Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the home for Honda SilverWing and everyone interested. This is a place to ask questions, share, and learn about the SilverWing and its dedicated riders. Please post an introduction when you join as a sign of Courtesy.
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Cornering with silverwing - slow speed
by Pastor Ron Today at 20:28

» Trike Kit Installed
by Pastor Ron Today at 19:48

» Dr Pulley sliders
by Easyrider Today at 16:53

» Riding Illinois In January
by Meldrew Today at 15:08

» two months since SilverWing traded
by john grinsel Today at 11:22

» Hello from California
by SlvrwngTraveler Yesterday at 19:36

» Fuel gauge anomaly
by Mech 1 twa Yesterday at 17:16

» Everything Died!!
by Easyrider Fri 17 Nov 2017, 14:04

» Better sounding Exhaust
by ItBeMe Fri 17 Nov 2017, 12:43

» 2002 SW 600
by Nillinator Thu 16 Nov 2017, 18:56

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
Share | 
 

 Light bar - your opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 12:28

Hey guys,

I am about to make my own light bar similar to what DennisB sells. I will be installing the Optronics running lights that I picked up at Walmart. I am thinking of installing 4 lights. Two vertical pairs. Something that will look like this. Please forgive my poor Photoshopping job.



What do you, guys think?

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3107
Age : 68
Location : Salisbury UK
Points : 6365
Registration date : 2009-06-29

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 13:15

Why four lights?
Are two not sufficient?

Genuine questions, not finding fault.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 13:41

MikeO wrote:
Why four lights?
Are two not sufficient?

Genuine questions, not finding fault.

Thank you. I figured that brighter is better anyway. Plus it might look pretty cool too. :-)

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3107
Age : 68
Location : Salisbury UK
Points : 6365
Registration date : 2009-06-29

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 13:44

Thanks. Smile
Back to top Go down
Cookie
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 230
Location : Essex UK
Points : 2484
Registration date : 2011-10-03

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 16:13

Can't see a lot wrong with your photoshopping skills there Mad.
Now all you've got to do is make it!

I'd probably have settled for two lights simply to reduce the weight on the brackets bearing in mind that when you hit bumps the effective weight of the lamps can easily be multiplied up several times.
Considering the state of some of the roads round here that's an important consideration.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 16:25

Cookie wrote:

I'd probably have settled for two lights simply to reduce the weight on the brackets bearing in mind that when you hit bumps the effective weight of the lamps can easily be multiplied up several times.
Considering the state of some of the roads round here that's an important consideration.

Thank you, Cookie. This is a very good point that I did not consider. I might double the thickness of some parts of the bracket if I decide to go with the vertical duo. The problem is I have a weak flux welder that does not weld well anything above 1/8". Anyway, we will see.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
cotetoi
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 482
Location : New Brunswick, Canada
Points : 2196
Registration date : 2013-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 16:47

I like the idea of more lighting up front. With the weight of 4 lights I'd look at getting beefy bars to keep them from vibrating. If you are concerned about the "welding", you could do a combo nut and bolt plus welding for added security. Of course, the nuts and bolts would be permanent but provide strength.
Just my thoughts on yur project. Good luck with the mod.
Jay.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 17:04

cotetoi wrote:
I like the idea of more lighting up front. With the weight of 4 lights I'd look at getting beefy bars to keep them from vibrating. If you are concerned about the "welding", you could do a combo nut and bolt plus welding for added security. Of course, the nuts and bolts would be permanent but provide strength.
Just my thoughts on yur project. Good luck with the mod.
Jay.

Thanks, Jay. It is still cooking in my melon so all the ideas are appreciated. I also was thinking of only two lights, like on the original setup, but also installing two LED, short (6" or 8" long) lights stocked one on top of the other and mounted under the bracket, in the middle of it. Like these guys: Pair 20 LED White Daytime Running Lamp Auto Car Fog Light Headlamp

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Easyrider
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider


Number of posts : 451
Age : 67
Location : HI
Points : 1190
Registration date : 2015-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Fri 08 Apr 2016, 21:47

Mad,
I have two of the Wal-Mart lights that you mentioned and they are very bright. I believe that four will be too bright for the oncoming vehicle. Like driving with your high lights on. Remember, brighter is good, but blinding the oncoming drivers may be dangerous to you. My 2¢.
Back to top Go down
dspevack
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1990
Age : 52
Location : Miami, FL
Points : 5636
Registration date : 2008-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sat 09 Apr 2016, 09:01

If I used 4 lights I would aim the lower 2 @ 30 degrees outward and down a little bit, giving me cornering lighting, and the upper 2 forward and slightly down.
While its nice to see very far ahead of you, too bright a light can unconsciously attract drivers, like moth to a flame.
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sat 09 Apr 2016, 10:18

Gents,

Thanks for your advice.
It was actually my thought to aim the lights in such way so that I have a much brighter area right in front of me and a bit on the sides, rather than aiming far ahead. This way there should not be a worry for the upcoming traffic.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Art
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 272
Location : Garwood Tx
Points : 977
Registration date : 2015-12-25

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sat 09 Apr 2016, 10:55

That's probably a good idea
I don't know about the particular lights you are using but most LED lights have no vertical cut off, and that makes them pretty dangerous to use on the road, as well as illegal, which is why so many of those lights are not DOT approved
If those are DOT approved, they will have the vertical cut off, and could be aimed further down the road
Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
avatar

Number of posts : 697
Age : 71
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 2133
Registration date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sun 10 Apr 2016, 09:19

the_mad_rshn wrote:


Thank you, Cookie. This is a very good point that I did not consider. I might double the thickness of some parts of the bracket if I decide to go with the vertical duo. The problem is I have a weak flux welder that does not weld well anything above 1/8". Anyway, we will see.

Cheers,
Mad

Hi Mad,

I also have a weak flux welder that I got from Harbor Freight. My professional welder friend who lives across the street also has one. He told me that in order to weld heavier metal with it he heats it up with a torch first then welds it. He said that the only reason it won't weld heavier metal is because these weaker ones don't heat the metal enough to get penetration. By heating the metal red hot first gives the welder a jump start, so to speak.

Hope this helped.
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 437
Location : Central New England
Points : 3620
Registration date : 2009-03-24

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sun 10 Apr 2016, 23:08

Another example for you.  I very rarely ride at night, but this what I use ...for now.  Cookie brings up a good point about weight, the two bolts are the only two mounting points in this area but they were never meant to carry too much stress.

Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sun 10 Apr 2016, 23:16

Dale N. wrote:


Hi Mad,

I also have a weak flux welder that I got from Harbor Freight. My professional welder friend who lives across the street also has one. He told me that in order to weld heavier metal with it he heats it up with a torch first then welds it. He said that the only reason it won't weld heavier metal is because these weaker ones don't heat the metal enough to get penetration. By heating the metal red hot first gives the welder a jump start, so to speak.

Hope this helped.

Thank you, Dale. I have the 90A flux core welder from HF too. This is interesting about the heat, as I had no idea it could help. Thank you.

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Sun 10 Apr 2016, 23:19

masscoot wrote:



Thank you, sir. May I ask you, how good are those MR16 LED's? That is the standard in my light, but just the regular 55W light.

Thank you.
Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
Bash On!
Super Scooter Rider
Super Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 228
Location : Dallas, Texas
Points : 1068
Registration date : 2015-08-24

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Mon 11 Apr 2016, 09:04

Looks like the center two lights would impinge on the headlight beam. Do they, Paul?
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 437
Location : Central New England
Points : 3620
Registration date : 2009-03-24

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Mon 11 Apr 2016, 11:39

Dan is the King of Bling, back in the early days there were several of us who couldn't leave well enough alone and had to farkle the hell out our scoots for any number of reasons, comfort or just the enjoyment of tinkering.  He and others may be able to give some direction on newer products to look at.

Mad,  Its been so long but I think the halogens came with the MR16 base in the lamp.  If I remember correctly I had to modify the inside of the lamp housing to remove the elevated piece that the lamp base sat on, so the MR16 LED would fit down further and the cover would fit.  The LED replacements I used were the best I could find at the time (2008).  They work well, but there are better ones available now.  These are mainly for conspicuity and they do get attention, but nothing beats heads up riding!

Bash,  no interference with the headlight beam for the same reason as above.
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2085
Age : 74
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 5234
Registration date : 2009-07-17

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Mon 11 Apr 2016, 14:30

Keep an eye on total added current to make sure you don't overload your bike's alternator. Also remember that the system doesn't generate enough juice to begin charging the battery below 3000-3500rpm. The SW has a pretty good generation system but it's easy to overdo it. Stop and go riding in traffic with lots of lights can bring the battery down.
Back to top Go down
dspevack
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1990
Age : 52
Location : Miami, FL
Points : 5636
Registration date : 2008-12-27

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Mon 11 Apr 2016, 18:41

masscoot wrote:
Dan is the King of Bling, back in the early days there were several of us who couldn't leave well enough alone and had to farkle the hell out our scoots for any number of reasons, comfort or just the enjoyment of tinkering.  He and others may be able to give some direction on newer products to look at.

https://www.clearwaterlights.com//products2_pp.html

From 800 lumens to 7500 lumens....each! (12 watts to 70 watts)
You can turn night into day or land a Boeing 747....pick your poison.  (Not cheap!)
On my bike I use a pair of fork mounted Darlas.
Nice thing about these LEDs are that they are dimmable, and you can hook them up to the horn so that when you beep, they come on full power.

Dan
Back to top Go down
masscoot
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 437
Location : Central New England
Points : 3620
Registration date : 2009-03-24

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Mon 11 Apr 2016, 19:49

I knew it wouldn't take long!  Thanks Dan!  I was wrong EddieB is the king of bling.  

You are the king of custom, hands down! Cool
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Wed 13 Apr 2016, 09:41

I decided to just go with two lights for now. I can always add two more holes to the bracket for additional two lights. Here it is.

Cheers,
Mad


Back to top Go down
Dale N.
Silver Wing Expert
Silver Wing Expert
avatar

Number of posts : 697
Age : 71
Location : Princeton, MN
Points : 2133
Registration date : 2014-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Wed 13 Apr 2016, 23:19

Hi Mad,

Looks great!
Back to top Go down
the_mad_rshn
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 115
Location : Virginia near D.C.
Points : 769
Registration date : 2016-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Light bar - your opinion   Wed 13 Apr 2016, 23:33

Dale N. wrote:
Hi Mad,

Looks great!

Thank you, sir!

Cheers,
Mad
Back to top Go down
 
Light bar - your opinion
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» LED Rear Tail Light Option
» Warning light 11
» Warning light problem
» Check Engine Light, Need help!! :(!! P0440 P1448
» Low Coolant light, intermittent behavior?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: