Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and PLEASE GIVE US THE COURTESY of introducing yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun.
 
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» what grade of fuel does everyone use?
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Yesterday at 3:56 pm

» Hello from Liverpool
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Yesterday at 3:52 pm

» ABS Light Fail To Extinguish First Time Around
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Yesterday at 4:42 am

» It's Too Loud
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Yesterday at 4:36 am

» Speedometer lights and onboard buttons not working
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby MUCHoldERwingguy Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:55 am

» Picking up a Silverwing with physical limitations?
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby winged warrior Sat Nov 26, 2022 5:59 pm

» ducati muffler on silverwing
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Fri Nov 25, 2022 8:20 pm

» For Forks Sake!
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby SWingSteve Wed Nov 23, 2022 10:09 pm

» Forza Life
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby Meldrew Wed Nov 23, 2022 12:19 pm

» Blue Ridge parkway foilage
NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeby zrx212 Tue Nov 22, 2022 5:31 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 NEW Silverwing Review.

Go down 
+7
Old Limey
Colin B
Jinglebob
MikeO
john grinsel
GHM-PM
lowkey
11 posters
AuthorMessage
lowkey
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 26
Location : northern california
Points : 3411
Registration date : 2013-09-08

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeTue Dec 31, 2013 10:36 pm

http://www.ridermagazine.com/road-tests/scooter-shootout-2014-bmw-c-650-gt-2013-honda-silver-wing-2013-suzuki-burgman-650.htm/

Warning: Even though it is a comparison test between the other
two real competitors--slamming Kymco, here--it is a very abbreviated,
very low-rent review.

At least they didn't say the Silverwing sucked.  But they said
more negative things about the BMW than I have read in other
reviews.

I would be disappointed with all three were I to pay over $10K
out the door. But I paid only $2200 last year, so I'm not too
unhappy.
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM


Number of posts : 2316
Age : 70
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 6414
Registration date : 2012-05-17

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2014 7:52 am

Interesting review, albeit short. One comment as to the Silver Wing they mention that no top box is available... Hmm guess they haven't looked at many actually on the road eh?  Wink 
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel


Number of posts : 3240
Age : 83
Points : 8658
Registration date : 2009-08-18

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2014 9:10 am

Sounds like lack of real world scooter/motorcycle experience. I have test ridden BMW----if I want a bike with Taiwan heart I will buy Kymco----SilverWing has pre-drilled holes....although I used Givi Rack---box can be bolted directly to rear wing.

As I get closer to March and the time I get new bike, new left-over SilverWings are looking more attractive to me.....having purchased over 75 new bikes/scooters.....I have criteria.....like windshield (Givi adjustable works great on SilverWing!), Rear Rack/box, lots of dealers for on the road trouble, etc-----I like to Spend $6-10,000.

Trade at BMW sucked (I am BMW owner since 1958) $9200 and my 2011 Burgman 400.....and High ownership costs!.

Burgman 650 interesting, but $11,000, 2014 they changed color and took off passenger back rest and scooter is HEAVY!! I will be 75 in May, good shape but you have a loss of power as you get older. SilverWing still goes up on lift easy for me.....My NT700V did not for example. Magazine road tests usually suck in US----some German mags actually do long hard tests and take bike apart at end to see what is really screwed up.......and they show how rear wheel comes off, etc,
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO


Number of posts : 3706
Age : 73
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 8847
Registration date : 2009-06-29

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeWed Jan 01, 2014 9:21 am

Interesting that the reviewer says there's no trunk (topbox) available for the Silverwing; mine has the Honda one fitted and I had a Givi box on my previous one.
Back to top Go down
Jinglebob
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
Jinglebob


Number of posts : 297
Location : Sacramento
Points : 5299
Registration date : 2009-07-18

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 02, 2014 8:31 pm

I read the article. I did not get the sense that the writer knew much about maxi-scooters in general, nor did he have a good feel for how useful and capable they really are. If I recall, he ended the article with an endorsement of the B650, then commented that after it's all said and done, you still only have a scooter, or words to that effect.

Not really surprising, in all honesty. There's a lot of ignorance out there about these machines and also a certain attitude that only people who can't shift or ride use scooters. I've run into it many times on the road, but sometimes, it's possible to educate folks...like when you pop the seat open at a gas station and the Harley or BMW guy next to you sees all the storage space...then starts to converse a bit and finds out that the bike is quite quick and capable of high speeds and handles well. Can't say I've made any converts, but did motivate a BMW GS rider to start riding the Piaggio BV500 scooter he has stashed in his garage...

Sorry, got off track there a bit. Bottom line is that at least the magazine saw fit to discuss our bike and the others in a more or less rational and adult way...for that, I am appreciative...
Back to top Go down
lowkey
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 26
Location : northern california
Points : 3411
Registration date : 2013-09-08

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2014 3:38 am

Wait, there's more!

(Can you tell I'm surprised that reviewers still figure the Silverwing
is current enough?)

http://www.motorcycle.com/shoot-outs/2013-uber-scooter-shootout-video


=======
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM


Number of posts : 2316
Age : 70
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 6414
Registration date : 2012-05-17

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2014 8:13 am

Much better review in my opinion! And true the SW is 12 years old but it still sounds viable to me. And yes Honda DOES offer a 12 volt tap for the front fairing cubby... I have one.
Back to top Go down
lowkey
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 26
Location : northern california
Points : 3411
Registration date : 2013-09-08

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2014 8:29 am

But finishing BEHIND the Kymco?

I think the reviewers were giving credit for what
the Kymco COULD be---were it developed for a
year by Honda...or ten years by Kymco.  Smile
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM


Number of posts : 2316
Age : 70
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 6414
Registration date : 2012-05-17

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSat Jan 04, 2014 8:42 am

lowkey wrote:
But finishing BEHIND the Kymco?

I think the reviewers were giving credit for what
the Kymco COULD be---were it developed for a
year by Honda...or ten years by Kymco.  Smile

You need to take in consideration that motorcycle mags emphasize the "sportiness" and "handling" more than "practicality" and "reliability". Determine what is important to YOU. Most car mags are the same. They get excited about a car than can smoke 150 mph and ignore how a cage is "around town". I read the review and just try and apply it to MY needs. Personally the vibration of the Kymco and "tiring after 100 miles" would drop the Kymco to the bottom. In addition the seat height of the BMW (my inseam is 32 inches) would drop it down to third...

Just saying.
Back to top Go down
lowkey
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 26
Location : northern california
Points : 3411
Registration date : 2013-09-08

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: ".....lardy arse..."   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 6:06 am

Another short video review.
She is entertaining.

(And the Swing is silver, prettier than my ugly black one.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaQNSvUEQo0


=======


Last edited by lowkey on Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:06 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Spacing.)
Back to top Go down
Colin B
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Colin B


Number of posts : 586
Age : 70
Location : Windsor, UK
Points : 4190
Registration date : 2013-03-20

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 7:28 am

That review is dated 2003!


Back to top Go down
lowkey
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 26
Location : northern california
Points : 3411
Registration date : 2013-09-08

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 8:34 am

Colin B wrote:
That review is dated 2003!




In many senses, so is the 2013 Silverwing!  Smile

(Honestly, for me it was almost more about the British
woman, her interesting vocabulary and her delivery of it.
Those British people, both men and women, some can
be fun to listen to.)
Back to top Go down
Colin B
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Colin B


Number of posts : 586
Age : 70
Location : Windsor, UK
Points : 4190
Registration date : 2013-03-20

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 9:25 am

She's "Northern". We don't all speak like that.  queen 
Back to top Go down
Old Limey
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Old Limey


Number of posts : 921
Age : 78
Location : BOLTON LANCASHIRE ENGLAND
Points : 5574
Registration date : 2010-06-09

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 12:55 pm

I do! The current price of the Silverwing in the Uk is £6995. I have been looking as, i will be changing my bike this year. I want to try out the Maxsym 600 that should be in the UK in Spring at £5999.. It will need to be very good to make me change from another Silverwing. Smile When i have been in the USA i have had people just wanting to hear my accent, they love it apparently!! In London there are so many immigants parts of it no longer speak English. Like our accent or not it is part of where we come from.


Last edited by Old Limey on Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
NEW Silverwing Review. 510-80


Number of posts : 2940
Age : 73
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7836
Registration date : 2010-02-17

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 17, 2014 1:23 pm

Colin B wrote:
She's "Northern". We don't all speak like that.  queen 
  Same problem we have here.    Laughing         Or they have.      sunny


Last edited by "Hi Yo" on Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
jspiero
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider



Number of posts : 7
Age : 45
Location : Tel Aviv, Israel
Points : 3417
Registration date : 2013-08-04

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 4:43 am

@Old Limey
If the Maxsym 600 is anything like the Maxsym 400, do not touch it, it is simply horrible. Vibrates at low speeds, not stable above 130 KPH and nowhere near as reliable as the Honda.

Just my two cents.
Back to top Go down
Old Limey
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Old Limey


Number of posts : 921
Age : 78
Location : BOLTON LANCASHIRE ENGLAND
Points : 5574
Registration date : 2010-06-09

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 1:13 pm

jspiero, Having just come back from a great days riding, I really think the Silverwing is in a class of it's own. I have more or less decided to replace my seven year old, it was three year old when i got it, forty thousand mile( well it will be in late spring) with a new Silverwing. Smile
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew


Number of posts : 4060
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 8566
Registration date : 2010-11-16

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 1:48 pm

There's a couple of used low mileage Silver Wings in www.castlemotorcycles.co.uk in Castleford, West Yorkshire if you want to save a few bob.  Smile
Back to top Go down
Old Limey
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Old Limey


Number of posts : 921
Age : 78
Location : BOLTON LANCASHIRE ENGLAND
Points : 5574
Registration date : 2010-06-09

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 1:56 pm

I have my eye on a 2013, Bike in Hunt's  of Stockport. It's got 1,785mls one owner, with an Airflow screen and colour coded top box for £5395. I could buy it now, but it's not my Birthday till August. I will just have to wait till then. Sad 
Back to top Go down
Colin B
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Colin B


Number of posts : 586
Age : 70
Location : Windsor, UK
Points : 4190
Registration date : 2013-03-20

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 6:07 pm

Old Limey wrote:
It's not my Birthday till August.

But it is your Un-Birthday tomorrow!  bounce
Back to top Go down
DickO
Founding Member
DickO


Number of posts : 996
Age : 77
Location : Atchison, KS
Points : 6216
Registration date : 2008-12-23

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 19, 2014 11:18 pm

... "Un-Birthday" ...  Question Question Question scratch scratch scratch 
Back to top Go down
Colin B
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Colin B


Number of posts : 586
Age : 70
Location : Windsor, UK
Points : 4190
Registration date : 2013-03-20

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 20, 2014 1:17 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Un-birthday

Un-Birthday - from " Through the Looking Glass, and what Alice found there", by Lewis Carroll . If you haven't read the book, you must have seen the Di$ney film "Alice in Wonderland"..??

The principle; why wait for your birthday, when you can have un un-birthday every other day of the year.

 drunken


Last edited by Colin B on Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:33 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : link added)
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
NEW Silverwing Review. 510-80


Number of posts : 2940
Age : 73
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7836
Registration date : 2010-02-17

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 20, 2014 3:29 am

Colin B wrote:
Old Limey wrote:
It's not my Birthday till August.

But it is your Un-Birthday tomorrow!  bounce
   And a half-birthday in less than a month!  Better grab that S'Wing now!     ½ bdaycake
Back to top Go down
Old Limey
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Old Limey


Number of posts : 921
Age : 78
Location : BOLTON LANCASHIRE ENGLAND
Points : 5574
Registration date : 2010-06-09

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 20, 2014 12:21 pm

I am quite confidant that when July/ August comes around, my next bike will be out there somewhere. Meantime, nothing wrong with the one i have. Smile 
Back to top Go down
DickO
Founding Member
DickO


Number of posts : 996
Age : 77
Location : Atchison, KS
Points : 6216
Registration date : 2008-12-23

NEW Silverwing Review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: NEW Silverwing Review.   NEW Silverwing Review. I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 20, 2014 4:47 pm

[quote="Colin B" wrote"
Un-Birthday - from " Through the Looking Glass, and what Alice found there", by Lewis Carroll . If you haven't read the book, you must have seen the Di$ney film "Alice in Wonderland"..??
[/quote]

Aha...  never saw the 'Looking Glass' thing and it's just been to darn long since I saw "Alice in Wonderland"...
Back to top Go down
 
NEW Silverwing Review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» MotorcycleDaily review 2002 SilverWing
» First Impressions Multi Scoot test / review
» Morphous Review
» '08 SWing mini-review
» Kymco Myroad 700 Review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: