Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Turn signal / Running lights
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby FrancoisJ Today at 11:57 am

» Swing Toolkit
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Today at 11:24 am

» Snow Day Today
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Today at 11:16 am

» Swing accesories
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby Easyrider Today at 12:48 am

» new belt on
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby Easyrider Today at 12:18 am

» Mystery wires under front cover
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Yesterday at 6:46 pm

» Nile virus
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby Old Limey Yesterday at 1:20 pm

» Hello from Nevada
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby GHM-PM Fri Feb 26, 2021 7:30 am

» Sold the Silverwing.
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby JamieB Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:22 pm

» Newbie from South Africa
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeby FrancoisJ Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:20 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
SWing2010
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 19
Age : 54
Location : Calif
Points : 3919
Registration date : 2010-07-24

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 21, 2010 11:48 pm

Guys,


I received my T-Max 11.19.2010, with 1 mile on the clock. The weather here in California has been lousy for a a couple of days, but I was able to go out today.
First off, the T-Max is an well made machine, on par with the quality of my Swing. Brakes/fuel/transmission/lighting systems are all first rate, the transmission is exceptionally smooth. Power delivery is excellent, you twist, it goes. No perceptable delay between throttle and the bike moving forward. Brakes are excellent non-ABS units, providing plenty of stopping power.
I rode the bike through many different situations just to get a feel for her performance. I rode Mulholland for about 5 miles on the twisties, the bikes 15 inch wheels really come into their own. Handling was outstanding, I never once felt like the bike was going to go out of control.
Riding up steep hills, T-MAX never lost power, as a matter of fact the steepest hills were a cinch. Freeways were even easier, I know the bike was in its break in period, but speeds of 75-95 mph were easily achieved. Cruising was effortless, I could maintain speeds of 65-75 mph, with the tach reading 4800-5500 rpm.
As was said earlier, the one thing that struck me was power delivery, it was outstanding there is no delay,power is instant. Anyway, my .02, Swing2010
Back to top Go down
jdeereanton
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
jdeereanton

Number of posts : 1997
Age : 73
Location : Huntsville, AL
Points : 6525
Registration date : 2008-12-24

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2010 2:40 pm

Thanks for the report. I like the looks of the T-Max and would consider one if I was in the market for a new bike.

Enjoy it.
Back to top Go down
http://kimdaleanton.wordpress.com
AAAA
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 442
Points : 4287
Registration date : 2010-11-14

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2010 9:12 pm

How is the power, and ride-ability, compare to the s-wing?
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2010 10:08 pm

I'm very interested in the tmax 750. I did a search on the Yamaha site
and wasn't able to find it on the Yamaha site under scooters. can you give
me a link so i can look at it and price it? thanks
Paul
Back to top Go down
AAAA
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 442
Points : 4287
Registration date : 2010-11-14

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 22, 2010 10:27 pm

paul_scooter wrote:
I'm very interested in the tmax 750. I did a search on the Yamaha site
and wasn't able to find it on the Yamaha site under scooters. can you give
me a link so i can look at it and price it? thanks
Paul

Looks like they only make 1@499cc.
http://www.yamaha-motor.com/sport/products/modelspecs/607/0/specs.aspx

There is a thread on comparison between s-wing and tmax over at total ruckus

http://totalruckus.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=45760
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 3017
Age : 81
Points : 7768
Registration date : 2009-08-18

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 23, 2010 3:21 am

I had a TMAX, bought new, put quick 11,000 miles on it and got rid of. It handles better than than SilverWing is at least as fast, bear to work on.

Mine went bye bye for two reasons #1 horrible wind management, might be better now with the availability of the new Givi 2 piece windshield #2 Looked to me to be very expensive to keep if you ride serious miles, like chain and belt drive, wet clutch in addition to rubber band arrangement.

Much more fun to ride----right now there are some left overs in dealer. Requires Prem. fuel. Givi rack much more complicated to put on. From riding position it sounds like outboard motor (not bad) wasted money on after market exhaust that only made it slower and much more noise.

John Grinsel
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3387
Age : 71
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7861
Registration date : 2009-06-29

New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 23, 2010 5:39 am

A very good friend of mine bought one to go with his X9 500.
He does all his own maintenance and is the mechanical guru on the X9OC forum.
He quite regularly strips down his bikes to the bare frame so knows what's going on.

He liked the T-Max as a machine to ride but sold it quite soon as he said that in order to do any engine work in particular, he had to take off most of the panels and it was far too time-consuming.

He bought a Gilera Nexus instead! Shocked
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.   New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 23, 2010 1:10 pm

i had a mk .1. t-max 500.handling was awesome ,power was very good,mine did have a mallossi variator,yamaha R6 brake calipers.it was very good but did cost quite a bit on o.e. parts.
Back to top Go down
 
New Bike T-Max 75 mile Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pitbull tire review,Brimstone
» Eddie Merckx LXM Carbon Road Bike
» Belstaff Leather Bike Jacket + Lids
» ATV/SxS Illustrated Commander review
» Devonport Mile to be handicapped on 'time' not 'marks'

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Other Scooters and Motorcycles :: Other Scooter Topics-
Jump to: