Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» 2008 Silverwing
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Dale M Yesterday at 3:39 pm

» Overheat problem
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby welshman in canada Yesterday at 11:13 am

» Michelin City Grip tires
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Erdoc48 Sat Jul 13, 2024 6:50 am

» Malossi (white) Contra spring 17Kgs
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby arboroaks Thu Jul 11, 2024 4:50 pm

» Future forum pictures!
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Thu Jul 11, 2024 11:51 am

» Radiator Removal
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Green7 Wed Jul 10, 2024 5:13 pm

» Bike turning over, not starting - possible coil?
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:27 am

» What about SYM ?
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Carlos Sun Jul 07, 2024 2:54 pm

» Left brake micro-switch
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby Erdoc48 Sun Jul 07, 2024 10:16 am

» Delkevic, PC & Lg Saddlemen Top Case For Sale
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeby landisr Thu Jul 04, 2024 11:28 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?

Go down 
+3
edbancro
Jeff Rosenkranz
Kiwiscoot
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Kiwiscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 5
Location : Christchurch, New Zealand
Points : 5174
Registration date : 2010-05-25

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue May 25, 2010 1:18 am

What should one look out for on a SW with this mileage on? What is the story about steering head bearings?? Is this a good model or should one rather go for a later model??
All input will be appreciated by the newbie to SW's
cheers Kiwiscoot
Back to top Go down
Jeff Rosenkranz
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 241
Points : 5580
Registration date : 2009-12-31

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue May 25, 2010 6:12 am

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? 383825 Hi Kiwiscoot. I can only speak as an 03 owner, and an old, old motorcyclist.....but besides looking for obvious oil leaks, odd tire wear, missing air filter, less than perfect engine idle and revs, the Silverwing is a true Honda, and R+D'd to last. I'm sure that JeffR who has a 30k bike and Dennis B will add their check list. One thing for sure, if the owner has kept a service record ,that will help you. Dont be afraid to ask. Kiwiscoot, does the name David and Sharon Buist mean anything to you? In 74, we had a guest director at the Keokuk YMCA, and they were from Christchurch. I still remember him asking me where he could get a "chilly bin"........ thought and thought.....chili bean?.....finally found out....they needed a cooler, an ice chest. Had a good laugh. They were an incredibly cool family. Well, I seem to have wandered a bit....good luck with your adventure. Jeff.
Back to top Go down
edbancro
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 160
Location : Western Pennsylvania
Points : 5555
Registration date : 2009-10-30

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue May 25, 2010 4:17 pm

Check the gas tank for rust - I forgot to check this when I bought my '03 and it ended up having a fair amount of rust in the mouth of the tank. Mine had very low miles (just over 700 when I bought it last year) and I think it had simply rusted from lack of use, so that's a lot less likely to be a problem on the one you're looking at. There was a recall on the '03 gas tanks, so check with the owner to see if that was done (or ask a dealer to check the VIN).

Also, check the forks and fork seals for any signs of a fluid leak - I just replaced them on mine last weekend. Again, it was probably a lack of use issue on my particular bike, but at that age and mileage it's something that could come up.

The '03s more recalls than any other year (3), but I don't think that a reason to not buy the bike - if they've been done, great; if not, Honda will/should still do them.
Back to top Go down
buddy19520
Touring Scooter Rider
Touring Scooter Rider
buddy19520


Number of posts : 378
Location : Cornelius NC
Points : 5662
Registration date : 2010-02-28

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue May 25, 2010 7:59 pm

Kiwiscoot,

Is this going to be a replacement for the CitiCom, or in addition? I am assuming you are the same poster as on Scootdawg.

Re: the 2003 Silverwing, you probably won't find any issues. In the USA they had 3 recalls on that year's model - handlebar clamp, gas tank and ??? - that they dealer will fix for you at no charge if it has not been done. Not sure if the ones built for NZ were even affected - they may have been built to different specs.

Mine is a 2003, and I have taken it from 3800 to 8500 since last September without any issues. Just gas and go and enjoy. I have done some mods (and you will probably want to change out the buttstop immediately), but they are just for tailoring it to my tastes. If you have the chance, try to fit it with a J Costa variator - it really wakes it up. If not, some lighter variator weights would also perk it up.

For what to look for, there probably is not anything different to look for on this bike than any other except the belt. It should be changed at about 16000 miles and every 12000 after that, so it should have a fairly new belt on it. Look on this site for the pictorials - there is one showing how to remove the necessary parts to check the belt - its about an hour long job. Everything else is the same as any other motorcycle.
Back to top Go down
Kiwiscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 5
Location : Christchurch, New Zealand
Points : 5174
Registration date : 2010-05-25

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue May 25, 2010 8:44 pm

Yes I am the same poster. Problem is the Citycom does everything I want at this stage, but one always seems to be dreaming.
Thanks for the replies.
kiwiscoot
Back to top Go down
scooterog
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 10
Points : 5173
Registration date : 2010-05-29

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeMon May 31, 2010 5:16 pm

I've got an 04 near me with 800 (yes 800) miles for under $4k AND they are looking to trade down to a smaller machine, this could be gold for me!!!...Rog
Back to top Go down
jdeereanton
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
jdeereanton


Number of posts : 1995
Age : 77
Location : Huntsville, AL
Points : 7752
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeMon May 31, 2010 5:23 pm

Yes an enviable position, but I (and my wife) wish we still had our Reflex (i, s, es) to ride around town on.

If you can keep both it is truly the best of both worlds.
Back to top Go down
http://kimdaleanton.wordpress.com
scooterog
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 10
Points : 5173
Registration date : 2010-05-29

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeMon May 31, 2010 5:34 pm

I love the Reflex around town its a blast and I wouldnt have any problem keeping it...in fact I thought about going even smaller for around town, but I am also unemployed at the moment, so the less I spend the better,,and I can always buy a smaller cheaper scoot if I need to, but the Reflex just isnt enough for the open road, back roads yeah, 4 lanes plus, no...Rog
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper


Number of posts : 4416
Age : 81
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 10618
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeMon May 31, 2010 11:19 pm

Jeff Rosenkranz has stated the best advise.

As a fellow '03 owner (43000 miles) I'd offer a heads-up that if the scoot has been ridden agressively you may find that the clutch is squealing on take off.

If that is the case you might consider changing the clutch springs to Malossi springs. While they are slightly more expensive than a set of OEM clutch springs they offer more tension than the stock units as well as the Malossi kit has three different sets of springs so that you can 'adjust' the clutch operation to your preference.

I've never heard of any steering head bearing issues.

Accessing the clutch to change the springs is not too bad of a job. I get into the clutch on my scoot as a laying-down-on-the-driveway job. It takes me about 2 hours total time using hand tools. The only 'special tool' needed is something to hold the Variator if you dont have a Air Ratchet available --I don't.

Good luck with your new scoot. Buy the Service Manual.

Tim
"03 Silverwing, Cosmic Jumper
Philadelphia

"Kindly come to terms with your ass for it bears you" --John Muir quoting Fra Juniper Sierra
Back to top Go down
scooterog
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 10
Points : 5173
Registration date : 2010-05-29

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeMon May 31, 2010 11:54 pm

Well the story I got tonight was basically a little old lady bought it in Charlotte,NC, sat on it and it fell over and she never really rode it...4 years later a guy in Greensboro,NC bought it and it was bigger than he wanted for around town..he had a Reflex and may be interested, but still has a Helix and thats what his wife likes to ride on..so I will go check it out in the next day or 2....Rog
Back to top Go down
jdeereanton
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
jdeereanton


Number of posts : 1995
Age : 77
Location : Huntsville, AL
Points : 7752
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 15, 2010 6:13 pm

scooterog,

What's the word on your search?
Back to top Go down
http://kimdaleanton.wordpress.com
scooterog
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 10
Points : 5173
Registration date : 2010-05-29

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 15, 2010 6:23 pm

Its parked in front of the house minus butt pad,(I took if off as I need to ride like a chopper), $3500, 860 miles on it, need to get the parts to my mechanic to fix the Reflex so I can get it back and switch tags and ins to the wing...really dark maroon, mount for a givi box but no box, need an alaskasheepskin seat cover for it, and its ABS...$3500 ,860 miles, I have only gone on a few short trips, without Ins, I could get tags for both, but if I sell the reflex I'd just have to turn the tag right back in, besides its HOT out there this week....Rog
Back to top Go down
jdeereanton
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
jdeereanton


Number of posts : 1995
Age : 77
Location : Huntsville, AL
Points : 7752
Registration date : 2008-12-24

Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?   Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles? I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 15, 2010 6:53 pm

Well, congratulations! Sounds like you are happy with the purchase. I hope the soon to be owner of your Reflex enjoys it as much as you have.
Back to top Go down
http://kimdaleanton.wordpress.com
 
Opinion of 2003 SW with 47000ks/30000miles?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: