Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, I am opening this site back up for new members. I closed it due to a few members complaining. Please just accept the site for what it is. The site is 'what it is'. We hope you enjoy the site. Please also join www.maxi-scoots.com
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Best MPG on Silverwing
by oldwingguy Yesterday at 9:28 pm

» How the Internet started.............
by "Hi Yo" Yesterday at 1:08 pm

» Heart bypass: Best wishes for a quick recovery
by Easyrider Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:46 pm

» Hi From Finland
by Tase Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:50 pm

» Surplus to requirements
by Loosebearing Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:58 pm

» Aussie Love Poem......
by Easyrider Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:43 pm

» What did you do to your SW today.
by cello33 Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:00 pm

» 2012 NOS Silverwing at 6 and 6
by Pastor Ron Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:45 pm

» Newbie to SW
by DickO Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:35 pm

» is this variator tool suitable for the SW?
by dekare Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:19 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
Share | 
 

 Shinko Tire opinions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Shinko Tire opinions   Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:23 am

So the tires that came with my my swing are somehow 2 years older than the bike itself (2001 marked). I think I'm going to install Shinko 567 and 568 as replacements. They get as good of reviews as any other tire and are a little cheaper.

Is anyone running this combo? I'd appreciate opinions.

I searched and did find one topic from 4 year ago but am hoping to get a more up to date opinion.

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Rubber band guru
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2629
Age : 79
Points : 6598
Registration date : 2009-08-18

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:14 am

Shinko were Yokohama. Not recommended by Honda in book----My 2013 was/is of the last sent to US, IRC in the correct recommended size is.

Michelin Power Pure SC rear can be found around $40----long thread life and wears round!!

Currently have matched set of IRC.....when rear wears down, will replace it with Michelin Power Pure SC as they will go 10,000 miles.
Back to top Go down
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:35 am

When you say not recommended by Honda where are you referencing? Is there a recommended list or is shinko specifically not recommended?
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Rubber band guru
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2629
Age : 79
Points : 6598
Registration date : 2009-08-18

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:15 pm

Owner's manual for model year shows recommend tires. Has changed over the years from Bridgestone Hoop to IRC. Hoops wear square on rear.

Even though not tested on SilverWing by Honda, Michelin Power Pure SC have worked for me on both SilverWing, and Burgman 400, total 4 tires, on rear---features for me, they wear round and last 10,000 miles. Power Pure did not "feel" right on front---I changed back to IRC.

Notice: Burgman 400 and SilverWing both have same size wheels----but makers recommended Bridestone.....but two different tires by part numbers.

I have about 80,000 miles on 2 different new SilverWings and another 60,000 miles on2 new Burgman 400's.
And think their makers were right in their testing and recommendations---Face it MaxiScooters ain't the best handling things on 2 wheels, especially loaded for touring.

I do own tire work and use Ride On as balancing medium.

Germany: specific tires are usually spec for each bike---only one I know from experience was MZ, that said only size.
Back to top Go down
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Whelp I ordered the shinkos I guess we will like how they are.
Back to top Go down
Modernman1953
Touring Scooter Rider
Touring Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 378
Location : Yuma, AZ
Points : 1394
Registration date : 2016-06-01

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:41 pm

I put a shinko on the front of my Goldwing and it worked ok for 4,000 miles.  The price savings of the purchase price was ate up in the fact that I had to replace it so soon.  The E3 was 3 times the price, but it went 14,000 miles.  So, I saved money buying the more expensive tire.  

If you mount your own tires, I believe you can save some money buying the Shinko tires.

I would welcome to hear your experience with them.
Back to top Go down
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:18 pm

Yeah the local place has free install. The tires were about $35 more through them than I could have gotten online but to me it's worth it not to have to deal with tire irons.
Back to top Go down
Jolly Bodger
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 102
Age : 65
Location : Lancashire, UK.
Points : 975
Registration date : 2016-10-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:26 pm

Why would anyone skimp on tyres? Why compromise grip and stability just to save a few dollars/pounds. Surely safety is more important. The last thing I want is to be thinking I should have spent a little more while I'm sliding up the road on my backside affraid

JB
Back to top Go down
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:52 pm

If I thought the Shinkos were an inferior product I wouldn't buy them.  I've read many reviews and have had them on previous bikes. The only drawback I have seen is that they don't last quite as long as some more expensive ones.  I don't put enough miles on my bike for that to really be an issue.

Being less expensive doest automatically make a product inferior.   Having access to the experiences of hundreds of other owners allows me to get a pretty good gauge on a product before purchase and from what I have seen Shinkos are very much on par with Michelin etc regarding traction and reliability.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Rubber band guru
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2629
Age : 79
Points : 6598
Registration date : 2009-08-18

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:57 am

Tires--I have used up, up to 450 tires in my 61 years of riding and find/found.....tires that do not last very long are soft compound rubber and probably good in rain/wet conditions.

Slipping in wet I do not like......not with SilverWing, but with motorcycles I have had good luck with Kenda and Chin Shin(when they were available in US)---both considered cheaper tires. Load rating//speed rating are important to me. and OH...that it is MC tire.
Back to top Go down
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 1009
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Shinko Tire opinions   Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:27 am

I agree with that. I prefer replacing a set of softer compound tires more often to getting more mileage out of harder ones.

I will say that I had a set of Michelins on my last bike that had the dual compound tread and they were both nice and sticky in the corners as well as long wearing!
The highly siped front tire also gripped in the wet like nothing I had ever felt before. If their scooter tires had the same siping I'd probably have gotten them instead.
Back to top Go down
 
Shinko Tire opinions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» What kind a tire would be the best for offroading but the least strain on my transaxle?
» tire swap on TORQUE (ford/craftsman)
» Tire Size
» Atv tire bonnets
» New Maxxis Vipr UTV Tire

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: