Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Hi, Welcome to the Silverwing 600 Forum. We ask that you be polite and also introduce yourself on your 1st post. The members are friendly and helpful so just have fun. There is www.maxi-scoots.com site that is geared for all scooters and motorcycles.
 
HomeGallerySearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» New Honda Adventure Scooter
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby bikehiker Yesterday at 11:23 pm

» Installed a C.L.M. lock on Swing.
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby sc00ter Yesterday at 11:00 pm

» Greetings from southern Oregon
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby Osprey Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:17 pm

» Front brake issues
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby exavid Mon Feb 24, 2020 1:16 am

» Yes Virginia, there is an American scooter magazine
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby Howardr Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:27 pm

» Hello ! New SW600 owner
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby LECHETTAN Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:50 am

» left signal turn
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby LECHETTAN Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:30 am

» Seeking Hard Side Cases for Silverwing
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby john grinsel Sat Feb 22, 2020 11:38 am

» Loss of a friend
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby GoonerKev Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:01 am

» New Member RevDougLeBow
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeby Osprey Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:12 pm

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
Share
 

 Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology

Go down 
AuthorMessage
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2855
Age : 80
Points : 7234
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 06, 2017 2:26 pm

Every time I post something---Cosmic Jumper moves it around---pure power play in my book---Latest he moved thing I wrote on 3 day day and possible 49 state ride 2017.  He put in rides and then as I see it only Admin can reply.   This is BS to me.

I think membership could at least gain something from it in Latest  Topics where people read/gain something/comment.

Have ABS problem now....but afraid to post something on progress/costs,etc....as it might get moved around or?
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3293
Age : 76
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 7734
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 06, 2017 2:48 pm

I'm going to recuse myself from this topic, however I did post a question to the other Admin/Mods on Monday, April 3rd regarding who may have "Locked" recent posts. So far none of the other Admin/Mods have responded to that inquiry. Hopefully now that you aired your grievance someone will step up and resolve the issue.

Tim
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 06, 2017 4:20 pm

Sorry, Tim - I missed all this.

Not guilty of locking anything recently.

I know from experience how irritating and depressing it can be when being slagged off for trying to do the right thing.

I'm passed caring and just do what I think, hopefully with the agreement of all of us.
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 1704
Age : 67
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 4717
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 06, 2017 7:09 pm

I have moved John's posts, as he just drops them wherever they may fall.  Sorry if this wasn't good, but it is hard to find his posts when in wrong area.  I have not knowingly locked any posts or topics.  If I did accidentally, I apologize, but if so have no idea how I did it!   Crying or Very sad
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 3:02 am

Glenn, if you scroll to the bottom of any thread you will see all the tools needed to 'do' things like locking threads.
There's a drop-down menu entitled 'Quick mod tools'.

Smile

(edited for punctuation)


Last edited by MikeO on Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 1704
Age : 67
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 4717
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 7:39 am

Thanks Mike. That is how I moved topics. But have not hit the lock topic to my knowledge...
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3293
Age : 76
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 7734
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 10:54 am

I have to offer my apology to Mr Grinsel and explain what took place. When you added your "Maybe going to ride 49 states..." to the existing "20W-50 Castrol..." topic (which shouldn't have been in Introductions either), the Topic continuity got out of hand.

When your "49 state..." post was moved to the more appropriate Riding Topic it went to the root of that Topic section. It was brought to my attention by Cliffyk that only Admins are able to reply to posts in the root section.  Who knew? "Mea culpa" So, yes, you were unintentionally "locked" from that thread. It's not a "power play" by anyone, it's the way the forum works when things go wrong.

Mr Grinsel your post has now been moved to 'Rides and Stories' where you can post additional comments. It is unfortunate that you were inconvenienced but if you had initiated your post in an appropriate Topic -instead of hijacking another conversation- this would never have taken place.

While I learned something new about moving posts from this dust up, the necessity of handling hijacked threads was also reinforced. Going forward, hijacked threads and posts initiated in the wrong Topic will continue to be moved. You just may have to expend a little more effort to find it.

Thanks to Cliffyk for his help in this matter.

Tim
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 11:33 am

Looks very good to me, Tim.

It takes good grace and courage to apologize; I expect 'Grumpy' John will appreciate it whether or not he says so.

Onwards and upwards! Smile
Back to top Go down
GHM-PM
Site Admin
GHM-PM

Number of posts : 1704
Age : 67
Location : Bullhead City, AZ
Points : 4717
Registration date : 2012-05-17

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 12:28 pm

Good information for all of us. Thanks for the clarification, Tim.
Back to top Go down
NWSSC
Site Admin
NWSSC

Number of posts : 419
Age : 82
Location : Mt Prospect IL 30 miles west of Chicago
Points : 4119
Registration date : 2010-03-03

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Subject: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology    Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 12:47 pm

Amen, I think decent weather can not arrive soon enough so we can all go for a good long ride. Wink Howard
Back to top Go down
http://www.northwestsuburbanscooterclub.com/
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology 510-80

Number of posts : 2936
Age : 71
Location : Winnsboro, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 6831
Registration date : 2010-02-17

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 3:29 pm

MikeO wrote:
Sorry,

I'm passed caring and just do what I think, hopefully with the agreement of all of us.




Carry on young man, I for one appreciate what y'all do for us.


thumbs up thumbs up thumbs up
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 07, 2017 4:43 pm

Thank you, Hi Yo; you've always been supportive and it's very much appreciated.
Back to top Go down
john grinsel
Curmudgeon
john grinsel

Number of posts : 2855
Age : 80
Points : 7234
Registration date : 2009-08-18

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 7:51 am

Ok---I see people other than Admin can now make replies. Thanks.

I am having ABS problem, where should I post comments so it doesn't get moved around and nobody can read/comment?
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 8:22 am

Mm - interesting point, John.
I've looked at the titles of sections on the Forum and am forced to admit I can't find one labelled 'Help' or 'Problems'.
Perhaps I've overlooked it.
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3293
Age : 76
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 7734
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 8:23 am

john grinsel wrote:
Ok---I see people other than Admin can now make replies. Thanks.

I am having ABS problem, where should I post comments so it doesn't get moved around and nobody can read/comment?

Seems like that would belong in the " Honda Silver Wing" Topics of the "Silver Wing" Forum".

Click on "Forum" on the blue tool bar; drop down to "Honda Silver Wing" under Forums; the click on ""Silver Wing Topics".

Alternatively it might also go in the "Maintenance, Tips and Hints" of that same Forum.

Tim
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 8:53 am

Understood, Tim.
I think it needs to be more easily spotted.
I wondered about 'Maintenance, Tips and Hints' but that doesn't lend itself to someone asking for help with a specific problem.
I think we need a section labelled 'Help'.
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3293
Age : 76
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 7734
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 9:59 am

I agree that we need a "Help" section, Mike. I'm sure others could also offer suggestions for other enhancements to the forum as well. However revamping the forum is above my pay grade. I'm still working out 'how to administrate'.

Tim
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 08, 2017 10:38 am

Same here, Tim; I try to avoid attempting anything as technical as that.
I fear my finger seems drawn automatically to any button marked 'DELETE'!
Back to top Go down
Modernman1953
Touring Scooter Rider
Touring Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 379
Location : Yuma, AZ
Points : 1791
Registration date : 2016-06-01

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 09, 2017 9:16 pm

John,

If you apply to the admins, I am confident they will refund every penny you paid for your online subscription.
Back to top Go down
Cosmic_Jumper
Site Admin
Cosmic_Jumper

Number of posts : 3293
Age : 76
Location : damn near Philadelphia, PA
Points : 7734
Registration date : 2009-06-12

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 10, 2017 7:24 pm

Hi Yo wrote:
Modernman1953 wrote:
John, If you apply to the admins, I am confident they will refund every penny you paid for your online subscription.  

 Mine was promptly refunded.

Well, we do reserve the right to retain your application fee.
Back to top Go down
Lost it
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 138
Age : 63
Location : Hayling Island UK
Points : 441
Registration date : 2019-05-13

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri May 31, 2019 10:13 am

I didn't know there was a fee... Where do I pay?
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
MikeO

Number of posts : 3229
Age : 70
Location : Seaham, Co Durham, UK
Points : 7319
Registration date : 2009-06-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri May 31, 2019 11:02 am

Tongues in cheeks. ;-)

From time to time here (fortunately very rarely) as on other forums, things get a bit heated.
Usually on Silverwing600 things get sorted out with good humour and 'tongue-in-cheekness'.

That's what happened here, methinks.

We are fortunate that the owner of the site doesn't ask for contributions although I suspect enough of us would if he asked. :-)
Back to top Go down
oldwingguy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru


Number of posts : 1407
Location : Hocking Hills U.S.A.
Points : 3066
Registration date : 2016-01-29

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri May 31, 2019 12:27 pm

Love it, all refunds will be issued the 2nd Tuesday of last week.
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Site Admin
Dale N.

Number of posts : 1417
Age : 73
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 3746
Registration date : 2014-02-13

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri May 31, 2019 2:14 pm

oldwingguy wrote:
Love it, all refunds will be issued the 2nd Tuesday of last week.

I can hardly wait for the second Tuesday of last week. I need that money now and last week's 2nd Tuesday will work out just fine for me.
Back to top Go down
Lost it
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 138
Age : 63
Location : Hayling Island UK
Points : 441
Registration date : 2019-05-13

Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology Empty
PostSubject: Re: Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology   Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology I_icon_minitimeFri May 31, 2019 2:23 pm

If you didn't apply for a refund before the 30th of February, it's too late.
Back to top Go down
 
Complaint---Admin Cosmic Jumper, And An Apology
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Complaint against USA Judo
» Genuine complaint
» New Admin
» Water Proof
» New to the sport tired of waiting for them ! Time to go and find them !

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Tips on using this site-
Jump to: