Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum


 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Riding The Snake
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby arboroaks Tue May 21, 2024 7:25 pm

» Hello from Illinois!
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby sonuvabug Tue May 21, 2024 9:22 am

» Goodbye guys
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Sun May 19, 2024 10:58 pm

» LF extended back rest
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby Rzor93 Sun May 19, 2024 4:29 pm

» noise under load
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby dmosemorris Sat May 18, 2024 1:30 pm

» checking the oil
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby arcamedies13 Sat May 18, 2024 9:32 am

» Ignition wires to which plug?
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Thu May 16, 2024 6:39 pm

» Silverwing Brakes
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby Terry Smith Tue May 14, 2024 11:57 pm

» Anyone have a trailer hitch for sale
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby BrianInVA Mon May 13, 2024 12:53 pm

» Left brake micro-switch
Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeby Johnboy Fri May 10, 2024 7:57 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

 

 Opinions on fuel additives.

Go down 
+5
Meldrew
GHM-PM
Chris Olson
Dale N.
lcgraham
9 posters
AuthorMessage
lcgraham
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 18
Location : Albuquerque, NM
Points : 3447
Registration date : 2015-01-07

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 14, 2018 7:49 pm

I routinely add a small amount of octane booster to my scoots during the winter months followed by a fuel system cleaner the following spring. I've used Seaform and the Royal Purple product in the past and currently using Berrymans. I was seeking opinions from fellow riders on the different fuel system cleaners on the market, what their thought were on them and their preferred product.
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Dale N.


Number of posts : 1988
Age : 77
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 5881
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 14, 2018 10:41 pm

My preferred product is Seafoam. I use it in my pickup a few times a year and in my SWing a few times a season. In the SWing I only put about 1/4 can at a time seeing as the tank is so small compared to 25 gallons in my pickup.

I also use it in my gas cans for my riding mower, push mower and snow blower. Sometimes it might take 2 to 3 years to go through the 6 gallons but I've never had a problem with any of them starting and running well.

I've never tried any of the others so I can't comment on them.
Back to top Go down
Chris Olson
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
Chris Olson


Number of posts : 250
Age : 64
Location : Barron, Wisconsin
Points : 3901
Registration date : 2014-06-22

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 12:45 am

Fuel additives don't do anything because the fuel you buy already has a mix of additives put it in at the bulk plant when it's loaded on the transport to get to the gas station. Every brand has their special "blend" of additives that is put in the base stock gasoline. The truck driver has like a credit card with the secret "recipe" that he sticks in the machine that does the blending as it's loaded in the transport.

Unless you are buying base stock refinery gas at a tank farm, you're throwing your money away on additives.

The only time additives will do any good is if your engine needs a higher octane rating than what you can buy at the pump, so you can add an oxygenate additive to boost the octane rating. Or if you plan on storing your bike for a long time it's wise to add a stabilizer to prevent the breakdown of the hydrocarbons due to oxidation, which will form acids over time.
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM


Number of posts : 2568
Age : 71
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 7263
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 7:35 am

My preference is Seafoam or Techron, but yearly at best is all I do. Seafoam or Stabil would be my go to if storing the bike for an extended period.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 4180
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 9225
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 8:01 am

I've had a Boot (Trunk) Packs of 90ml single shot bottles of Redex sitting on a shelf in the garage for the last few years, one of the bottles from it is under the seat of my Silver Wing. I haven't got round to adding any Redex to my fuel yet, because thinking about it I don't think I really need to.

In the past I've put a shot or two of fuel injector cleaner in K Series BMW's in my biker years, and used a bit of fuel stabiliser at winter time in my early maxi scooter years because I thought I had to.  

Now in winter I prefer to get suited up and go out on a decent day and use up that tank of 'stale' fuel on a long ride, and refill with fresh stuff on the way home.

I'd never heard of Seafoam until I joined this US based forum and it's quite interesting to read how it's mentioned and poured into fuel tanks for all sorts of reasons, as a cure-all potion or mechanical Viagra.

In constrast, a Search of the Muppets forum mentions it only once as a possible cure for gummed up fuel injectors.

Going through the rigmarole of this'I'm Not a Spammer' gimmick that's suddenly appearedis rather annoying don't y'think?
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
The Bern


Number of posts : 897
Location : Telford, UK
Points : 4448
Registration date : 2014-11-20

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 9:35 am

Meldrew wrote:

Going through the rigmarole of this'I'm Not a Spammer' gimmick that's suddenly appearedis rather annoying don't y'think?

scratch I'm not getting any odd message when posting bud scratch
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper


Number of posts : 4416
Age : 81
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 10565
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 10:05 am

The Bern wrote:
Meldrew wrote:

Going through the rigmarole of this'I'm Not a Spammer' gimmick that's suddenly appearedis rather annoying don't y'think?

scratch  I'm not getting any odd message when posting bud scratch

Me either. I signed off then logged back in to check if there was a login / spambot test. But all went well. Perhaps it's just you and you're not smoking the right brand of cigarettes.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 4180
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 9225
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 10:16 am

It's obviously just me then, even though I've never smoked the right or wrong brand of cigarette or even been tempted to try a quick drag of tobacco or any other substance in my life.

No little game appeared this time though.
Back to top Go down
Murf
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Murf


Number of posts : 172
Location : Helen GA
Points : 2771
Registration date : 2017-04-19

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 12:27 pm

Being a marine/motorcycle mechanic for years I use Stabil if storing fuel. Seafoam while is good for cleaning the fuel system. Be warned if it sets too long in the tank it turns into gunk in the tank. Run the whole tank of Seafoam thru to clean the injectors. Just my history with fuel stabilizers.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel


Number of posts : 3299
Age : 85
Points : 9262
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 15, 2018 1:09 pm

I use Stabil if something will not be run for some months....also I have been known to pour some Marvel Mystery Oil in gas tanks now and then. Probably does little good but makes me feel good.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Opinions on fuel additives. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fuel additives.   Opinions on fuel additives. I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on fuel additives.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Fuel additives test
» Seafoam and other fuel additives
» Techron, Redex, Redline, SeaFoam fuel additives
» Fuel tank removal (fuel pump replacement)
» Engine dying , oil additives

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Maintenance, Tips and Hints-
Jump to: