Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Fuel pump not making any noise?
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Kilroykarr Yesterday at 10:09 pm

» How can the brake delay be tested?
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Yesterday at 8:32 pm

» Clicking Noise from Front Brake
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Yesterday at 1:31 pm

» 12 Volt Power Install without removing Tupperware
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Yesterday at 7:26 am

» Sold the Silverwing.
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Sat Mar 06, 2021 5:49 pm

» New Member
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby sc00ter Fri Mar 05, 2021 10:02 am

» Full LED upgrade
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby FrancoisJ Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:56 am

» Gotta do my own service....
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

» Video test post #2 via Direct YouTube link
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Wed Mar 03, 2021 9:47 pm

» Huh? What'd you? say
Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeby johnd Wed Mar 03, 2021 9:22 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Engine inspection

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lugwrench
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 34
Age : 74
Location : Columbus, Ohio
Points : 1011
Registration date : 2018-08-15

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2020 12:01 pm

Hello all and Happy New Year.
I need to inspect my engine on swing and am curious about how difficult and how much do I remove just to get a good look at engine. Still chasing a oil leak. too damm old to look underneath.
any thoughts from the gurus.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3610
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7471
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2020 12:26 pm

Happy New Year. An easy way of looking underneath the Silver Wing for leaks is placing a cheapo mirror tile on the floor under the engine, and shining an inspection lamp or LED torch up around where you want to look at. I've got a long plastic IKEA mirror tile I use and it works great still with it's protective wrapper on.
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2658
Age : 78
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 7043
Registration date : 2009-07-17

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 02, 2020 12:01 am

Hey Lugwrench, at your advanced age you need a Harbor Freight bike lift. I got one several year ago. It's been a great boon to this old geezer, I've had several Goldwings up on it, as well as my K1100LTs and the Silver Wing, C650GT, Burgman and a scattering of Chinese scooters. No more difficulties getting down on the floor to adjust things and change oil. Even makes checking pressure in the rear tire on the Silverwing easy.

One hint for that rear tire pressure checking. Get a pair of hex type tire valve caps, and then a socket with an extension that will fit them. That will make getting that cap on and off the valve stem with ease. Use a Truck type valve adapter on you air source and you're all set to make that job a snap.

https://www.amazon.com/Valve-Loc-Universal-Motorcycles-Heavy-Duty-Light-Weight/dp/B07KN542B2?psc=1&SubscriptionId=AKIAILSHYYTFIVPWUY6Q&tag=duckduckgo-ffnt-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B07KN542B2

https://www.amazon.com/CZC-AUTO-Inflatable-Compatible-Accessories/dp/B07QNNDBLQ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=22FSELKKX4LR2&keywords=tire+inflator+extension&qid=1577941262&s=automotive&sprefix=tir+inflator+e%2Cautomotive%2C240&sr=1-3
Back to top Go down
Sepp
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 126
Location : west of the Sahara
Points : 662
Registration date : 2019-10-09

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2020 7:40 pm

maybe my blog post can be of assistance to give you an idea where is what.
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/2019/11/honda-swt-400-propulsion-unit-and-naked.html
Back to top Go down
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 2658
Age : 78
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 7043
Registration date : 2009-07-17

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2020 9:32 pm

I felt a little embarrassed looking at some of those pictures that verged on racy.
Back to top Go down
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 1741
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 3804
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 05, 2020 10:39 am

Smile mirror mirror on the floor
lets you see
a whole lot more.

And a mirror on a stick will certainly do the trick.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa

Number of posts : 1022
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 2990
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 05, 2020 7:57 pm

Mirror on the celling lets you see a whole lot more just depends on your position. What were we talking about? Smile
Back to top Go down
Sepp
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 126
Location : west of the Sahara
Points : 662
Registration date : 2019-10-09

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 06, 2020 7:06 am

How do you inspect an engine with a mirror on the floor? the only thing you might see is some oil.
Remove the service flap and take out the spark plugs, take off the transmission cover so you can rotate the driving pulley and put a camera down the cylinder.
One of the first things I did, but forgot to rotate the pistons so I could have a longer viewing area.
So I saw only to top of the pistons and not the cylinder side wall. (Next time)
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/2019/11/honda-swt-400-personal-log.html#more
Back to top Go down
https://hosiwi.blogspot.com/
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 1741
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 3804
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Engine inspection Empty
PostSubject: Re: Engine inspection   Engine inspection I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 06, 2020 7:20 am

That's good Sepp but he is only looking for an external oil leak, if the source isn't EZ to spot by just looking without raising the bike mirrors make the job easier for sure.
Back to top Go down
 
Engine inspection
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» RCGF 45cc Petrol Engine
» Tecumseh engine
» How man cc is an 11hp engine?
» Poss. sale of 09 RZR "S" engine
» Air Filters 101: Why, when and how to service my engine¬ís air filter

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: