Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Replacing center stand
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:15 pm

» May 2024 forum picture
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Mon Jun 10, 2024 2:13 pm

» Bettter halfs backrest?
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby sjg56k Sun Jun 09, 2024 9:51 am

» Delkevic, PC & Lg Saddlemen Top Case For Sale
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby landisr Sat Jun 08, 2024 12:27 pm

» Year of production?
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby terryweasely Fri Jun 07, 2024 7:12 pm

» Belt rollers
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby steve_h80 Thu Jun 06, 2024 2:57 am

» Looking for fehling saddle bag brackets for silverwing
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Wed Jun 05, 2024 2:40 pm

» Hello from Ohio
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby sjg56k Wed Jun 05, 2024 9:56 am

» Malossi Exhaust for the Honda Silverwing 600 SALE
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby Delray Tue Jun 04, 2024 8:54 pm

» Headlight (Low and High) won't turn on
Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeby Aryassen Tue Jun 04, 2024 4:38 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Opinions Wanted

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
chaajoad
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 4
Location : Poulsbo WA
Points : 3025
Registration date : 2016-03-12

Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Opinions Wanted   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 12, 2023 1:16 am

Hi - I have a 2006 Silverwing that hasn't been on the road for maybe 3 years. Being a Honda, it still starts (with a jump) and idles smoothly, It's very low mileage. My garage is getting crowded and messy but ... I liked riding it as a commuter bike (I also have a Harley Fatboy) and with gas back up to near $5 levels here, the economy would helpful.

Something has seized up the rear tire. It was working fine last time I rode it. Might be a seized brake. Maybe something more serious. I'm not at all a guy who can wrench on it so I'd have to somehow get it to a shop. The rear tire won't budge so it might take three strong dudes to get on my trailer.

I know the repair will most likely be costly and we're doing ok but spare cash is a bit tight. I'm looking for your thoughts on - should I go to the expense of fixing it or should I get out of it? I'm ok with selling it but I don't think I can ask for much.

What's your take? Thamks ...
Back to top Go down
JohnyC
Touring Scooter Rider
Touring Scooter Rider
JohnyC


Number of posts : 308
Age : 71
Location : Bristol, UK
Points : 854
Registration date : 2022-12-23

Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 12, 2023 5:06 am

Hi chaajoad.

Might be too obvious but have you remembered to release the hand brake ?

Failing that it sounds like a rear brake seized on, either the hand brake or the rear brake caliper pistons stuck on.

Hope this helps.

Be safe, be seen!
Back to top Go down
Erdoc48
Touring Scooter Rider
Touring Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 353
Age : 60
Location : Myrtle Beach, SC
Points : 1109
Registration date : 2022-05-31

Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 12, 2023 12:07 pm

Personal opinion…a rear caliper repair or replacement likely would not be an extreme amount of $$$ to fix, then you have a good runner (post new battery of course)- try to sell it needing work, even minor work is going to lower the price quite a bit- fix it and ride, or fix it and sell, but command a higher price (assuming all else is in decent shape).
Back to top Go down
Grambazz
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 18
Age : 63
Location : Rawdon, Leeds, West Yorks
Points : 2103
Registration date : 2018-10-04

Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Seized rear wheel.   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeMon Aug 21, 2023 5:21 pm

Hi,
It's probably one or both of the rear calipers that needs attention.
Mine did the same thing.
Try starting it and revving it up to free the brakes temporarily.
This, if it works, will give you opportunity to ride it carefully to the shop, remembering to only use the front brake.
All the best!
Back to top Go down
abel316
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 21
Location : Polk County, FL
Points : 678
Registration date : 2022-08-30

Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 26, 2023 10:24 am

If has been running well, I would fix it. The SW is a good reliable bike.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Opinions Wanted Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions Wanted   Opinions Wanted I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions Wanted
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Opinions wanted on mixing Dr Pulley sliders.
» WANTED - Givi P206 Rack - WANTED
» Greetings, and opinions please...
» side car opinions
» Givi V46 opinions

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: