Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Riding The Snake
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby arboroaks Tue May 21, 2024 7:25 pm

» Hello from Illinois!
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Tue May 21, 2024 9:22 am

» Goodbye guys
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sun May 19, 2024 10:58 pm

» LF extended back rest
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby Rzor93 Sun May 19, 2024 4:29 pm

» noise under load
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby dmosemorris Sat May 18, 2024 1:30 pm

» checking the oil
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby arcamedies13 Sat May 18, 2024 9:32 am

» Ignition wires to which plug?
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Thu May 16, 2024 6:39 pm

» Silverwing Brakes
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Tue May 14, 2024 11:57 pm

» Anyone have a trailer hitch for sale
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Mon May 13, 2024 12:53 pm

» Left brake micro-switch
Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeby Johnboy Fri May 10, 2024 7:57 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Light bar - your opinion

Go down 
+7
Art
dspevack
Easyrider
cotetoi
Cookie
MikeO
the_mad_rshn
11 posters
AuthorMessage
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 12:28 pm

Hey guys,

I am about to make my own light bar similar to what DennisB sells. I will be installing the Optronics running lights that I picked up at Walmart. I am thinking of installing 4 lights. Two vertical pairs. Something that will look like this. Please forgive my poor Photoshopping job.

Light bar - your opinion Running-lights_zpsnnhzs8od

What do you, guys think?

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3798
Age : 74
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 9484
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 1:15 pm

Why four lights?
Are two not sufficient?

Genuine questions, not finding fault.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 1:41 pm

MikeO wrote:
Why four lights?
Are two not sufficient?

Genuine questions, not finding fault.

Thank you. I figured that brighter is better anyway. Plus it might look pretty cool too. :-)

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3798
Age : 74
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 9484
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 1:44 pm

Thanks. Smile
Back to top Go down
Cookie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
Cookie


Number of posts : 233
Location : Essex UK
Points : 4863
Registration date : 2011-10-03

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 4:13 pm

Can't see a lot wrong with your photoshopping skills there Mad.
Now all you've got to do is make it!

I'd probably have settled for two lights simply to reduce the weight on the brackets bearing in mind that when you hit bumps the effective weight of the lamps can easily be multiplied up several times.
Considering the state of some of the roads round here that's an important consideration.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 4:25 pm

Cookie wrote:

I'd probably have settled for two lights simply to reduce the weight on the brackets bearing in mind that when you hit bumps the effective weight of the lamps can easily be multiplied up several times.
Considering the state of some of the roads round here that's an important consideration.

Thank you, Cookie. This is a very good point that I did not consider. I might double the thickness of some parts of the bracket if I decide to go with the vertical duo. The problem is I have a weak flux welder that does not weld well anything above 1/8". Anyway, we will see.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert



Number of posts : 757
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 4881
Registration date : 2013-06-27

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 4:47 pm

I like the idea of more lighting up front. With the weight of 4 lights I'd look at getting beefy bars to keep them from vibrating. If you are concerned about the "welding", you could do a combo nut and bolt plus welding for added security. Of course, the nuts and bolts would be permanent but provide strength.
Just my thoughts on yur project. Good luck with the mod.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 5:04 pm

cotetoi wrote:
I like the idea of more lighting up front. With the weight of 4 lights I'd look at getting beefy bars to keep them from vibrating. If you are concerned about the "welding", you could do a combo nut and bolt plus welding for added security. Of course, the nuts and bolts would be permanent but provide strength.
Just my thoughts on yur project. Good luck with the mod.
Jay.

Thanks, Jay. It is still cooking in my melon so all the ideas are appreciated. I also was thinking of only two lights, like on the original setup, but also installing two LED, short (6" or 8" long) lights stocked one on top of the other and mounted under the bracket, in the middle of it. Like these guys: Pair 20 LED White Daytime Running Lamp Auto Car Fog Light Headlamp

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Easyrider
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Easyrider


Number of posts : 1012
Age : 73
Location : HI
Points : 4167
Registration date : 2015-12-18

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 08, 2016 9:47 pm

Mad,
I have two of the Wal-Mart lights that you mentioned and they are very bright. I believe that four will be too bright for the oncoming vehicle. Like driving with your high lights on. Remember, brighter is good, but blinding the oncoming drivers may be dangerous to you. My 2¢.
Back to top Go down
dspevack
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
dspevack


Number of posts : 2008
Age : 59
Location : Miami, FL
Points : 8028
Registration date : 2008-12-27

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 09, 2016 9:01 am

If I used 4 lights I would aim the lower 2 @ 30 degrees outward and down a little bit, giving me cornering lighting, and the upper 2 forward and slightly down.
While its nice to see very far ahead of you, too bright a light can unconsciously attract drivers, like moth to a flame.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 09, 2016 10:18 am

Gents,

Thanks for your advice.
It was actually my thought to aim the lights in such way so that I have a much brighter area right in front of me and a bit on the sides, rather than aiming far ahead. This way there should not be a worry for the upcoming traffic.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Art
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 272
Location : Garwood Tx
Points : 3354
Registration date : 2015-12-25

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 09, 2016 10:55 am

That's probably a good idea
I don't know about the particular lights you are using but most LED lights have no vertical cut off, and that makes them pretty dangerous to use on the road, as well as illegal, which is why so many of those lights are not DOT approved
If those are DOT approved, they will have the vertical cut off, and could be aimed further down the road
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Dale N.


Number of posts : 1988
Age : 77
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 5881
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 10, 2016 9:19 am

the_mad_rshn wrote:


Thank you, Cookie. This is a very good point that I did not consider. I might double the thickness of some parts of the bracket if I decide to go with the vertical duo. The problem is I have a weak flux welder that does not weld well anything above 1/8". Anyway, we will see.

Cheers,
Mad

Hi Mad,

I also have a weak flux welder that I got from Harbor Freight. My professional welder friend who lives across the street also has one. He told me that in order to weld heavier metal with it he heats it up with a torch first then welds it. He said that the only reason it won't weld heavier metal is because these weaker ones don't heat the metal enough to get penetration. By heating the metal red hot first gives the welder a jump start, so to speak.

Hope this helped.
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
masscoot


Number of posts : 438
Location : Central New England
Points : 5999
Registration date : 2009-03-24

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 10, 2016 11:08 pm

Another example for you.  I very rarely ride at night, but this what I use ...for now.  Cookie brings up a good point about weight, the two bolts are the only two mounting points in this area but they were never meant to carry too much stress.

Light bar - your opinion Lightbar-new%20led_zpss5pepocp
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 10, 2016 11:16 pm

Dale N. wrote:


Hi Mad,

I also have a weak flux welder that I got from Harbor Freight. My professional welder friend who lives across the street also has one. He told me that in order to weld heavier metal with it he heats it up with a torch first then welds it. He said that the only reason it won't weld heavier metal is because these weaker ones don't heat the metal enough to get penetration. By heating the metal red hot first gives the welder a jump start, so to speak.

Hope this helped.

Thank you, Dale. I have the 90A flux core welder from HF too. This is interesting about the heat, as I had no idea it could help. Thank you.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 10, 2016 11:19 pm

masscoot wrote:


Light bar - your opinion Lightbar-new%20led_zpss5pepocp

Thank you, sir. May I ask you, how good are those MR16 LED's? That is the standard in my light, but just the regular 55W light.

Thank you.
Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 252
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 3468
Registration date : 2015-08-24

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 11, 2016 9:04 am

Looks like the center two lights would impinge on the headlight beam. Do they, Paul?
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
masscoot


Number of posts : 438
Location : Central New England
Points : 5999
Registration date : 2009-03-24

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 11, 2016 11:39 am

Dan is the King of Bling, back in the early days there were several of us who couldn't leave well enough alone and had to farkle the hell out our scoots for any number of reasons, comfort or just the enjoyment of tinkering.  He and others may be able to give some direction on newer products to look at.

Mad,  Its been so long but I think the halogens came with the MR16 base in the lamp.  If I remember correctly I had to modify the inside of the lamp housing to remove the elevated piece that the lamp base sat on, so the MR16 LED would fit down further and the cover would fit.  The LED replacements I used were the best I could find at the time (2008).  They work well, but there are better ones available now.  These are mainly for conspicuity and they do get attention, but nothing beats heads up riding!

Bash,  no interference with the headlight beam for the same reason as above.
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru



Number of posts : 2658
Age : 81
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 8215
Registration date : 2009-07-17

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 11, 2016 2:30 pm

Keep an eye on total added current to make sure you don't overload your bike's alternator. Also remember that the system doesn't generate enough juice to begin charging the battery below 3000-3500rpm. The SW has a pretty good generation system but it's easy to overdo it. Stop and go riding in traffic with lots of lights can bring the battery down.
Back to top Go down
dspevack
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
dspevack


Number of posts : 2008
Age : 59
Location : Miami, FL
Points : 8028
Registration date : 2008-12-27

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 11, 2016 6:41 pm

masscoot wrote:
Dan is the King of Bling, back in the early days there were several of us who couldn't leave well enough alone and had to farkle the hell out our scoots for any number of reasons, comfort or just the enjoyment of tinkering.  He and others may be able to give some direction on newer products to look at.

https://www.clearwaterlights.com//products2_pp.html

From 800 lumens to 7500 lumens....each! (12 watts to 70 watts)
You can turn night into day or land a Boeing 747....pick your poison.  (Not cheap!)
On my bike I use a pair of fork mounted Darlas.
Nice thing about these LEDs are that they are dimmable, and you can hook them up to the horn so that when you beep, they come on full power.

Dan
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
masscoot


Number of posts : 438
Location : Central New England
Points : 5999
Registration date : 2009-03-24

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 11, 2016 7:49 pm

I knew it wouldn't take long!  Thanks Dan!  I was wrong EddieB is the king of bling.  

You are the king of custom, hands down! Cool
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 13, 2016 9:41 am

I decided to just go with two lights for now. I can always add two more holes to the bracket for additional two lights. Here it is.

Cheers,
Mad
Light bar - your opinion 20160412_193452_zpsget3sybg
Light bar - your opinion 20160412_193501_zpsv3f2egoa
Light bar - your opinion 20160413_091547_zpsvinngyhm
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Dale N.


Number of posts : 1988
Age : 77
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 5881
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 13, 2016 11:19 pm

Hi Mad,

Looks great!
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
the_mad_rshn


Number of posts : 121
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 3159
Registration date : 2016-03-11

Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 13, 2016 11:33 pm

Dale N. wrote:
Hi Mad,

Looks great!

Thank you, sir!

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Light bar - your opinion Empty
PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Light bar - your opinion I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Light bar - your opinion
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Scooter Cannball 2021
» Windshield opinion(s)
» Clearwater lights installation
» Hello from new to silverwing600 ownership in London
» Comments: Admore light bar vs mini light bar

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: