Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» New member in Montana John Ayres
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby oldwingguy Today at 8:32 am

» Huzar Exhaust - Anyone Heard of Them?
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Today at 8:27 am

» Missing my S/Wing
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Michel Vachon Yesterday at 6:23 pm

» Help. No head light
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Mon Dec 06, 2021 2:33 pm

» 2021 PCX150
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Chris Olson Fri Dec 03, 2021 10:39 am

» hello Corbin "silverwinged" Sparrow
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby john grinsel Thu Dec 02, 2021 7:58 am

» Hello from SWFL
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Sid Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:41 pm

» December 2021 forum photo
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Michel Vachon Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:15 pm

» My recent ride.
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby MikeO Wed Dec 01, 2021 8:02 am

» Under seat light and courtesy switch
Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Tue Nov 30, 2021 3:50 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Windshield opinion(s)

Go down 
+2
Loosemarbles
Bcook01
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Bcook01
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 32
Age : 78
Location : North of toronto
Points : 2261
Registration date : 2015-11-05

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Windshield opinion(s)   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 21, 2021 10:16 am

I look at the pic [Nov 2021 forum photo] and think who seriously owns a Silver Wing and doesn’t junk the useless Honda screen ASAP and fit an Airflow.


i don't know why everyone is so enamored with the give windscreen. I have tried both givi's and clearview.  I won't disagree ....the honda is not very good. I find the givi airflow still gives me buffeting no matter where i adjust the screen but I find there is a lot of wind on my arms and little protection on the hands especially in rain! It is more pronounced when the temperature drops

I removed a clearview and replaced with givi and reinstalled the clearview after a year on the givi. Besides it i cheaper and you can add ventilation for the summer.

Each to their own. I just find the givi airflow is somewhat overrated.

BTW i have two NEW OEM screens that are sitting idle if someone is interested. Smile
Back to top Go down
Loosemarbles
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Loosemarbles


Number of posts : 790
Location : South East England
Points : 2770
Registration date : 2016-10-01

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Windshield opinion(s)   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 21, 2021 10:44 am

I suspect that the riding position on most scooters will be difficult to protect from the wind. I quite like my GiVi 214, I found it a big improvement over the OEM. I still get a lot of buffeting but it depends on so many dynamics, like riding speed, wing direction and speed etc.

For the most part it works fine and I have found it's best quality is deflecting the rain above and over my visor.

Whilst enjoying this distraction, that picture is still making feel uneasy!
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 3832
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7968
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Windshield opinion   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 21, 2021 11:40 am

I liked the Airflow on my Silver Wing, even though I had two top screens jettison off at high speed. When I remedied the fault and later added a Wunderlich wind deflector it was spot on. The Airflow's side wings don't look much but they work well at speed in wet weather to deflect rain off your gloves.

I now have a taller, wider Givi screen on my Forza, not that they was much wrong with the OE screen, I just wanted more weather and wind protection. In addition to it being electrically height adjustable it has the Wunderlich wind deflector off the Silver Wing fitted, and bodywork mounted Givi hand wind deflectors.  Together they're a pretty formidable wet weather combination.
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM


Number of posts : 2100
Age : 69
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 5802
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Windshield opinion(s)   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2021 6:52 am

After hearing the issues with the adjustable (as Meldrew says) and after having a Goldwing with an adjustable windshield which once set I never moved again, I went another route. Cee Bailey made motorcycle windshields for a time (no longer sadly) so I measured exactly the size needed and ordered it. The windshield is great quality and exactly the size I needed. LOVE it!

That said I got a Givi fixed screen for my Forza to replace the horrid shorty screen that Honda put on it... Will install it in May and it should make a big difference.
Back to top Go down
skids
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 17
Location : Arlington, Texas
Points : 193
Registration date : 2021-06-21

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Windshield opinion(s)   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2021 5:56 pm

I have the 18” windshield from https://madstad.com/products/honda-fjs600

I love it
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Site Admin
Dale N.


Number of posts : 1795
Age : 75
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 4775
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Windshield opinion(s) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Windshield opinion(s)   Windshield opinion(s) I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2021 6:34 pm

When I bought my 08 SWing it had a Clearview XL windscreen. I think the XL stands for Extra Large or Long. Either way it fits me fine and I haven't thought about changing it. If I sit up straight I can just see over the top without stretching any. I figure if it ain't broke...
But then, To Each His Own.
Back to top Go down
 
Windshield opinion(s)
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Removing scratches from Windshield
» Windshield
» UTV Tech Windshield Stiffener Solves a Sucking Problem
» EMP lexan windshield??
» EMP Quick Connect Windshield Clamps

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: