Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Selling 2004 Dark Red 'Swing, 16.3k miles, $4000
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby RedCinema Today at 5:22 pm

» Spark Plug removal and replacement Pictorial
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby gustav Today at 2:43 pm

» Replacement rear caliper
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby terryweasely Tue Jun 18, 2024 7:28 pm

» Looking to sell 2006 13500 miles
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby AldusFran Tue Jun 18, 2024 2:52 pm

» Poor fuel economy
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Sun Jun 16, 2024 10:10 pm

» Crumpled...........
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sat Jun 15, 2024 9:36 pm

» Looking for fehling saddle bag brackets for silverwing
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Rzor93 Fri Jun 14, 2024 2:05 pm

» Replacing center stand
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:15 pm

» May 2024 forum picture
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Mon Jun 10, 2024 2:13 pm

» Bettter halfs backrest?
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby sjg56k Sun Jun 09, 2024 9:51 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Engine inspection

Go down 
+2
Meldrew
Lugwrench
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Lugwrench
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 37
Age : 78
Location : Columbus, Ohio
Points : 2219
Registration date : 2018-08-15

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2020 12:01 pm

Hello all and Happy New Year.
I need to inspect my engine on swing and am curious about how difficult and how much do I remove just to get a good look at engine. Still chasing a oil leak. too damm old to look underneath.
any thoughts from the gurus.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 4187
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 9261
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2020 12:26 pm

Happy New Year. An easy way of looking underneath the Silver Wing for leaks is placing a cheapo mirror tile on the floor under the engine, and shining an inspection lamp or LED torch up around where you want to look at. I've got a long plastic IKEA mirror tile I use and it works great still with it's protective wrapper on.
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2658
Age : 81
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 8244
Registration date : 2009-07-17

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 02, 2020 12:01 am

Hey Lugwrench, at your advanced age you need a Harbor Freight bike lift. I got one several year ago. It's been a great boon to this old geezer, I've had several Goldwings up on it, as well as my K1100LTs and the Silver Wing, C650GT, Burgman and a scattering of Chinese scooters. No more difficulties getting down on the floor to adjust things and change oil. Even makes checking pressure in the rear tire on the Silverwing easy.

One hint for that rear tire pressure checking. Get a pair of hex type tire valve caps, and then a socket with an extension that will fit them. That will make getting that cap on and off the valve stem with ease. Use a Truck type valve adapter on you air source and you're all set to make that job a snap.

https://www.amazon.com/Valve-Loc-Universal-Motorcycles-Heavy-Duty-Light-Weight/dp/B07KN542B2?psc=1&SubscriptionId=AKIAILSHYYTFIVPWUY6Q&tag=duckduckgo-ffnt-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B07KN542B2

https://www.amazon.com/CZC-AUTO-Inflatable-Compatible-Accessories/dp/B07QNNDBLQ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=22FSELKKX4LR2&keywords=tire+inflator+extension&qid=1577941262&s=automotive&sprefix=tir+inflator+e%2Cautomotive%2C240&sr=1-3
Back to top Go down
Sepp
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 126
Location : west of the Sahara
Points : 1863
Registration date : 2019-10-09

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2020 7:40 pm

maybe my blog post can be of assistance to give you an idea where is what.
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/2019/11/honda-swt-400-propulsion-unit-and-naked.html
Back to top Go down
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2658
Age : 81
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 8244
Registration date : 2009-07-17

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2020 9:32 pm

I felt a little embarrassed looking at some of those pictures that verged on racy.
Back to top Go down
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 1936
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 5208
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 05, 2020 10:39 am

Smile mirror mirror on the floor
lets you see
a whole lot more.

And a mirror on a stick will certainly do the trick.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa


Number of posts : 1382
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 4573
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 05, 2020 7:57 pm

Mirror on the celling lets you see a whole lot more just depends on your position. What were we talking about? Smile
Back to top Go down
Sepp
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 126
Location : west of the Sahara
Points : 1863
Registration date : 2019-10-09

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 06, 2020 7:06 am

How do you inspect an engine with a mirror on the floor? the only thing you might see is some oil.
Remove the service flap and take out the spark plugs, take off the transmission cover so you can rotate the driving pulley and put a camera down the cylinder.
One of the first things I did, but forgot to rotate the pistons so I could have a longer viewing area.
So I saw only to top of the pistons and not the cylinder side wall. (Next time)
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/2019/11/honda-swt-400-personal-log.html#more
Back to top Go down
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 1936
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 5208
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 06, 2020 7:20 am

That's good Sepp but he is only looking for an external oil leak, if the source isn't EZ to spot by just looking without raising the bike mirrors make the job easier for sure.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Engine inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
»  Yearly Inspection
» Valve Inspection
» Coolant Inspection
» Inspection on our Silverwings
» So I took the bike for an inspection....

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: