Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the home for Honda SilverWing and everyone interested. This is a place to ask questions, share, and learn about the SilverWing and its dedicated riders. Please post an introduction when you join as a sign of Courtesy.
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» two months since SilverWing traded
by exavid Yesterday at 21:54

» Disappointed in high speed hiway travel
by Dale N. Yesterday at 21:53

» Water on spark plugs inside the engine
by exavid Yesterday at 21:43

» Got hit at a stop sign from behind
by exavid Yesterday at 21:29

» First Canyon Ride on Silver Wing
by Pastor Ron Wed 22 Nov 2017, 17:28

» Fuel Pressure Regulator
by codge Wed 22 Nov 2017, 16:55

» New windscreen
by kbcmdba Wed 22 Nov 2017, 16:26

» About our Paint
by janitorj1 Wed 22 Nov 2017, 12:25

» Homemade variator tool
by cliffyk Tue 21 Nov 2017, 16:39

» Dr Pulley sliders
by cliffyk Tue 21 Nov 2017, 13:31

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

Share | 
 

 Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kennylxix
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 156
Location : FL
Points : 583
Registration date : 2016-11-05

PostSubject: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Wed 30 Nov 2016, 18:42

About a week ago I purchased a set of Shinko 567/568 tires for my swing.   I had them installed locally for an out the door price of $158.

Since I got them I have put nearly 600 miles on them and have ridden in pretty much every condition I will normally ride in.

I can't compare these to any other scooter tire as this is my first big scooter and the tires that came with it were toast.   I do, however, have pretty extensive experience with motorcycle tires in general.

So here what I think.  Dry traction in a straight line is very good.   Turning feels stable at both high and low speed.   The tires seem very willing to lean with no real tendency to wander in a turn.   The tires dont follow road grooves very much and feel nice and round.

Wet performance is confidence inspiring.  I did go into a  parking lot after a rain and tested how they felt at the edge of traction and they seem to break traction predictably and recover quickly.   In the rain I've seen no tendency to hydroplane.

I do feel a little hands off wiggle in the 25mph range but from what I've read is pretty normal for the swing.   As soon as I have my hands on the bars there is no perceived wiggle.

I can't really speak to wear except to note that at 600 miles the rear has finally worn down the tits in the middle and the front tits are almost gone in the middle (I mostly drive on straight roads so the edges don't get much wear.)

I definitely recommend these tires as I really can't see,  for a normal rider,  what benefit more expensive tires would provide.

I hope someone finds this helpful!
Back to top Go down
Easyrider
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 453
Age : 67
Location : HI
Points : 1197
Registration date : 2015-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Wed 30 Nov 2016, 23:07

Thanks Kenny for your report. Now only miles will determine if it was a good price. Keep monitoring the condition of your tires. Please keep us updated if you should have any problems with the tires. Ride safe. Thanks again.
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 483
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2201
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 08:05

Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 291
Location : Telford,Shropshire,UK
Points : 1406
Registration date : 2014-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 08:45

cotetoi wrote:
Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.


You may be in for a bit of a wait in the reply Jay, from Kenny's profile ....


Joined : 2016-11-06
Last visit : Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:07 pm


Shame those are not available from stock in the UK
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 2427
Age : 74
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 5881
Registration date : 2009-06-12

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 09:39

Seems to me that I've read somewhere that Shinko maxi-scooter tires are "good" but have a significantly short life. Supposedly the tire you put on just before you sell the bike.

Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 228
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 1072
Registration date : 2015-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 11:56

The Bern wrote:
cotetoi wrote:
Kennylxix,
I am wondering how you are finding the Shinko's after a few thousand miles. I have ordered a set and would like your impressions.
Thanks.
Jay.


You may be in for a bit of a wait  in the reply Jay, from Kenny's profile ....


Joined : 2016-11-06
Last visit : Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:07 pm


Shame those are not available from stock in the UK

Besides, wouldn't the impressions be of more use before you place an order?? Razz
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 3024
Age : 68
Location : Garland, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 6089
Registration date : 2010-02-17

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 11:59

Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


Should be good for about ten years. Smile
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 228
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 1072
Registration date : 2015-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 12:33

Hi Yo wrote:
Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


  Should be good for about ten years.     Smile  

Still a lot less than we Texans get out of our snow tires! Wink
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 291
Location : Telford,Shropshire,UK
Points : 1406
Registration date : 2014-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 14:04

Bash On! wrote:
Hi Yo wrote:
Cosmic_Jumper wrote:


Or maybe it's the tire you'd put on for the Canadian riding season. Ya know; take the scoot out of mothballs, unplug the trickle charger, put on new Shinkos, and you're good 'till the next time it snows.Wink

Tim


  Should be good for about ten years.     Smile  

Still a lot less than we Texans get out of our snow tires! Wink

:lol!: so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 483
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2201
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Fri 22 Sep 2017, 19:43

Thanks for the heads up, guys. I plan on keeping the SWing more than just one season. I just hope the Shinkos hold up and put you all doubters to shame. If they don't, well,....And true, I should have got impressions and opinions before buying, but then, I read good stuff about them too: maybe they were impressions from one Canadian riding season. I was going with Heidenau K66, but they were way more expensive. They will be on my Xmas wishlist for next year if the Shinkos are not satisfactory.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2749
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 5371
Registration date : 2010-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Sat 23 Sep 2017, 04:15

The Bern wrote:
:lol!:  so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's

'Scrubbed out'! What's that mean bud? I'm quite unfamiliar with the vernacular here. 'Scrubbing in' I'm familiar with, 'Scrubbed out'. scratch
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 291
Location : Telford,Shropshire,UK
Points : 1406
Registration date : 2014-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Sat 23 Sep 2017, 04:39

Meldrew wrote:
The Bern wrote:
:lol!:  so far this year I've 'scrubbed out' Anlass 300, contimove 365 & am currently having a good go at Bridgestopne Battlax SC's

'Scrubbed out'! What's that mean bud?  I'm quite unfamiliar with the vernacular here. 'Scrubbing in' I'm familiar with, 'Scrubbed out'.  scratch

Morning bud (where's this 'Indian summer' got to ?) it means they are worn to a point where I change them, not worn out from a legal point of view, must be a local term from my youth I guess scratch
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2749
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 5371
Registration date : 2010-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Sat 23 Sep 2017, 10:49

It's warm and sunny here in Bologna bud. A two hours flight from dull cold Manchester on a unique Ryanair flight, it wasn't cancelled. Smile
Back to top Go down
The Bern
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 291
Location : Telford,Shropshire,UK
Points : 1406
Registration date : 2014-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   Sat 23 Sep 2017, 11:58

Meldrew wrote:
It's warm and sunny here in Bologna bud. A two hours flight from dull cold Manchester on a unique Ryanair flight, it wasn't cancelled. Smile

Cool Have a nice time bud, I'm off to hot smoke some salmon for supper >>>>>
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review   

Back to top Go down
 
Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Shinko 567/568 Tire Full Review
» Kobalt Tire Inflator Review
» Riding to cabo with beamers: tire choice?
» Shinko 705's on a WR250R
» 175R16 Austone Taxi Tire

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: