikeO, cut and paste - great invention.

Been following the exploits of the Givi screen all over the net!!!!!

Nice review, will def. get one in the next couple of months.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 10:57 am

It took me enough effort to write one - I'm not doing a new one for each set of fans on the net, Doug! Razz

Have you found the one with a UK supplier's link?
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 21, 2010 1:25 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Windrider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Windrider

Number of posts : 189
Age : 82
Location : EastTexas
Points : 4238
Registration date : 2010-07-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 22, 2010 8:37 am

Thanks BigBird
I will go back and install the braces. I don't want it to break.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 22, 2010 12:53 pm

x


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 22, 2010 4:12 pm

MikeO wrote:
Have you found the one with a UK supplier's link?

Yes thanks Mike, saved for future reference. cheers
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: final from me on this shield   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 25, 2010 3:28 pm

Finally after near 4,000 miles with this windshield, got to ride in some rain today.

Seems to work ok in lower position---no large drops directed to my face. Lower position for me about one inch from lowest possible.

I can see in west, you could raise it some for all day rain ride----I had to contend with idiots today going to TN football game in their pickups and SUV's. Not good or considerate drivers---guess they don't know it can be slippery when wet. Was not good time to experiment, better to concentrate on staying alive.


So Givi adj shield works as good or better than I have tried----does make up for some of the design flaw in basic scooter, your nose being too far from tip of screen.
At slower speeds beautiful-----at speeds above 65-70mph can still be a little bothersome----but much better than stock or other after market windshields


John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
jimjotel
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 77
Age : 71
Location : atlanta ga.
Points : 4349
Registration date : 2009-12-01

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 25, 2010 6:55 pm

what windsheild did you replace it with John?
Back to top Go down
http://jimtelford@bellsouth.net
DennisB
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2778
Age : 71
Location : NE Oklahoma
Points : 7888
Registration date : 2008-12-28

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 25, 2010 7:38 pm

Hey John,

I'm happy to hear you like your new GIVI AirFlow windshield. Makes me, really want one. Maybe some day soon, I hope. sunny

Thanks for taken the time to write a little something.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 25, 2010 11:32 pm

The Givi replaced Clearview, cut to see over with GoldWing vent, prior to that stock with laminar lip and ears......that combo didn't provide much buffeting relief. Clearview a little better, but not good enough for real riding, assuming you have standard to compare to. I do.

Givi will stay with bike until I get rid of....it is
09.....so always thinking of next one.


John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
Windrider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Windrider

Number of posts : 189
Age : 82
Location : EastTexas
Points : 4238
Registration date : 2010-07-05

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 26, 2010 2:44 pm

MikeO wrote:
It took me enough effort to write one - I'm not doing a new one for each set of fans on the net, Doug! Razz

Have you found the one with a UK supplier's link?

Embarassed Sorry, i won't ask again
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 26, 2010 4:31 pm

No apology needed, but thanks.

Doug's point was that he'd seen my review on several forums that we both frequent.
I'm happy to answer any specific questions about the screen although other members have given far more details than I have - I just think it's very, very good.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 26, 2010 4:57 pm

Windrider wrote:
MikeO wrote:
It took me enough effort to write one - I'm not doing a new one for each set of fans on the net, Doug! Razz

Have you found the one with a UK supplier's link?

Embarassed Sorry, i won't ask again

Sorry to cause confusion Windrider. As Mike said we both frequent several sites and I was having a humorous pop at Mike cut and paste skills.

It was by no means a response to anyone on this site and appologise for any confusion or distress it may have given. Sorry.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Guest
Guest



Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 27, 2010 5:15 am

for UK guys this is were i got my airflow from.£126
Rob.
http://www.bykebitz.co.uk/acatalog/Givi_Airflow_Screens.html
Back to top Go down
Laker
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 3
Age : 77
Location : Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Points : 4299
Registration date : 2009-10-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 18, 2010 2:54 pm

I bought the Airflow in early August after my former GIVI windshield broke.

Basically I’m pretty happy with it and recently put on about 2,000 miles in all kinds of weather including torrential downpours. I found that if I kept my speed above 110 kph (about 68 mph) that the rain went right over my head and didn’t land on me anywhere. Was feeling really great until an oncoming car went through a massive puddle and drenched me from head to toe! Oh well, no bike windshield is perfect.

But a month ago I was traveling up a deserted highway when I noticed something the size of a football moving on the side of the road. Before I could do anything the thing turned out to be a partridge and it flew up right in front of me. It struck the upper part of the Air-Flow and smashed it. I was lucky to keep the SWing under control. The partridge, apparently none the worse for wear, flew off into the bush.

When I got home I called the GIVI distributor in Canada and asked if an upper replacement was available. He wasn’t sure but when I called him back a few days later he indicated that they weren’t stocking replacement parts. WHAT…???!!! You gotta be kidding!

After several more phone calls to the distributor I was told that one of the high mucky-mucks was on his way to Italy and would look into the matter.

He returned a week ago and I still can’t get a clear answer.

But they did give me a part number… 076-Z1997R Cost is $68 Canadian. Very reasonable!

I also learned that all of the Airflow windshields regardless if they are for the SilverWing, BMW, Piaggio, Suzuki or a Yamaha, all share the identical upper windscreen.

As many of you know the Airflow arrives in two boxes. I pointed out to the GIVI rep that all he’d have to do is walk back into the factory, break open the large box and remove the smaller one. He indicated today he still has not received permission to do that. I further pointed out this is likely their slow season so cannibalizing one of the boxes shouldn’t be a big problem.

Over the past two years I’ve spent over $1,200 Canadian on GIVI goodies – a top box with brake lights and a side box, top rack and a side rack, plus two windshields. My brand loyalty is being rewarded with disinterest.

I wonder if GIVI USA treats its customers thus…?
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3081
Age : 82
Points : 7991
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Windshield   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 18, 2010 10:43 pm

I, too have spent a lot on Givi Stuff----call US GIVI direct and see what they can do...as long as you are willing to pay, you should get what you want. They sent me stuff I needed as my 500,000 box has had parts fall off over the years.



Now I have over 5,000 miles on the new adjustable shield---ok in rain, ok in fog looking over, terrible after 70 mph - -headwinds make it worse. Keep speed down ok. Does the best it can to oversome basic design flaw of scooter.


John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
russcarver
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
russcarver

Number of posts : 51
Location : Erie, CO (Denver area)
Points : 4191
Registration date : 2010-04-14

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Oct 20, 2010 11:25 am

Just took my 2nd ride today in cold temps here in Colorado (37 degrees this morning). Put in my silk glove liners, but my hands were still cold. Does anyone know if this windshield can help with that (as opposed to the stock windshield), or should I look for another solution?

Thanks!

--Russ
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Oct 20, 2010 11:41 am

Before heated grips all I used to use was a pair of multi layered silk inners and a pair of Gore Tex Alpinestar WR1 gloves and my digits rarely got cold.

Now I am spoilt by Mr Honda's excellent heated grips so don't bother with the glove liners any more.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Laker
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 3
Age : 77
Location : Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Points : 4299
Registration date : 2009-10-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 22, 2010 3:00 pm

Well, today I received the replacement upper windscreen for my AIRFLOW. I had asked the Canadian distributor way back in August but they screwed around all this time trying to decided if they would even offer replacement parts. I had to cajole them into stepping up to the plate.

So, again, the replacement part number is 076-Z1997R. Cost is $68 Canadian. Very reasonable!

And to those of you wondering about keeping your paws warm – the AIRFLOW does a better job than the stock factory windscreen and about the same as the older GIVI windscreen with the side wings.

This spring I installed a pair of hand guards that I saw on either this SWing site or the other one. A chap from England had found out that the left hand guard for a 1000cc Suzuki VStrom and the right hand guard for a 650 Suzuki VStrom fit with only minor modifications. I bought them from my local Suzuki dealer for about $100 Canadian, 13% taxes included. Contact me at ianross@sympatico.ca for instructions if you can’t find them on either SWing site. They look cool as well as being very functional.

My hands still get cold, but not nearly as much as when they were fully exposed to the wind. I live in Northern Ontario so it’s getting pretty cold right now.

Furthermore I found that wearing snowmobile mitts as opposed to gloves keeps my hands nice and toasty, but the hand guards definitely help a lot.

Won’t be too much longer before I have to put my ’06 away.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Oct 30, 2010 1:58 pm

Ordered my Givi airflow screen last night.

Sitting waiting now. Inane whistling and general strumming of fingers on table!!!!! Sleep

Is it me or is time going slow? Laughing
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Laker
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 3
Age : 77
Location : Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Points : 4299
Registration date : 2009-10-27

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Oct 30, 2010 2:14 pm

Waspie - be sure to install the two stainless steel brackets that come with the AIRFLOW. The instructions are hard to read, as are all GIVI instructions, but it's worth taking the time to do this as the brackets supprt the AIRFLOW properly.

Good luck!
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Oct 30, 2010 2:26 pm

Laker wrote:
Waspie - be sure to install the two stainless steel brackets that come with the AIRFLOW. The instructions are hard to read, as are all GIVI instructions, but it's worth taking the time to do this as the brackets supprt the AIRFLOW properly.

Good luck!

Thanks Laker, already made my mind up that I would be doing a full install, with brackets. Having disassembled the bike down I may as well spend a bit more time and do the whole job.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 69
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 6940
Registration date : 2009-07-26

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 08, 2010 4:38 pm

Givi AF214 arrived today. All I need now is my Wing back from the garage with a serviceable ignition barrel then I will be able to fit it.

Not expecting any problems after the wonderful advice and pictures you guys have supplied.

Givi - read this site and add the info on here to your fitting guide!!!!! Laughing Especially the pictures.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
ajay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 9
Location : SE Pennsylvania
Points : 3986
Registration date : 2010-09-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: GIVI AF214 drilling help needed   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 08, 2010 11:04 pm

bigbird wrote:
Wendell, don't give up. You will have to remove the large shiny bolt with stepped washer that attaches to the steel frame. That's one of the mounting points for the bracket. Do not re-use that big shiny bolt. You will use the round head GIVI bolt in that location. The other holes will align properly with the existing Honda mounting holes for the windshield. There is only 1 hole you will drill. With the bracket correctly aligned, you will see the bent part of the bracket is now towards the rear of the bike, and is angled inwards 45 degrees towards the the centre of the bike. You will drill through that angled hole. Behind that hole is a boss which holds the threads for the other GIVI bolt. That bolt is the socket head bolt as opposed to the pan head bolt.
Try again. As they say in the movie "The Waterboy", you can do it!


I am generally okay with things like this - but I am confused on the hole to drill.
The brackets that came with mine have an oblong hole on the angled end, not a perfectly round one. I understand that there is a boss somewhere and that the drilling is to gain access to attach the bracket there. I am not sure where to EXACTLY drill within the bracket hole, what size bit to use, and how deep to drill.
Sure would appreciate some guidance, I am afraid to screw up by drilling a little bit off.
Thanks
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2413
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 6729
Registration date : 2010-05-02

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 08, 2010 11:11 pm

xx


Last edited by bigbird on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
ajay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 9
Location : SE Pennsylvania
Points : 3986
Registration date : 2010-09-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 08, 2010 11:36 pm

bigbird wrote:
All the info is in this topic. Just start reading through from page 1.
Here's a snippet of what to expect:

"This is the easiest mod you'll do. You're only drilling through the tupperware. About 3 revolutions of the drill bit and you're through. As Clarinet said you can remove the top cover from the instrument panel to see the angle that you should drill. You need to line up the template holes with the bosses attached to the Swing frame."


Thanks Bigbird. Too late now (East Coast TIme). Tomorrow I will remove top cover to ensure I don't drill in wrong place, and complete install. It should be warm enough to ride tomorrow.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3451
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8086
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 09, 2010 5:22 am

I am a wimp; I freely admit it. I have all but lost my nerve when it comes to dismantling things, especially my Silverwing, so I avoid it as much as possible.

Therefore, unlike bigbird and others who haven't, I didn't take off the top cover but bolted-on the plate and eye-balled the angle for the hole.

Using the correct-size drill-bit I allowed the drill to find its own way through the plastic by pressing very gently on it and feeling when it just touched the metal underneath.

As they say, 'You pays yer money.......!' Wink
Back to top Go down
ajay
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 9
Location : SE Pennsylvania
Points : 3986
Registration date : 2010-09-18

Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review   Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 09, 2010 11:55 am

MikeO wrote:
I am a wimp; I freely admit it. I have all but lost my nerve when it comes to dismantling things, especially my Silverwing, so I avoid it as much as possible.

Therefore, unlike bigbird and others who haven't, I didn't take off the top cover but bolted-on the plate and eye-balled the angle for the hole.

Using the correct-size drill-bit I allowed the drill to find its own way through the plastic by pressing very gently on it and feeling when it just touched the metal underneath.

As they say, 'You pays yer money.......!' Wink


Installation done - perfect! Thanks everyone.

Going out riding . . .
Back to top Go down
 
Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review
Back to top 
Page 3 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 Similar topics
-
» ATV/SxS Illustrated Commander review
» Good 2009 Teryx review
» For sale dirty dawg adjustable clutch
» Removing scratches from Windshield
» RZMask Review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: