Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Weight Distribution Questions
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Today at 10:32 am

» Hello again from Florida
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Today at 9:45 am

» Remove Before Flight
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby bikerboy Today at 8:07 am

» Happy ******* Xmas !
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Today at 7:08 am

» Rebuilding 1981 Honda CB900F (Bol d Or)
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby PeteP Yesterday at 9:56 pm

» December2020 photo
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby exavid Yesterday at 12:24 am

» possible top end rebuild needed at 60k
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Thu Dec 03, 2020 9:39 pm

» Dr Pulley Sale Announcement
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby Leena H Thu Dec 03, 2020 6:40 am

» Warning lights coming on
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:20 pm

» 2011 Swing trike for sale (VA)
Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:35 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Givi V46 opinions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Alchik
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 6
Location : Chattanooga, TN
Points : 33
Registration date : 2020-11-12

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 1:57 pm

Hi,

I'm planning on taking some long overnight trips and was thinking of adding a Givi V46 top case. Will that look and feel ok on the scooter? Just don't want to get something that's too big to be practical.

Also, are they as durable as I've been reading they are? Any other top cases I should be considering?

Thanks...
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3594
Age : 77
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 8354
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 2:56 pm

Hello Al. Welcome to the forum.

Givi is top quality stuff. Many folks here have top cases larger than V46. So I guess you’ll be okay with a 46 L top case if that fills your needs.

Also, many here have upgraded the notoriously inadequate OEM windscreen to a Givi AF214 screen which is both larger and height adjustable. There is also the less expensive Givi D214 windscreen with is larger but non adjustable.
Back to top Go down
Alchik
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 6
Location : Chattanooga, TN
Points : 33
Registration date : 2020-11-12

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 3:04 pm

Thanks for the info Tim! Very helpful. Do you happen to know what larger case most folks are going with?
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3359
Age : 71
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7748
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 3:25 pm

I have a now obsolete E52; it isn't too big and I'd replace it with a bigger Givi if I had to.
I doubt it'll wear out, though
Back to top Go down
gustav
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 104
Age : 68
Location : Davenport, Iowa
Points : 715
Registration date : 2019-04-13

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 3:50 pm

I have a 46L Givi Monokey, purchased the back-pad at the same time. Silverwing is the only bike the wife will ride with me. We both love it, looks big, but I never take mine off. Also installed a cut down D-214 wind screen.
Back to top Go down
sonuvabug
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
sonuvabug

Number of posts : 496
Location : Mid-Western Ontario Canada
Points : 4293
Registration date : 2010-09-15

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 5:27 pm

We've had a Givi V46 for about 12 years now on two different scoots. It has the optional backrest and top rack. I installed custom LED lights years ago before they had a decent set available for this case. It has stood up very well with the exception of some delamination on the little, round red lenses. Not sure why there only ... maybe UV decomposition? If I was worried about it, I'd take it apart, sand and prep them and then apply a new final clear coat. However, I'm not that worried about it.

FYI - GIVI's Monokey line is made of thicker guage PolyPro than their Monolock line. The GIVI cases go up to around 55 litres in size capacity ... I like some of the newer ones with the angular lines and I think they'd match the SWing pretty well. KAPPA is GIVI's sister line made in the same manufacturing facility.

There are also other brands of cases that members have used with success. I'll let them chime in and tell their stories.
Back to top Go down
Alchik
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 6
Location : Chattanooga, TN
Points : 33
Registration date : 2020-11-12

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 7:15 pm

Great info guys! Thanks so much!
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Site Admin
Dale N.

Number of posts : 1594
Age : 74
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 4200
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 8:49 pm

Hi Alchik, I have the Givi V56 on mine but I have a SWing trike. My previous Givi topbox was about the same size but not really sure of the model and size. It looked about the same. I had that one on my SWing when I had only two wheels and it handled great.
Back to top Go down
PeteP
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 51
Location : New Mexico
Points : 153
Registration date : 2020-08-31

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 12, 2020 9:41 pm

Al,
My Givi case (46L) with rack and backrest came with the Swing when I bought it. A great case in my opinion. I keep my rain suit and electric vest stored in with plenty of room left over to pack other stuff when needed. I’ve had cheap Chinese cases on my Concours and they are night and day compared to each other, no way the cheap case was comparable. I think I’ll add lights to mine.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3572
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7340
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 4:50 am

The bigger the better works for me, there's a Givi E52 on a shelf in my garage that I used for years and it stored two full face helmets, a load of groceries, or the overnight pack with my stuff for a night on an overnight ferry.

I replaced it with a Givi E55 with smoked grey reflectors to match the rear lights on the Silver Wing. I like the E55 more as it has basically the same dimensions as the E52 with the extra 3 litres due to it's slightly taller height.

The E55 is now a permanent fixture on my Forza, it doesn’t look out of place on a more compact sportier looking maxi. In fact it looks a lot better and is more useful than the over priced colour matched 45 litre top box Honda sells for the Forza.

... and that Go Cruise throttle control I've never felt necessary to use is still stored in the lid pocket of the E55.
Back to top Go down
Lenny
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 35
Location : Uk
Points : 489
Registration date : 2019-09-08

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 7:51 am

Have had the same Givi E52 on my last 8 bikes, slightly battered, (never fell off though 😂), I'm used to it so can't say wether it looks to big.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2978
Age : 81
Points : 7640
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 7:58 am

My E-46, made 1998, I think, has over 500,000 miles and still going strong--hole cut in top for dog's head. Worked fine on my 2 SilverWings with Givi rack. Now bolted direct to Kymco rear wing/rail. Dog likes it.
Back to top Go down
Lenny
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 35
Location : Uk
Points : 489
Registration date : 2019-09-08

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 8:46 am

As an owner of a small dog I would love to see a photo of the box complete with the dog. 🐕
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2978
Age : 81
Points : 7640
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 11:33 am

I do not take pictures---hole first cut for 15 pound Jack Russell---sized so he could not get thru hole, but head out shoulders blocked. Current passenger 8-9 pound Yorkshire---same hole but he wears safety chain. Once in Canada, I looked back and he was riding on top of box.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3359
Age : 71
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7748
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeFri Nov 13, 2020 12:10 pm

I Googled 'dog in topbox'; there are loads of pictures.
Here are a couple of them:

http://modernvespa.com/forum/topic100925

https://www.burgmanusa.com/threads/hump-bag-for-650.161514/
Back to top Go down
Easyrider
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Easyrider

Number of posts : 947
Age : 70
Location : HI
Points : 2835
Registration date : 2015-12-18

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 16, 2020 12:23 am

I have a GIVI E55 monokey on my Swing in Hawaii that came with my previous Swing. In Idaho, I installed a Shad SH46 using the mount that came with it. I prefer the Shad because you can lock the box without the key. The GIVI needs the key to open and/or lock the box. Both have a button to remove to box and use it as a suit case when traveling.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3572
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7340
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 16, 2020 3:10 am

I don't think I'd carry my Givi E55 or it's smaller E52 sibling as a suitcase, neither of them are very well balanced and are rather awkward to carry fully loaded. It's much simpler to lift an inner bag out of them with all your stuff in and take that to your room.

That's the way to go with motorcycle hard panniers/saddlebags too, the backs of panniers get covered in road crap off the rear wheel in rainy weather and you really don’t want that coming off onto your bed while you're upacking.

It always amuses me on ferries when I see riders coming off the car decks and having to go up a couple of decks to their cabins, weighed down with heavy panniers, helmets, and whatever else they need. You get hot and sweaty doing this in full riding kit.

I open my top box, take out my overnight bag, put my helmet, gloves, and anything else I don't need and I'm good to go.

It's unusual these days to see anyone carrying a handled suitcase around, everyone is now so used to pulling along wheeled luggage.

Maybe that's why Givi manufactured the S410, a universal trolley base with a pull out handle for Monokey boxes.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2978
Age : 81
Points : 7640
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 16, 2020 10:12 am

Agree with Mildrew----if you are really riding, side boxes or top boxes get really dirty---I leave mine on. Junk I need is in my 2 Ortleib rubber bags.
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3359
Age : 71
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7748
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 16, 2020 10:27 am

Me. too.
I also do the same trick with the topbox: bag of stuff out, helmet and gloves in.
Back to top Go down
Leena H
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
Leena H

Number of posts : 89
Location : Vaasa Finland
Points : 1687
Registration date : 2016-09-17

Givi V46 opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Givi V46 opinions   Givi V46 opinions I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 17, 2020 10:22 am

I used to have Givi V46 with brake lights with my Gilera Nexus. After starting to ride with SW bought Givi V47. I think the design fits better SW. Both are good quality, though had trouble with the lock of V46 a few times.

Givi V46 opinions 2aadf512
Givi V46 opinions C2312512
Givi V46 opinions D93a2d10
Back to top Go down
 
Givi V46 opinions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Unpopular Wrestling Opinions
» Opinions on Deflate-Gate?
» Tecumseh engine
» Keswick coach looking for some opinions
» Need some owner opinions on the RZR.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: