Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the home for Honda SilverWing and everyone interested. This is a place to ask questions, share, and learn about the SilverWing and its dedicated riders. Please post an introduction when you join as a sign of Courtesy.
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» manual for sale
by Mr Blobby Today at 06:20

» Silverwing Service Manual PDF
by supermahon Yesterday at 23:35

» Greetings from New Jersey
by supermahon Yesterday at 23:17

» Scooter Bob signing on!
by Scooter Bob Yesterday at 22:02

» Anyone ever carry a silverwing on the back of an rv?
by EvilTwin Yesterday at 15:05

» Battery compartment size?
by Thebreen Yesterday at 14:26

» New Maxi Scooter
by E.D. Yesterday at 03:20

» The black bra
by exavid Yesterday at 00:45

» Oil Changing Pictorial
by Cosmic_Jumper Mon 26 Jun 2017, 13:15

» Spray cans of paint
by BarryH Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:42

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
Share | 
 

 Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 436
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2002
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 28 Jan 2016, 11:43

I can't say anything bad about 2015, but I can relate to the health issues we get in our later years. My 2014 was pretty miserable: We went to France for 3 weeks in August, and upon my return I got a bad anal fissure. Not sure why or how, but I've had issues in that area so it was no big surprise: but the damned pain was. It is the most horrible pain I've experienced. My open left leg did not feel that bad ( I was on IV morphine for the worst of it), but for this one, no pain killer seemed to work.
I was sidelined for the rest of the season., and could do nothing with the great fall weather. And that feeling of helplessness does not help at all. Absolutely nothing could ease that pain. It took a strict routine of watching what I ate and supplemented with roughage, etc to finally get over the worst and have some semblance of normality. 2015 was relatively pain free for me, and I am thankful that I have good days now. I remind myself to thank God everyday.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2023
Age : 74
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 5028
Registration date : 2009-07-17

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 28 Jan 2016, 19:03

cotetoi I gotta say I thought I was the only one in the world to have that ailment. Went through the cycle several times before resulting to surgery. Never had another problem but I can sure sympathize with you.
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 436
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2002
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 28 Jan 2016, 20:36

exavid, there were times when the same thought occurred to me. Thanks to the internet, I was able to find info on it. It is a fairly common ailment, but due to the sensitive nature few people talk about it.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
Art
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 271
Location : Garwood Tx
Points : 831
Registration date : 2015-12-25

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 29 Jan 2016, 00:04

I had to look up 'anal fissure' heard of it but never looked it up before, sounds awful
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2023
Age : 74
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 5028
Registration date : 2009-07-17

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 29 Jan 2016, 01:23

I just remembered, you are the only one on the world with that. I was the only one on the world with an anal fistula. Not pleasant either.
Back to top Go down
westgl
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 52
Age : 55
Location : oregon
Points : 1234
Registration date : 2014-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 14 Apr 2016, 17:10

NICE


Last edited by westgl on Sat 16 Apr 2016, 18:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 436
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2002
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 14 Apr 2016, 18:13

Young whippersnapper doctor inherited the old man's medical practice and patients. One night after supper, the young man informs the old man that he has cured one of his father's patients. This one would visit every week without fail, with the same complaint: improving one week, then down the following week. Dad looks at whippersnapper: " How do you think I got you through med school? ".
Just thought I'd lighten the mood a little.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
westgl
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 52
Age : 55
Location : oregon
Points : 1234
Registration date : 2014-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Thu 14 Apr 2016, 19:20

Yup sounds good


Last edited by westgl on Sat 16 Apr 2016, 18:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
avatar

Number of posts : 601
Age : 70
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 1888
Registration date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 14:14

I've already told my kids that if I come down with some kind of incurable cancer I'm not getting radiation or chemo. I'll just tell the doctor to give me something for the pain once it gets too strong for me to function and let nature take its course. My father and brother both died from cancer and withered away with all the radiation and chemo they got. Not to mention the pain and suffering they went through.

I did have prostate cancer but it was still confined in the prostate. They just took it out and I'm good to go, so far.
Back to top Go down
westgl
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 52
Age : 55
Location : oregon
Points : 1234
Registration date : 2014-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:03

Yeah Me to


Last edited by westgl on Sat 16 Apr 2016, 18:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
westgl
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 52
Age : 55
Location : oregon
Points : 1234
Registration date : 2014-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:12

Yeah I think so


Last edited by westgl on Sat 16 Apr 2016, 18:39; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
westgl
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 52
Age : 55
Location : oregon
Points : 1234
Registration date : 2014-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:14

that's right


Last edited by westgl on Sat 16 Apr 2016, 18:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2968
Age : 68
Location : Garland, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 5882
Registration date : 2010-02-17

PostSubject: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:56

I'm out of here. Off to Web MD to discuss motorcycles. Laughing
Back to top Go down
gremlin
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 222
Age : 65
Location : Brisbane, Australia
Points : 1071
Registration date : 2015-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 18:12

westgl wrote:
So oxygenate the body and get it back to balanced acid and alkaline and fix a few other things like leaky gut and the repair begins

With all due respect, do you really think that this is the right forum to spread your opinions about alternative medicine? Not just one, but a whole series of lectures about the evils of modern medicine. Evil or Very Mad I am sure there are plenty of other forums where you can engage in these subjects; most of us are just on here to discuss matters relating to maxi scooters and we are happy to read any contributions you have to make regarding that subject.
Back to top Go down
sctr199
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 142
Age : 66
Location : El Cajon, CA
Points : 1585
Registration date : 2013-07-29

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Fri 15 Apr 2016, 23:35

Hi Yo wrote:
 I'm out of here.  Off to Web MD to discuss motorcycles.       Laughing

But seriously, there are some great forums at HealingWell.Com which may be helpful to those of us, including myself , who have experienced life-threatening health issues study
Back to top Go down
PeterC
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 90
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Points : 686
Registration date : 2015-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Sat 16 Apr 2016, 01:56

Hi Yo wrote:
 I'm out of here.  Off to Web MD to discuss motorcycles.       Laughing

lol! Razz lol! Smile

That's better than all the jokes on Kurt's Korner!!
Back to top Go down
Meldrew
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2583
Location : York, North Yorkshire, England UK
Points : 5050
Registration date : 2010-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Sat 16 Apr 2016, 04:55

PeterC wrote:
That's better than all the jokes on Kurt's Korner!!

G'day, I've noticed the old Sandgroper hasn't been on here for a while. He's maybe gone walkabout, opal mining, or even joke mining. scratch Smile
Back to top Go down
razorback
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 42
Age : 61
Location : arkansas
Points : 571
Registration date : 2016-01-31

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Mon 18 Apr 2016, 09:21

Dale N. wrote:
I've already told my kids that if I come down with some kind of incurable cancer I'm not getting radiation or chemo. I'll just tell the doctor to give me something for the pain once it gets too strong for me to function and let nature take its course. My father and brother both died from cancer and withered away with all the radiation and chemo they got. Not to mention the pain and suffering they went through.

I did have prostate cancer but it was still confined in the prostate. They just took it out and I'm good to go, so far.

thats the way i feel .. ride off into the sunset on my silver wing.....

FWIW i found out i had bladder cancer, confined to bladder. taking BCGs, dad died of colon cancer ... we all started dieing when we was born so its a simply a race to the finish line.


Why I/WE ride ..... flower for me i ride for the therapeutics it provides my brain and body, i ride to work and ride ride ride, only thing that keeps me from rideing is ICE. dress for the weather. a 10 min ride to work normaly takes 2-3 hours [i work 11-7]
Back to top Go down
razorback
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 42
Age : 61
Location : arkansas
Points : 571
Registration date : 2016-01-31

PostSubject: Re: Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions   Mon 18 Apr 2016, 09:24


Back to top Go down
 
Grumpy Old Men: medical opinions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Looking for opinions on wedges
» Opinions and suggestions, please!
» Grumpy tribute
» My Grumpy 60
» Jamie Roberts is not at his very best but juggling a medical degree and international rugby can't be easy...?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: General :: General Chat-
Jump to: