Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Belt Replacement
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby oldwingguy Today at 5:31 am

» Hello from woodstock ontario canada .
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Today at 3:31 am

» It’s got great brakes.
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Yesterday at 8:46 pm

» Clicking Noise from Front Brake
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Yesterday at 7:57 pm

» Corbin Seat and Backrest in Denver
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby holwagerj Yesterday at 11:52 am

» Introduction and pgm-fi trouble
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Yesterday at 6:34 am

» Forza gripes!
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby JamieB Mon May 10, 2021 2:01 pm

» Pgm fi trouble
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Mon May 10, 2021 6:36 am

» New guy from oslo
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Mon May 10, 2021 6:18 am

» Replacing front indicator bulb. How?
Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeby MarkF Mon May 10, 2021 4:38 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Opinions of my SWing

Go down 
AuthorMessage
VictorLouis
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 70
Location : Phoenix, Aridzona
Points : 485
Registration date : 2020-04-26

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeWed May 20, 2020 4:02 pm

1) OMG, shield my eyes!
2) Meh, it's not me. But O/K
3) I like it somewhat
4) I'd consider doing that

These are the reflective strips from the "mailbox" accessories wall in Lowe's.
Also, I believe the brighter reds, yellows, and whites are for use on trailers.


Opinions of my SWing 20200510[/url]
Opinions of my SWing Left_r10
Opinions of my SWing Left10Opinions of my SWing Right_10
Opinions of my SWing Right10


Last edited by VictorLouis on Wed May 20, 2020 6:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 1806
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 3938
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeWed May 20, 2020 5:06 pm

Night time reflective photos would be nice. I use the white on my white truck, they really get noticed when headlights hit them.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa

Number of posts : 1084
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 3119
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeWed May 20, 2020 6:34 pm

I don't know? Do you want this for night riding?  There's another option that will blend in and still be great a night. Opinions of my SWing Tape10

Tape reflects white at night.
Back to top Go down
VictorLouis
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 70
Location : Phoenix, Aridzona
Points : 485
Registration date : 2020-04-26

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeWed May 20, 2020 6:40 pm

Well, night-riding is certainly the better part of it. But I've seen how black bikes blend in with black and gray roads,  and shadows cast out over the road from buildings, trees, sound-walls, etc. Heck, look how that pops out in the last photo of the above array. Bike was parked in the shade at my bank.


Opinions of my SWing Rear14
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa

Number of posts : 1084
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 3119
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeWed May 20, 2020 8:16 pm

Visibility. It works many wear green or orange vests over their gear to stand out. Better to be seen than not. I always buy a white helmet for the same reasons stands out for sure.

The only opinion that matters is yours. Ride ON. Smile That bike is way to clean ride it.

Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3680
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7604
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeThu May 21, 2020 6:06 am

Personally I'd say the whole road presence thing is down to the riders ability and attitude, not decking his bike or maxi scooter up like a Christmas tree. My Forza has full LED lights, white LED eyebrow running lights, amber LED running/indicator lights, and a large red LED rear light that is also visible from the sides. So no add ons, bolt ons, or stick ons are necessary.

Now any other road user that fails to visually spot that light display shouldn't be driving, and I always have the mindset that everyone else on the road is a dickhead, and I've chosen that word for politeness.

My helmets have reflective panels on them, and my riding suits, gloves, and boots also have reflective material on them. All my rain gear is hi-vis yellow, and I'll wear a hi-vis yellow or hi-viz red vest on top of a jacket 05.21.2020when the mood suits.

Not because I'm paranoid about not being visible, simply because in bad light, rainy conditions and at night all that hi-vis and reflective stuff lights up in headlight beams and shows a larger area of illuminated rider profile than if I wasn't wearing it..

Then in an accident situation when blame is being apportioned, at least me or my legal rep can argue the case that both scooter and rider were highly visible and conspicuous at the time, and and the other party is at fault.

With the added bonus of ticking all the be safe, be seen boxes, an insurance company will find it harder to make excuses to weasel their way out of their responsibilities.


Last edited by Meldrew on Thu May 21, 2020 9:30 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 1966
Age : 68
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 5436
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeThu May 21, 2020 7:08 am

I have used the 3M white reflective tape on my scoot for years. On the forks, rear and on my top-case. Works well and doesn't deteriorate, but then my scoot is garaged or in a carport so... This is fine for me as I seldom use it at night.

The more visible we are the better IMHO.
Back to top Go down
Loosemarbles
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Loosemarbles

Number of posts : 684
Location : South East England
Points : 2440
Registration date : 2016-10-01

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeFri May 22, 2020 9:08 am

I understand that reflective strips on crash helmets are required by law in France.

I don't have them on mine and I've never been stopped while riding over there but then I only rode during daylight!?
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3680
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7604
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeFri May 22, 2020 10:07 am

They seem to have had regulations about reflective stickers on helmets in France since the Seventies. I bought an Italian Nava full face helmet from a stand at the 1979 Bol D'or 24 hrs Race at Paul Ricard, and it had these nifty stickers front and sides that were half silver reflective,  and half hi-vis orange. In use the Nava was a pretty rubbish helmet.

I bought a Shoei full face in Andorra a few years later and that had similar half reflective, half high vis stickers on it. (I dumped the Nava in a handy rubbish skip) These combination stickers were also on sale in bike shops.

On my last few visits to France 🇫🇷 they still have stickers on helmets but they're usually plain reflective silver or black. I've got French made black reflective stickers on my matt black Schuberth E1 open face helmet. They blend in so well with the paint job that they're hard to notice until the lights hits them.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa

Number of posts : 1084
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 3119
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeFri May 22, 2020 6:47 pm

Glued this to my helmet and it worked great. Opinions of my SWing Red_jf11

Traffic move to side and I could just fly by.  Laughing  My neck will never be the same.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3413
Age : 71
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7962
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Opinions of my SWing Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions of my SWing   Opinions of my SWing I_icon_minitimeMon May 25, 2020 8:59 am

I bought these for my crash-helmets:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/6041346519/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I also subscribe to the view that my wearing HiViz while on the Silverwing - and I have a HiViz tabard on when I ride my bicycle - may help other road-users see me and, as Meldrew said, goes in my favour legally if I do get hit.

Incidentally, my Nolan N43 is day-glo yellow and, I'm told, can be seen for miles!
Back to top Go down
 
Opinions of my SWing
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Different between "Stack and Tilt" swing and "Right side swing".
» Unpopular Wrestling Opinions
» New Minelab PRO-SWING 45 Metal Detector Harness - Free shipping for August!
» Opinions on Deflate-Gate?
» Minelab PRO-SWING 45

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: