Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Rear brake issue,
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Today at 2:53 pm

» What mods would you for optimizing top end speed?
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby john grinsel Today at 11:29 am

» Hey everyone, I'm trying to set another record
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Erdoc48 Yesterday at 9:49 am

» March 2024 forum picture
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:55 pm

» fjs600 D5 This appears to be a jap import
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Fri Mar 01, 2024 12:10 pm

» Sidelight Bulbs
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Fri Mar 01, 2024 9:52 am

» Hello (Again) From Arizona
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby AzKicker Wed Feb 28, 2024 11:33 am

» Hello from Texas
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Wed Feb 28, 2024 6:03 am

» Hello from Devon, England
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby AzKicker Tue Feb 27, 2024 1:40 pm

» Corbin seat
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby AzKicker Mon Feb 26, 2024 11:25 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Valve Inspection

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 238
Age : 78
Location : Virginia
Points : 5754
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:13 pm

Hi all, I just finished checking the valve clearance Friday on my 2003 Silverwing and thought I'd post it for general information on the wear.
First inspection was at 7-19-2014 at 17,399 miles and the results are below.

Left intake---.007 and .007
Left exhaust-.010 and .009
Right intake-.007 and .007
Right exhaust-.009 and .009

This inspection: 6-19-2021 at 37,000 miles.

Left intake---.007 and .007 (same as 2014)
Left exhaust..010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in one valve)
Right intake-.007 and .007 (Same as 2014)
Right exhaust-.010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in both valves)

All readings are within spec. What it does show is that at least on my scooter, the exhaust valve components have opened up by .001 while the intake valve clearances remained the same.

Note: "Left" is the cylinder on the left side while sitting on the seat which is the #1 cylinder

I'll be rechecking these again somewhere around 60,000 miles.

I hope this info is helpful to some..Dickie
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel


Number of posts : 3289
Age : 84
Points : 9171
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:54 pm

Having ridden both new Silverwings I bought to each near 50,000 miles.....never bothered to check valve clearance, and had no toubles---50,000 miles is when I trade and let somebody else worry about any troubles coming.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa


Number of posts : 1375
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 4456
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 9:52 pm

Thanks for that report. Very few here have ever checked valve clearance or burned a valve so far. Good engine in SW despite it's high revving engine design with the CVT drive. Looser clearance is ok to a point but tight valves are trouble. Fresh oil helps with engine wear. Ride On
Back to top Go down
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 238
Age : 78
Location : Virginia
Points : 5754
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 20, 2021 9:30 am

Thanks for the comment Mech 1 twa. I totally agree with tight valves. Usually this is the valve pocketing either on the valve itself or the seat. Checking these valves is not all that hard. Most of the effort is removing the plastic. I won't hesitate to change the valve shim if I were to find one loose. It's pretty straight forward with the plastic off. Not everyone's cup of tea but I enjoy the garage time.
John has a great remedy in just ignoring it and buy another new scooter. And its pretty much proven these engines will run a very long time with minimal maintenance.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Valve Inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» So I took the bike for an inspection....
» Engine inspection
» Coolant Inspection
» Inspection on our Silverwings
»  Yearly Inspection

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: