Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Swinging in the Rain
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Mottza Today at 12:12 pm

» What did you do to your SW today.
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Mottza Today at 12:11 pm

» Rear shocks setting
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby BroOKS2K9 Today at 9:48 am

» HayvenMoses
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby oldwingguy Today at 7:47 am

» Front wheel wobble
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby bergwerk Today at 3:22 am

» Tell us a joke
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Dale N. Today at 12:18 am

» Squeaking Rubbing sound
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Mech 1 twa Yesterday at 5:38 pm

» any gilera gp800 riders
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Cosmic_Jumper Yesterday at 4:21 pm

» The Blue Suit
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby terrier Yesterday at 9:40 am

» Good Lord the Storage
Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeby Loosemarbles Yesterday at 8:28 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
 

 Honda sh 300i long term review.

Go down 
+6
marco
GHM-PM
model28a
tankyuong
"Hi Yo"
woodworker
10 posters
AuthorMessage
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 10:08 am

I have been the proud owner of a honda sh 300i for 18 months now.Bought brand new in silver,this is my first scooter after 25 years of various motorcycles.I believe you do not have the 300 version in the states just the 150cc.Interestingly we do not have the 150 version only the 125cc version.Anyway i believe the sh 300i has a bit of a reputation for being a wolf in sheeps clothing, let me tell you this scoot has a growl.Mine has 1500 miles on the clock now its quiet running 85 mpg ,if your sedate with the throttle.I have seen 90mph on the speedo and still going .The handling is really surefooted no problems in the wet, but is affected by crosswinds slightly.The seat is comfy for 50 miles or so then i take a break[old bones]ha.Those 16" wheels deal with potholes no drama and no spine jarring experience.I have fitted a puig screen too mine for added comfort and honda knuckle guards.Also have heated grips as cannot stand cold hands.The honda combined brakes with abs are truly amazing, would be very reluctant too purchase another bike without it.Things i do not like are; the storage underseat is small no full face helmet going in there,hence the topbox.Would have liked a slightly bigger fuel tank.And its looks lets face it not going too win any beauty pagents.But my biggest issue is not the sh but car drivers, they assume because your on a scooter you have no acceleration and they constantly pull out on me. The look on there faces when your bearing down on them, this is where the linked brakes come into there own.A friend with a 600 fazer said come out with me on the scoot we will go to a motorcycle clothing outlet ,when we got there he said too me what have you got in that thing a turbo ?I replied too him jokeingly perhaps your fazer needs a tune up ha.The sh 300i wieghs 164kgs and puts out around 26bhp does not sound alot ,but in the real world all i need especially as so manoverable in traffic.The new forza got some big boots too fill when it replaces the sh300 affectionately known as [scoopy].
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 11:09 am

Honda sh 300i long term review. Dsc03415
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Honda sh 300i long term review. 510-80

Number of posts : 2944
Age : 72
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7357
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 11:35 am

applause  and in the proper section. Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks? Smile  I try to learn one each day. Of course it may be the one from the day before that I have forgotten
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 12:08 pm

Thanks hi yo for the applause ,how do you do that?Tried too post a pic but not having it so this old dog still got some tricks too learn ha.
Back to top Go down
tankyuong
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
tankyuong

Number of posts : 475
Age : 46
Location : Missouri
Points : 5089
Registration date : 2009-07-12

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 1:36 pm

What's the mpg ?
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Honda sh 300i long term review. 510-80

Number of posts : 2944
Age : 72
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7357
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 2:24 pm

woodworker wrote:
Thanks hi yo for the applause ,how do you do that?Tried too post a pic but not having it so this old dog still got some tricks too learn ha.
The emoticons are to the left. To get applause click "view more emoticons" and go to "new smiles" applause  If you go to the main forum page and "tips on using this site" you can find threads on uploading pictures and other helpful information. Just play with the different screens. Also, if you want specific info, enter the search in the search box [upper left hand corner]. It's good for rainy days when you can't ride.
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Honda sh 300i long term review. 510-80

Number of posts : 2944
Age : 72
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7357
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 2:26 pm

tankyuong wrote:
What's the mpg ?
85 per his review
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 3:52 pm

Thanks hi yo, your right a wet weather play on the p.c.
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 3:54 pm

Hi tankyuong , 85 mpg for the sh 300i, not bad ah.
Back to top Go down
tankyuong
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
tankyuong

Number of posts : 475
Age : 46
Location : Missouri
Points : 5089
Registration date : 2009-07-12

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 4:13 pm

Awesome
Back to top Go down
model28a
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
model28a

Number of posts : 2089
Age : 68
Location : St.Pete.FL.
Points : 6355
Registration date : 2010-02-03

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 20, 2013 9:32 pm

Thank you. applause
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Woodworker's SH300I   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 6:21 am


Honda sh 300i long term review. Dsc03426
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 6:28 am

Honda sh 300i long term review. Dsc03427
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 6:32 am

Honda sh 300i long term review. Dsc03428
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: POSTED PICTURES.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 6:45 am

Surprised Hi all managed too post some pics with the aid of my son.:lol!: Still learning day by day so give me a round of applause Woodworker.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 6:55 am

applause Well done bud applause
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Honda sh 300i long term review. 510-80

Number of posts : 2944
Age : 72
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 7357
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 7:46 am

applause  applause  applause  applause  applause  applause  applause  applause  applause  applause 
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSat Sep 21, 2013 9:29 am

Thanks for the applause chaps , do i win a prize aswell ha.Smile 
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 2019
Age : 68
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 5576
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 22, 2013 8:50 am

Nice feedback! And a good looking scoot!
Back to top Go down
marco
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 91
Location : manchester
Points : 4150
Registration date : 2010-07-21

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeSun Sep 22, 2013 12:46 pm

Ive had 2 sh 300's and they really are exellent machines, light , very quick, handle well and superb breaks, if I didnt take a pillion as much I would still have one.
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 5:13 am

Hi marco,number 1 scoot in italy .Cannot understand why the big red dropping them over here sales must be poor i guess.Interestly enough when i asked my local honda dealer why they have not got a honda integra or a 600cc swing on display ,they replied because they are so low volume sellers in the u.k.They sold 1 integra last year.Surely you should have your whole product range on display?They have the room,a controversial question now do you think the big wing will be phased out in favour of the integra?or a new replacement 600 forza maybe , be safe marco.cheers 
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 5:45 am

Hi all scooterists, a big question too all the wing fans do not wish too offend anyone, but do you think honda will replace the big swing with the integra?Or maybe dare i say Embarassed a 600 forza, what do you think.?Suspect 
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 2019
Age : 68
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 5576
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 9:59 am

woodworker wrote:
Hi all scooterists, a big question too all the wing fans do not wish too offend anyone, but do you think honda will replace the big swing with the integra?Or maybe  dare i say Embarassed a 600 forza, what do you think.?Suspect 
To be honest, I am not even sure that Honda will replace the big SWing. Lots of rumors but bear in mind that Honda did not make a 2011 Gold Wing and then came out with an updated 2012 model... The Metropolitan was made in 2009 (in Japan) then no new models until 2012 (made in Taiwan or someplace). So perhaps the Silver Wing will get an update and reappear in a year or two... Who knows?
Back to top Go down
marco
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 91
Location : manchester
Points : 4150
Registration date : 2010-07-21

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 10:11 am

my honda dealer listed my silverwing ( before I bought it) as 'the last one', on his website, and I was told the silverwing was being fazed out in favour of the integra, which is going up to 750 cc by the way. If I were you woodworker Id be keeping your sh300 if they arn't in the 2014 model line up in the UK.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3737
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7742
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 10:24 am

As it's been said many times before Honda updated and replaced the original FJS Silver Wing with the SW-T 400 and 600 variants a couple of years ago and it's available in Europe, but not the UK and USA. So Honda already have 300, 400, and 600cc scooters in their lineup, and 700 too if you class the Integra as one. It's also rumoured the Integra is going get a 750cc engine for 2014 along with the rest of it's current 700cc manual and DCT stablemates.
Back to top Go down
Dimond
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Dimond

Number of posts : 540
Age : 76
Location : San Francisco Bay Area
Points : 4324
Registration date : 2011-08-07

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 23, 2013 4:49 pm

Nice review on your Scoopy - great scoot for around town - especially on hills where the SWing is a handful to park. Don't seem to be any Scoopy's in the USA. I don't think the Forza is going to make it in USA as it is too big and too little horsepower - there are other options that are lighter which is a big plus for City riding on a scooter. If you want to be SEEN - add a 35 watt HID (DDMTUNING.COM) to your scoot - it helps immensely.
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 10:21 am

All interesring pionts guys ,i did hear the rumour about upping the ponies on the n.c. range from 700cc too 750cc ,however did not hear the rumour about the integra.I got a gut feeling the integra will takeover the swings place in the u.k.[big boots to fill].As meldrew said can you class the integra as a scoot?Plus its so ugly too boot ha.I am off too the bike show in november will be taking a close look at the honda stand,and the piaggio stand believe they got traction control now who would have thought it .Ride safe guys.
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3737
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7742
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 10:46 am

I don't think the Integra is ugly, just different. I was looking at a used one in a Honda dealership in West Yorkshire this morning. To make it into a half decent tourer you'd need to shell out for a set of hard panniers and a rack and a large top box, and probably another screen and some handguards. I'm not sure Mrs M would like to be sat on the rather skinny pillion seat for 300 mile days either. Whether or not it needs upgrading to a 750 I've no idea.

Bike shows are a waste of time, you can't get near the scooters or bikes you're interested in for an procession of spotty Herbert's sitting on them while their equally spotty mates take photos on their mobiles. Ditto Dad and lad doing it too, and the brochure collecting saddos who get on them and proceed to get in a racing crouch with their chin on the tank, and wind the throttle open. Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
Dimond
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Dimond

Number of posts : 540
Age : 76
Location : San Francisco Bay Area
Points : 4324
Registration date : 2011-08-07

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 12:24 pm

Meldrew wrote:
To make it into a half decent tourer you'd need to shell out for a set of hard panniers and a rack and a large top box, and probably another screen and some handguards. I'm not sure Mrs M would like to be sat on the rather skinny pillion seat for 300 mile days either.

Bike shows are a waste of time,
Meldrew - Great Integra insight! Thanks. Wonder why they don't sell them in USA? We seem to have fewer Honda models to choose from in USA - don't know why.

In USA we have the International Motorcycle Show that goes around USA to twelve major cities (Oct to Feb). For the one near me San Mateo CA, they bring along tons of bikes that you can oogle and sit on - crowds not too bad - go early. They have many vendors, dirt bike races, trick sports bike riding, and a huge number of bikes that you can demo ride - all of which is highly entertaining/interesting. Plus - you can get a lot of free stuff - not all of which is junk/trash. If you are in the USA go to motorcycleshows.com. Tickets range from $20 (1 day) to $30 (3 day) and if enter IMS14S (guessing that the S is for San Mateo so you have have to diddle with the last letter depending on your City - or call Progressive MC Insurance) to get a $3discount. If you have time you will find it quite the kick.
Back to top Go down
marco
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 91
Location : manchester
Points : 4150
Registration date : 2010-07-21

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 1:05 pm

when I bought my silverwing , me and the wife sat on an integra which had 15 miles on the clock and 1000 pounds under list price. for comfort levels and weather protection the silverwing wins easily. I also had a test ride last year on an integra, found the DCT more of a 'gizmo gearbox' which was fiddly and unnecessary.
Back to top Go down
Dimond
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
Dimond

Number of posts : 540
Age : 76
Location : San Francisco Bay Area
Points : 4324
Registration date : 2011-08-07

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 1:43 pm

marco wrote:
when I bought my silverwing , me and the wife sat on an integra which had 15 miles on the clock and 1000 pounds under list price. for comfort levels and weather protection the silverwing wins easily. I also had a test ride last year on an integra, found the DCT  more of a 'gizmo gearbox' which was fiddly and unnecessary.
CycleWorld.com (http://www.cycleworld.com/2012/12/03/2013-honda-integra-scooter-first-ride/ ) gives the Integra a very decent review ("....the Integra, which handles and rides way better than any maxi-scooter in production today") . What I find most appealing is the structural rigidity in tight corners - which is lacking in my SWing. My SWing is a great ride - but not so on bumpy roads and manuevers in aggressive cornering. I never ride 2 Up so co-rider comfort is not a consideration. Wonder if it will ever come to USA?
Back to top Go down
marco
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 91
Location : manchester
Points : 4150
Registration date : 2010-07-21

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 2:07 pm

Yes Diamond, I must agree that the integra handles well, its got bigger wheels than the silverwing, and the nc 700 engine is all good , I owned a nc700x when they first came out, but the silverwing is a better allround package. If it was just about the handling Id still be riding a fireblade.
Back to top Go down
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 2:56 pm

Never thought the bike show would be like that meldrew,hope not when myself and twin bro get there .Never been before.I believe the 700cc engine in the n.c. range and integra are basically half a honda jazz car engine:o is that true anyone.silent 
Back to top Go down
RArch
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
RArch

Number of posts : 613
Age : 54
Location : West London, UK
Points : 4205
Registration date : 2011-11-07

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 24, 2013 5:23 pm

woodworker wrote:
I believe the 700cc engine in the n.c. range and integra are basically half a honda jazz car engine:o is that true anyone.silent 
No Laughing 

"Project leader Soya Uchida laughed: “I got a hacksaw and cut a Jazz engine in half, but it really didn’t run very well, so we had to put some more work into the NC700X.”"

"This is a term from the car world and Uchida’s joking aside, here lies the clue to the roots of the engine: the technology and even some of the components come from Honda’s Jazz four-cylinder. The bore and slightly longer stroke (73 x 80mm) are the same as the car’s and so is all of the fundamental engine technology"

You can read all about here: http://www.ashonbikes.com/content/honda-nc700x-0
Back to top Go down
http://www.rcmodeltalk.co.uk
woodworker
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 129
Location : Oxford u.k.
Points : 3030
Registration date : 2013-09-19

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeWed Sep 25, 2013 7:42 am

Smile Rarch read the report interesting stuff,like the idea of low centre of gravity as well.
Back to top Go down
corduraman
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 9
Location : UK
Points : 1717
Registration date : 2016-11-28

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 29, 2016 5:36 am

Sorry to raise this old thread again however the Sh300i is once again available to purchase in the U.K. at £4799 sterling - the new model is euro 4 complient and has improved fuel economy - has a flat-floored step through design and is 1kg lighter than the previous model - it now features led lights front and back and has enough underseat space for a full face helmet - it also features a smart key system for effortless remote convenience - this scooter sits on sixteen inch wheels which offer superior comfort on the move - capable of over 90 mph and returning over 80 miles per imperial gallon it sure fits the bill for many a rider - perhaps the only negative point is that the fuel tank is under the seat - one can accessorise the scooter by choosing from a high windshield/knuckle guards/heated grips and top box - I'm still loving my 2011 model which is currently in hibernation for winter
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Visiting Curmudgeon
Meldrew

Number of posts : 3737
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 7742
Registration date : 2010-11-16

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 29, 2016 7:06 am

Hello mate, it's horses for courses, the Silver Wing may be long in the tooth and finally discontinued in the UK, but it's a twin cylinder, feet forward scooter with decent weather protection and plenty of underseat storage, and is a very capable tourer.

The SH 300i is past and current form is a single cylinder, big wheel, feet flat scooter, and very capable for that type of scooter, but it's more of a commuter scooter than anything. woodworker was forever plugging his SH 300i during his time on here.

The new improved 2016 model was probably on display on the Honda stand at Motorcycle Live in Birmingham last week, I didn't bother looking.
Back to top Go down
corduraman
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 9
Location : UK
Points : 1717
Registration date : 2016-11-28

Honda sh 300i long term review. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Honda sh 300i long term review.   Honda sh 300i long term review. I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 29, 2016 8:26 am

Yes I totally agree with you - the Swing appears to have a worldwide following
Back to top Go down
 
Honda sh 300i long term review.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Best long-term parking rates for Ottawa airport?
» 2011 RZR XP Long Term Wrap Up
» Highlifter Outlaw, Radial, Bighorns, Rockers, just cant decide...
» YESTERDAY - Bret Hart WCW = Today Brock Lesnar WWE?
» Judo - Healthy?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Other Scooters and Motorcycles :: Other Scooter Topics-
Jump to: