Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» fuel pump issue
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Yesterday at 9:10 pm

» fitting taper roller bearings to headstock and adjustment
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Yesterday at 8:49 pm

» Belt advice.
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby cello33 Yesterday at 5:11 pm

» Hi from NZ
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Yesterday at 4:48 pm

» Wobbly front end
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby The Dude Yesterday at 2:37 pm

» Ignition Switch
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby DickO Yesterday at 10:30 am

» 1100 Rebel DCT.
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby The Dude Yesterday at 12:44 am

» Miss Beatrice
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Thu May 19, 2022 10:42 pm

» Questions - Full fuel tank drained out last night!
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Thu May 19, 2022 10:01 pm

» Almost a barn find
 Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Thu May 19, 2022 6:47 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

  Yearly Inspection

Go down 
+14
Waspie
wis-rider
tankyuong
kyouteki
SilverwingInIdaho
compguy
cjuzda
redeye
the7smiths
tubeck
bigbird
john123
MikeO
"Hi Yo"
18 posters
AuthorMessage
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
 Yearly Inspection 510-80


Number of posts : 2941
Age : 73
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7643
Registration date : 2010-02-17

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 2:36 am

Well, it was time for the yearly rip off ( I mean inspection; don't want to malign my fine legislators). Anyway, I checked the scooter over,( lights,horn,tires,etc) and off I went. I tried last week, but the station had no inspection stickers. He said they made no money on bike inspections and very few places do them. He might have some this week. I went by and he was closed for lunch so I went to another place farther away. They had stickers. First question: "You have cash?" Next: "Oh, a scooter. They don't go very fast. Just pull up in the shade so I can see the brake lights and hit the horn. OK, now I'll get the sticker and you give me $14.50." I'm sure glad I checked that horn ahead of time. Smile Anyway, I'm all legal for another year. small moped
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3624
Age : 72
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8563
Registration date : 2009-06-29

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 5:06 am

One better/worse than here - there's no annual test for bikes in Belgium. Shocked
Back to top Go down
john123
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
john123


Number of posts : 133
Age : 74
Location : Santa Barbara California
Points : 4652
Registration date : 2010-02-21

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 9:28 am

Nor in Beautfull California. If you can afford to live her. There are taxes on everyrhing else but motorcycles.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2401
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 7005
Registration date : 2010-05-02

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 10:19 am

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
tubeck
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 85
Age : 69
Location : Ft Pierce fl
Points : 4049
Registration date : 2011-08-10

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 11:14 am

Florida no inspections either. If you can drag it down the road, they will leave you alone
Back to top Go down
the7smiths
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
the7smiths


Number of posts : 33
Location : Utah, USA
Points : 4094
Registration date : 2011-04-28

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 4:26 pm

Utah has inspections every year. They look at lights, horn, and tires - kinda like they do with the cars. The only difference is that motorcycles are exempt from emissions test requirements and supposedly our taxes and registration fees are less.
Back to top Go down
http://www.awiseplan.com
redeye
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 161
Location : Transylvania County, North Carolina
Points : 4414
Registration date : 2010-10-13

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 8:59 pm

Maryland requires a vehicle inspection only for initial titling. After that, you're good to go indefinitely.
Back to top Go down
cjuzda
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 133
Location : Ontario, Canada
Points : 4196
Registration date : 2011-05-16

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 9:17 pm

In Ontario every time a vehicle, including motor cycles or scooters, changes hands (sold) it must be "safetied" which is a basic safety inspection. Older vehicles currently have to pass an emissions test every 2 years but that does not apply to motorcycles or scooters
Back to top Go down
compguy
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
compguy


Number of posts : 98
Age : 75
Location : Winter Haven, Fla
Points : 4405
Registration date : 2010-10-11

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 14, 2011 9:26 pm

Iowa don't have any inspections that I know of. When I lived in Vermont they did on cars but at that time I wasn't riding any bike.
Back to top Go down
SilverwingInIdaho
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 155
Points : 4127
Registration date : 2011-08-23

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 18, 2011 11:07 pm

No inspections in Idaho. I think Inspections and Mechanical condition is between me and my Mechanic. Not the State's business.

Back to top Go down
kyouteki
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
kyouteki


Number of posts : 20
Age : 36
Location : Wichita, KS
Points : 3963
Registration date : 2011-08-10

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 24, 2011 10:30 am

We only have inspections in Kansas if you're trying to title an out-of-state vehicle, and that is only really to verify the stamped VIN.

I wouldn't have to test the horn before-hand, though - I have to use it nearly every time I ride! Cagers over here have no respect for two-wheelers...
Back to top Go down
http://www.samuelmcconnell.com
tankyuong
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
tankyuong


Number of posts : 475
Age : 47
Location : Missouri
Points : 5382
Registration date : 2009-07-12

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 24, 2011 9:01 pm

every other year here.
Back to top Go down
wis-rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
wis-rider


Number of posts : 154
Age : 76
Location : St. Nazianz, WI
Points : 4323
Registration date : 2010-12-31

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 24, 2011 9:17 pm

No inspection in Wisconsin.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7232
Registration date : 2009-07-26

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 25, 2011 2:45 pm

You guys don't want to live in the UK then.

Once a vehicle, car or bike reaches its third anniversary from date of purchase we have the 'MOT,' Ministry Of Transport test. It is quite thorough at most garages, if you know where to go you can get past most main obstacles, (usually emissions.) However, as with most things in life - you get what you pay for.

The other crippler with our MOT. You have to have an MOT certificate by law, but there is a little get out of jail free card for the department in that it states your vehicle was legal at the time of the test and if stopped for any reason then your current certificate is not a guarantee of mechanical serviceability.

Talk about rip off.!! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
tarmacburner2


Number of posts : 1099
Age : 68
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 5618
Registration date : 2010-03-27

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 25, 2011 3:16 pm

Waspie,

I had a car pass it MOT and the following week one of the brake light bulbs blew. I went back to the MOT station but was told the MOT isn't a twelve month guarantee. How annoying is that? (slightly tongue in cheek :lol!: )

It is an inspection, by law they cannot fix something whilst the vehicle is undergoing the test.

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Waspie


Number of posts : 2392
Age : 70
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 7232
Registration date : 2009-07-26

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 25, 2011 3:36 pm

tmb, you are of course quite right, it is an 'inspection' and not a 'test.

It's still a rip off.

I did hear rumour that they were thinking of;

1. possibly changing the inspection period to every two years.

2. changing the start point from year three to year five.

All seems to have died a death.
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Opalsboy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Opalsboy


Number of posts : 1288
Age : 77
Location : Rison, Arkansas
Points : 6355
Registration date : 2009-01-10

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 25, 2011 3:46 pm

Big Bird Said..: Sounds like a great place to live, as long as you don't mind long, cold winters. We can't ride from early November to early April. I add... July to September if temp is above 100 F Razz

Enjoy the nice weather while you have it. It is really nice here now too. (Finally).

Arkansas has no inspections now. Had them for several years but discontinued them about 15 years ago. I see a lot more junkers on road now.
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
tarmacburner2


Number of posts : 1099
Age : 68
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 5618
Registration date : 2010-03-27

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 25, 2011 4:55 pm

Waspie,

Probably the MOT testing garages realised a possible drop in revenue. It wouldn't have been dropped if they could have increased their rip-off scheme.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
scootingranny
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 21
Points : 4110
Registration date : 2011-03-15

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 27, 2011 10:39 pm

Hi YO....had a really, really tough week here and your post just made me grin. At your expense, sorry, but also being in North Texas, I understand. Thanks for the smile
Back to top Go down
thornev
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 15
Location : Hudson Valley NY
Points : 2187
Registration date : 2016-06-13

 Yearly Inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection    Yearly Inspection I_icon_minitimeMon Jun 13, 2016 6:05 pm

Anyone know if New York requires annual inspections on the Silver Wing?  I bought mine yesterday and there is no inspection sticker on it.

UPDATE - yeah, it looks like NY requires annual inspection.
Back to top Go down
 
Yearly Inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» SWing Yearly Production Statistics
» Coolant Inspection
» Inspection on our Silverwings
» Help Finding Pre Purchase Inspection Services
» Engine inspection

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: