Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum

Welcome to the home for Honda SilverWing and everyone interested. This is a place to ask questions, share, and learn about the SilverWing and its dedicated riders. Please post an introduction when you join as a sign of Courtesy.
 
HomeCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» two months since SilverWing traded
by exavid Yesterday at 21:54

» Disappointed in high speed hiway travel
by Dale N. Yesterday at 21:53

» Water on spark plugs inside the engine
by exavid Yesterday at 21:43

» Got hit at a stop sign from behind
by exavid Yesterday at 21:29

» First Canyon Ride on Silver Wing
by Pastor Ron Wed 22 Nov 2017, 17:28

» Fuel Pressure Regulator
by codge Wed 22 Nov 2017, 16:55

» New windscreen
by kbcmdba Wed 22 Nov 2017, 16:26

» About our Paint
by janitorj1 Wed 22 Nov 2017, 12:25

» Homemade variator tool
by cliffyk Tue 21 Nov 2017, 16:39

» Dr Pulley sliders
by cliffyk Tue 21 Nov 2017, 13:31

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
free forum
 

Share | 
 

  Yearly Inspection

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
"Hi Yo"
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 3024
Age : 68
Location : Garland, Texas, U.S.A.
Points : 6089
Registration date : 2010-02-17

PostSubject: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 02:36

Well, it was time for the yearly rip off ( I mean inspection; don't want to malign my fine legislators). Anyway, I checked the scooter over,( lights,horn,tires,etc) and off I went. I tried last week, but the station had no inspection stickers. He said they made no money on bike inspections and very few places do them. He might have some this week. I went by and he was closed for lunch so I went to another place farther away. They had stickers. First question: "You have cash?" Next: "Oh, a scooter. They don't go very fast. Just pull up in the shade so I can see the brake lights and hit the horn. OK, now I'll get the sticker and you give me $14.50." I'm sure glad I checked that horn ahead of time. Smile Anyway, I'm all legal for another year. small moped
Back to top Go down
MikeO
Site Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3107
Age : 68
Location : Salisbury UK
Points : 6369
Registration date : 2009-06-29

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 05:06

One better/worse than here - there's no annual test for bikes in Belgium. Shocked
Back to top Go down
john123
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 134
Age : 69
Location : Santa Barbara California
Points : 3014
Registration date : 2010-02-21

PostSubject: inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 09:28

Nor in Beautfull California. If you can afford to live her. There are taxes on everyrhing else but motorcycles.
Back to top Go down
bigbird
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2479
Location : Winnipeg
Points : 5451
Registration date : 2010-05-02

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 10:19

x


Last edited by bigbird on Sun 10 Jun 2012, 15:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
tubeck
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 85
Age : 65
Location : Ft Pierce fl
Points : 2409
Registration date : 2011-08-10

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 11:14

Florida no inspections either. If you can drag it down the road, they will leave you alone
Back to top Go down
the7smiths
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 33
Location : Utah, USA
Points : 2455
Registration date : 2011-04-28

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 16:26

Utah has inspections every year. They look at lights, horn, and tires - kinda like they do with the cars. The only difference is that motorcycles are exempt from emissions test requirements and supposedly our taxes and registration fees are less.
Back to top Go down
http://www.awiseplan.com
redeye
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 160
Age : 57
Location : Frederick County, Maryland
Points : 2773
Registration date : 2010-10-13

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 20:59

Maryland requires a vehicle inspection only for initial titling. After that, you're good to go indefinitely.
Back to top Go down
cjuzda
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 127
Location : Canada
Points : 2547
Registration date : 2011-05-16

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 21:17

In Ontario every time a vehicle, including motor cycles or scooters, changes hands (sold) it must be "safetied" which is a basic safety inspection. Older vehicles currently have to pass an emissions test every 2 years but that does not apply to motorcycles or scooters
Back to top Go down
compguy
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 98
Age : 70
Location : Winter Haven, Fla
Points : 2766
Registration date : 2010-10-11

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Wed 14 Sep 2011, 21:26

Iowa don't have any inspections that I know of. When I lived in Vermont they did on cars but at that time I wasn't riding any bike.
Back to top Go down
SilverwingInIdaho
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 155
Points : 2488
Registration date : 2011-08-23

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 18 Sep 2011, 23:07

No inspections in Idaho. I think Inspections and Mechanical condition is between me and my Mechanic. Not the State's business.

Back to top Go down
kyouteki
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 20
Age : 31
Location : Wichita, KS
Points : 2324
Registration date : 2011-08-10

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sat 24 Sep 2011, 10:30

We only have inspections in Kansas if you're trying to title an out-of-state vehicle, and that is only really to verify the stamped VIN.

I wouldn't have to test the horn before-hand, though - I have to use it nearly every time I ride! Cagers over here have no respect for two-wheelers...
Back to top Go down
http://www.samuelmcconnell.com
tankyuong
Silver Wing Rider
Silver Wing Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 475
Age : 42
Location : Missouri
Points : 3743
Registration date : 2009-07-12

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sat 24 Sep 2011, 21:01

every other year here.
Back to top Go down
wis-rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
Maxi-Scooter Rider
avatar

Number of posts : 154
Age : 71
Location : St. Nazianz, WI
Points : 2684
Registration date : 2010-12-31

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sat 24 Sep 2011, 21:17

No inspection in Wisconsin.
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 65
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 5592
Registration date : 2009-07-26

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 25 Sep 2011, 14:45

You guys don't want to live in the UK then.

Once a vehicle, car or bike reaches its third anniversary from date of purchase we have the 'MOT,' Ministry Of Transport test. It is quite thorough at most garages, if you know where to go you can get past most main obstacles, (usually emissions.) However, as with most things in life - you get what you pay for.

The other crippler with our MOT. You have to have an MOT certificate by law, but there is a little get out of jail free card for the department in that it states your vehicle was legal at the time of the test and if stopped for any reason then your current certificate is not a guarantee of mechanical serviceability.

Talk about rip off.!! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1101
Age : 63
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 3982
Registration date : 2010-03-27

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 25 Sep 2011, 15:16

Waspie,

I had a car pass it MOT and the following week one of the brake light bulbs blew. I went back to the MOT station but was told the MOT isn't a twelve month guarantee. How annoying is that? (slightly tongue in cheek :lol!: )

It is an inspection, by law they cannot fix something whilst the vehicle is undergoing the test.

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
Waspie
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 2392
Age : 65
Location : Portland, UK
Points : 5592
Registration date : 2009-07-26

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 25 Sep 2011, 15:36

tmb, you are of course quite right, it is an 'inspection' and not a 'test.

It's still a rip off.

I did hear rumour that they were thinking of;

1. possibly changing the inspection period to every two years.

2. changing the start point from year three to year five.

All seems to have died a death.
Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/Waspie41
Opalsboy
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1295
Age : 73
Location : Rison, Arkansas
Points : 4726
Registration date : 2009-01-10

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 25 Sep 2011, 15:46

Big Bird Said..: Sounds like a great place to live, as long as you don't mind long, cold winters. We can't ride from early November to early April. I add... July to September if temp is above 100 F Razz

Enjoy the nice weather while you have it. It is really nice here now too. (Finally).

Arkansas has no inspections now. Had them for several years but discontinued them about 15 years ago. I see a lot more junkers on road now.
Back to top Go down
tarmacburner2
Silver Wing Guru
Silver Wing Guru
avatar

Number of posts : 1101
Age : 63
Location : Cleveleys, Lancashire, England
Points : 3982
Registration date : 2010-03-27

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Sun 25 Sep 2011, 16:55

Waspie,

Probably the MOT testing garages realised a possible drop in revenue. It wouldn't have been dropped if they could have increased their rip-off scheme.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
scootingranny
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 21
Points : 2471
Registration date : 2011-03-15

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Tue 27 Sep 2011, 22:39

Hi YO....had a really, really tough week here and your post just made me grin. At your expense, sorry, but also being in North Texas, I understand. Thanks for the smile
Back to top Go down
thornev
Scooter Rider
Scooter Rider


Number of posts : 15
Location : Hudson Valley NY
Points : 548
Registration date : 2016-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   Mon 13 Jun 2016, 18:05

Anyone know if New York requires annual inspections on the Silver Wing?  I bought mine yesterday and there is no inspection sticker on it.

UPDATE - yeah, it looks like NY requires annual inspection.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Yearly Inspection   

Back to top Go down
 
Yearly Inspection
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Valve inspection?
» Question about deleting CEL codes for inspection with a 1997 Riv..
» Motorcycle Safety Inspection - Pa.
» Engine Front Cover Removal Cam Chain Inspection
» Need Help- Failed MD Safety Inspection

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Honda Silver Wing Scooter Forum :: Honda Silver Wing :: Silver Wing Topics-
Jump to: