Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Selling 2004 Dark Red 'Swing, 16.3k miles, $4000
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby RedCinema Yesterday at 11:13 am

» Replacement rear caliper
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby terryweasely Tue Jun 18, 2024 7:28 pm

» Looking to sell 2006 13500 miles
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby AldusFran Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:52 pm

» Poor fuel economy
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Sun Jun 16, 2024 10:10 pm

» Crumpled...........
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sat Jun 15, 2024 9:36 pm

» Looking for fehling saddle bag brackets for silverwing
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Rzor93 Fri Jun 14, 2024 2:05 pm

» Replacing center stand
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:15 pm

» May 2024 forum picture
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Mon Jun 10, 2024 2:13 pm

» Bettter halfs backrest?
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby sjg56k Sun Jun 09, 2024 9:51 am

» Delkevic, PC & Lg Saddlemen Top Case For Sale
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby landisr Sat Jun 08, 2024 12:27 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Valve Inspection

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 238
Age : 78
Location : Virginia
Points : 5864
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:13 pm

Hi all, I just finished checking the valve clearance Friday on my 2003 Silverwing and thought I'd post it for general information on the wear.
First inspection was at 7-19-2014 at 17,399 miles and the results are below.

Left intake---.007 and .007
Left exhaust-.010 and .009
Right intake-.007 and .007
Right exhaust-.009 and .009

This inspection: 6-19-2021 at 37,000 miles.

Left intake---.007 and .007 (same as 2014)
Left exhaust..010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in one valve)
Right intake-.007 and .007 (Same as 2014)
Right exhaust-.010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in both valves)

All readings are within spec. What it does show is that at least on my scooter, the exhaust valve components have opened up by .001 while the intake valve clearances remained the same.

Note: "Left" is the cylinder on the left side while sitting on the seat which is the #1 cylinder

I'll be rechecking these again somewhere around 60,000 miles.

I hope this info is helpful to some..Dickie
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel


Number of posts : 3304
Age : 85
Points : 9296
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:54 pm

Having ridden both new Silverwings I bought to each near 50,000 miles.....never bothered to check valve clearance, and had no toubles---50,000 miles is when I trade and let somebody else worry about any troubles coming.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa


Number of posts : 1382
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 4573
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 9:52 pm

Thanks for that report. Very few here have ever checked valve clearance or burned a valve so far. Good engine in SW despite it's high revving engine design with the CVT drive. Looser clearance is ok to a point but tight valves are trouble. Fresh oil helps with engine wear. Ride On
Back to top Go down
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 238
Age : 78
Location : Virginia
Points : 5864
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 20, 2021 9:30 am

Thanks for the comment Mech 1 twa. I totally agree with tight valves. Usually this is the valve pocketing either on the valve itself or the seat. Checking these valves is not all that hard. Most of the effort is removing the plastic. I won't hesitate to change the valve shim if I were to find one loose. It's pretty straight forward with the plastic off. Not everyone's cup of tea but I enjoy the garage time.
John has a great remedy in just ignoring it and buy another new scooter. And its pretty much proven these engines will run a very long time with minimal maintenance.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Valve Inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
»  Yearly Inspection
» So I took the bike for an inspection....
» Engine inspection
» Coolant Inspection
» Variator video and drive belt inspection

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: