Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also GIVE US THE COURTESY of introducing yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» New guy - help with part number
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Today at 7:55 am

» What did you do to your SW today.
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby SWingSteve Yesterday at 12:07 am

» PA. Bucket List.
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Sat Aug 06, 2022 10:35 pm

» New member from Seattle area
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sat Aug 06, 2022 5:56 pm

» Final oil Drive
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby AldusFran Sat Aug 06, 2022 4:52 pm

» At 83 maybe taking a year off from riding
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby MUCHoldERwingguy Fri Aug 05, 2022 7:24 am

» Preston Loop in Nevada
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby gustav Thu Aug 04, 2022 3:03 pm

» European Road Trip
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:28 pm

» Rear disc brake caliper
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:22 pm

» New driver on classic Silverwing
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Tue Aug 02, 2022 1:52 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review

Go down 
+7
"Hi Yo"
Bash On!
Cosmic_Jumper
The Bern
cotetoi
Easyrider
Kennylxix
11 posters
AuthorMessage
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 2301
Registration date : 2016-11-05

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeWed Nov 30, 2016 6:42 pm

About a week ago I purchased a set of Shinko 567/568 tires for my swing.   I had them installed locally for an out the door price of $158.

Since I got them I have put nearly 600 miles on them and have ridden in pretty much every condition I will normally ride in.

I can't compare these to any other scooter tire as this is my first big scooter and the tires that came with it were toast.   I do, however, have pretty extensive experience with motorcycle tires in general.

So here what I think.  Dry traction in a straight line is very good.   Turning feels stable at both high and low speed.   The tires seem very willing to lean with no real tendency to wander in a turn.   The tires dont follow road grooves very much and feel nice and round.

Wet performance is confidence inspiring.  I did go into a  parking lot after a rain and tested how they felt at the edge of traction and they seem to break traction predictably and recover quickly.   In the rain I've seen no tendency to hydroplane.

I do feel a little hands off wiggle in the 25mph range but from what I've read is pretty normal for the swing.   As soon as I have my hands on the bars there is no perceived wiggle.

I can't really speak to wear except to note that at 600 miles the rear has finally worn down the tits in the middle and the front tits are almost gone in the middle (I mostly drive on straight roads so the edges don't get much wear.)

I definitely recommend these tires as I really can't see,  for a normal rider,  what benefit more expensive tires would provide.

I hope someone finds this helpful!
Back to top Go down
Easyrider
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Easyrider


Number of posts : 1009
Age : 71
Location : HI
Points : 3510
Registration date : 2015-12-18

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeWed Nov 30, 2016 11:07 pm

Thanks Kenny for your report. Now only miles will determine if it was a good price. Keep monitoring the condition of your tires. Please keep us updated if you should have any problems with the tires. Ride safe. Thanks again.
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert



Number of posts : 754
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 4220
Registration date : 2013-06-27

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 8:05 am

Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Bern


Number of posts : 899
Location : Telford, UK
Points : 3796
Registration date : 2014-11-20

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 8:45 am

cotetoi wrote:
Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.


You may be in for a bit of a wait in the reply Jay, from Kenny's profile ....


Joined : 2016-11-06
Last visit : Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:07 pm


Shame those are not available from stock in the UK
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper


Number of posts : 4189
Age : 79
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 9654
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 9:39 am

Seems to me that I've read somewhere that Shinko maxi-scooter tires are "good" but have a significantly short life. Supposedly the tire you put on just before you sell the bike.

Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 252
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 2814
Registration date : 2015-08-24

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 11:56 am

The Bern wrote:
cotetoi wrote:
Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.


You may be in for a bit of a wait  in the reply Jay, from Kenny's profile ....


Joined : 2016-11-06
Last visit : Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:07 pm


Shame those are not available from stock in the UK

Besides, wouldn't the impressions be of more use before you place an order?? Razz
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review 510-80


Number of posts : 2940
Age : 73
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7721
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 11:59 am

Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


Should be good for about ten years. Smile
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 252
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 2814
Registration date : 2015-08-24

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 12:33 pm

Hi Yo wrote:
Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


  Should be good for about ten years.     Smile  

Still a lot less than we Texans get out of our snow tires! Wink
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Bern


Number of posts : 899
Location : Telford, UK
Points : 3796
Registration date : 2014-11-20

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 2:04 pm

Bash On! wrote:
Hi Yo wrote:
Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


  Should be good for about ten years.     Smile  

Still a lot less than we Texans get out of our snow tires! Wink

:lol!: so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert



Number of posts : 754
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 4220
Registration date : 2013-06-27

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 22, 2017 7:43 pm

Thanks for the heads up, guys. I plan on keeping the SWing more than just one season. I just hope the Shinkos hold up and put you all doubters to shame. If they don't, well,....And true, I should have got impressions and opinions before buying, but then, I read good stuff about them too: maybe they were impressions from one Canadian riding season. I was going with Heidenau K66, but they were way more expensive. They will be on my Xmas wishlist for next year if the Shinkos are not satisfactory.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 3996
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 8385
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 23, 2017 4:15 am

The Bern wrote:
:lol!:  so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's

'Scrubbed out'! What's that mean bud? I'm quite unfamiliar with the vernacular here. 'Scrubbing in' I'm familiar with, 'Scrubbed out'. scratch
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Bern


Number of posts : 899
Location : Telford, UK
Points : 3796
Registration date : 2014-11-20

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 23, 2017 4:39 am

Meldrew wrote:
The Bern wrote:
:lol!:  so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's

'Scrubbed out'! What's that mean bud?  I'm quite unfamiliar with the vernacular here. 'Scrubbing in' I'm familiar with, 'Scrubbed out'.  scratch

Morning bud (where's this 'Indian summer' got to ?) it means they are worn to a point where I change them, not worn out from a legal point of view, must be a local term from my youth I guess scratch
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 3996
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 8385
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 23, 2017 10:49 am

It's warm and sunny here in Bologna bud. A two hours flight from dull cold Manchester on a unique Ryanair flight, it wasn't cancelled. Smile
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Bern


Number of posts : 899
Location : Telford, UK
Points : 3796
Registration date : 2014-11-20

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 23, 2017 11:58 am

Meldrew wrote:
It's warm and sunny here in Bologna bud. A two hours flight from dull cold Manchester on a unique Ryanair flight, it wasn't cancelled. Smile

Cool Have a nice time bud, I'm off to hot smoke some salmon for supper >>>>>
Back to top Go down
AldusFran
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 173
Age : 75
Location : Tucson,AZ
Points : 2804
Registration date : 2015-06-13

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSun Jul 07, 2019 3:37 pm

My Shinko SR567 front tire after 1000 miles just barely wore the tits off and they do feel nice and stable. Tar strips and grooves doesn't seem to affect handling . My rear Michelin City Grip rear is doing great @ 1500 miles . I'm pretty easy on tires and check pressure weekly.
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert



Number of posts : 754
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 4220
Registration date : 2013-06-27

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSun Jul 07, 2019 6:29 pm

My Shinko 567 front tire looks pretty "new" after going thru 2 rear ones. Like AldusFran, I find mine behaving very well, no tracking into grooves or following tar snakes. I am on my third rear Shinko 568. All's well.

Jay.
Back to top Go down
VictorLouis
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 72
Location : Phoenix, Aridzona
Points : 940
Registration date : 2020-04-26

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSat May 09, 2020 11:58 am

Cosmic_Jumper wrote:
Seems to me that I've read somewhere that Shinko maxi-scooter tires are "good" but have a significantly short life. Supposedly the tire you put on just before you sell the bike.

Tim


Which is exactly what were on mine. Neutral I felt the thread-surrection was best, as I have some differing input.

First, I felt the rear-end squirm once in a light RH camber. I'll attribute that to release-compound, LOL. The couple times so far I've hit rain-grooves, you can feel the front shimmying ever so slightly. There is a lightly zig-zagged center groove in the front Shinko. Tar snakes abound here (heat cracks), and it seems to want to track onto those if they are parallel with the lane-lines

The worst was where two patches of asphalt meet, as with a lane-widening project, or partial resurfacing. WOW, I felt as though I'd loose control of the bike. A bit scary, but I had to merge into the freeway

I'd like to hear back from some of these original, positive posters.
Back to top Go down
Mech 1 twa
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Mech 1 twa


Number of posts : 1289
Location : Allentown PA.
Points : 3793
Registration date : 2016-01-02

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeSun May 10, 2020 9:52 pm

The worst was where two patches of asphalt meet, as with a lane-widening project, or partial resurfacing. WOW, I felt as though I'd loose control of the bike. A bit scary, but I had to merge into the freeway

I never used these tires. Some tires are worse than others Bias tires tend to follow road more than Radial type.  

Uneven road surfaces on a two wheeler are dangerous step up or down will hold your tires and hard to pull away. Best way to cross is at a steeper angle.   Edge Trap.


Edge Trap. FYIShinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Trap_j11
Back to top Go down
VictorLouis
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 72
Location : Phoenix, Aridzona
Points : 940
Registration date : 2020-04-26

Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review Empty
PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review I_icon_minitimeMon May 11, 2020 8:49 am

Oh yeah, I know about edge-traps. This discovery was on a single-lane entrance ramp onto one of our local freeways. With T-walls on either side, you can only adjust your angle-of-attack so much, LOL.
Back to top Go down
 
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Shinko Tire opinions
» Shinko????
» Shinko????
» Shinko Tires
» Shinko tyres update

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: