Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the home for Honda SilverWing and everyone interested. This is a place to ask questions, share, and learn about the SilverWing and its dedicated riders. Please post an introduction when you join as a sign of Courtesy.
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Air Shocks
by Sidewinder Pilot Today at 00:08

» Introduction
by Shane114 Yesterday at 23:32

» New possible swing owner
by Bravefruitcake Yesterday at 18:33

» Reply to Post is lost
by Easyrider Yesterday at 15:10

» New Swing owner in South Wales
by "Hi Yo" Yesterday at 15:08

» A bit windy
by steve_h80 Thu 19 Oct 2017, 15:23

» New Honda three wheeler
by cliffyk Thu 19 Oct 2017, 08:19

» Pin Stripes
by bikehiker Wed 18 Oct 2017, 19:19

» Converting Non Abs Rear wheel for tone Ring woes
by siataukreg Wed 18 Oct 2017, 17:55

» Last SilverWing Ride
by oldwingguy Wed 18 Oct 2017, 08:36

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 
Share | 
 

 Givi Air Flow initial review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ridr44
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 72
Age : 63
Location : Long Island, New York
Points : 2808
Registration date : 2010-06-04

PostSubject: Givi Air Flow initial review   Sat 08 Dec 2012, 08:58

For what it's worth I thought I would give my initial impression of my new AF. As I have reported, I have had two previous SW's and on each I installed the original Givi, so I have experienced that one thoroughly.

It rained last night and I have to work today, it's overcast and the air is a bit wet this morning but I just had to give it a try...

For the maximum isolation from wind and noise, the original Givi is the way to go. The AF does pretty well but leaves some air flowing around your head, and your body, even at the max height. The price one pays for maximum isolation with the original is having the edge of the shield at your eye level. I found that most of the time I would look through the shield with the original. The AF leaves me seeing above the shield even at it's maximum height. I also noticed that the top of the shield bounces around quite a bit, I only went up to 60mph. I wonder how much it will move at 80? I'll try again tomorrow and see how it does. BTW, I purposely rode without gloves this morning and no wind on the hands:)

Hope this helps people decide...Dan
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1101
Age : 63
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 3948
Registration date : 2010-03-27

PostSubject: Re: Givi Air Flow initial review   Sat 08 Dec 2012, 16:02

Mine is good at 80mph so i don't think you'll be disappointed with it.

(tested in France where 80mph is legal)

Cheers,


Last edited by tarmacburner2 on Sat 08 Dec 2012, 16:03; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Capital 'F' in France.)
Back to top Go down
exavid
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2075
Age : 74
Location : Medford, Oregon
Points : 5194
Registration date : 2009-07-17

PostSubject: Re: Givi Air Flow initial review   Sun 09 Dec 2012, 20:24

I can tell you from first hand experience it's solid at a bit over 100mph. One thing I had to do on mine was to reshape the metal brackets a bit better so the rear end where you have to drill through the plastic to get to the welded on nut would lay flatter to the plastic. That little bit of reshaping helped a lot in getting the windshield bezel ends to screw in nice and snug with no gap. Those little metal plates do stiffen up the installation quite a bit. I bolted on the screen without them just to see how solid it would be and got a lot more flex without them than with them. They transmit most of the windload directly to the bike frame rather than just having the plastic carry it. I'd be afraid to mount the thing without the plates in case you get in real heavy wind or a bird hits it. I was out today riding in 40F weather comfortably with an open face helmet. I really like the adjustable shield, it's safer too because you can adjust it so you never have to look through it without being able to see over it.
Back to top Go down
ridr44
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 72
Age : 63
Location : Long Island, New York
Points : 2808
Registration date : 2010-06-04

PostSubject: Re: Givi Air Flow initial review   Mon 10 Dec 2012, 09:08

Yeah!!! I put the brackets in under my shield...no problem. Thanks for the pics in a previous post...dan
Back to top Go down
rogerscoot
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 73
Location : Brinsley, UK
Points : 2560
Registration date : 2011-01-05

PostSubject: Re: Givi Air Flow initial review   Mon 10 Dec 2012, 21:28

I prefer my AF to the old solid Givi. The main reason being turbulence around my helmet. This has improved considerably up to approx 80mph on French motorways, but then it sets in again, so its good to keep to speed limits. As I'm usually doing 8-10 hour days, it's nice to keep my head in good order.
Back to top Go down
 
Givi Air Flow initial review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Givi AirFlow Adjustable Windshield Review
» Schwalbe Hanz Dampf Initial Review
» GIVI V46 Brake Light Kit
» Some advice on a screen change
» which givi wing rack or other to fit the 2011 1250 fa

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Accessories & Modifications-
Jump to: