Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Help. No head light
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Yesterday at 8:09 pm

» 2021 PCX150
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Chris Olson Fri Dec 03, 2021 10:39 am

» Missing my S/Wing
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Thu Dec 02, 2021 10:04 am

» hello Corbin "silverwinged" Sparrow
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby john grinsel Thu Dec 02, 2021 7:58 am

» Hello from SWFL
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Sid Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:41 pm

» December 2021 forum photo
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Michel Vachon Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:15 pm

» My recent ride.
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Wed Dec 01, 2021 8:02 am

» Under seat light and courtesy switch
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Tue Nov 30, 2021 3:50 pm

» Introduction
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Mon Nov 29, 2021 8:49 am

» A boomer of a ride.
Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:30 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Valve Inspection

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 233
Age : 76
Location : Virginia
Points : 4931
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:13 pm

Hi all, I just finished checking the valve clearance Friday on my 2003 Silverwing and thought I'd post it for general information on the wear.
First inspection was at 7-19-2014 at 17,399 miles and the results are below.

Left intake---.007 and .007
Left exhaust-.010 and .009
Right intake-.007 and .007
Right exhaust-.009 and .009

This inspection: 6-19-2021 at 37,000 miles.

Left intake---.007 and .007 (same as 2014)
Left exhaust..010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in one valve)
Right intake-.007 and .007 (Same as 2014)
Right exhaust-.010 and .010 (.001 greater clearance in both valves)

All readings are within spec. What it does show is that at least on my scooter, the exhaust valve components have opened up by .001 while the intake valve clearances remained the same.

Note: "Left" is the cylinder on the left side while sitting on the seat which is the #1 cylinder

I'll be rechecking these again somewhere around 60,000 miles.

I hope this info is helpful to some..Dickie
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel


Number of posts : 3118
Age : 82
Points : 8162
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 4:54 pm

Having ridden both new Silverwings I bought to each near 50,000 miles.....never bothered to check valve clearance, and had no toubles---50,000 miles is when I trade and let somebody else worry about any troubles coming.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa


Number of posts : 1175
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 3430
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 19, 2021 9:52 pm

Thanks for that report. Very few here have ever checked valve clearance or burned a valve so far. Good engine in SW despite it's high revving engine design with the CVT drive. Looser clearance is ok to a point but tight valves are trouble. Fresh oil helps with engine wear. Ride On
Back to top Go down
dickie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
dickie


Number of posts : 233
Age : 76
Location : Virginia
Points : 4931
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Valve Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Valve Inspection   Valve Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 20, 2021 9:30 am

Thanks for the comment Mech 1 twa. I totally agree with tight valves. Usually this is the valve pocketing either on the valve itself or the seat. Checking these valves is not all that hard. Most of the effort is removing the plastic. I won't hesitate to change the valve shim if I were to find one loose. It's pretty straight forward with the plastic off. Not everyone's cup of tea but I enjoy the garage time.
John has a great remedy in just ignoring it and buy another new scooter. And its pretty much proven these engines will run a very long time with minimal maintenance.
Back to top Go down
 
Valve Inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» valve adjustments
» 16HP oppossed twin valve adjustment
» Pitch Inspection
» Removing Valve Retainers
» SUPER GLUE fixes valve stem

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: